We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“met all our needs and more”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“met all our needs and more”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was a family visit for two nights in Febuary 2014. Location was perfect for us within walking distance of the Gugenheim museum and most downtown locations. We used Melia points and euros in a promtion that was priced perfect and they upgraded us to a corner superior room with two sinks in the bathroom. The room has a separate desk area which worked well for us since i could work while my wife sleeped..............and it had lots of windows including one in the bath. The hotel has a good gym and an indoor-outdoor pool on the 6th floor. While the restaurant was a bit pricey it did offer excellent quality in both presentation and food. Our check in experience was very special and concierge assistance good. Overall an excdellent stay and we will be back

Room Tip: try to get a corner room facing the river which has two sinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6sandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    819
    260
    54
    41
See reviews for
457
1,131
73
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Corporate, big, modern. Nice place with great bar and a central location a stones throw from all the action from the small bars and eateries to the museum and river. Very friendly and nothing a problem for the staff. Rooms modern and really good. Breakfast is expensive and there are many local choices within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice, relaxing, and modern hotel very well located if you want to visit the main museums of the city. You can enjoy of the comfortable rooms and big bathroms, and the restaurant area is fantastic not only for lunch/dinner, but for the breakfast as well. I totally recomend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went there for a weekend in january, a low season definitely. Were a bit surprised when had to ask for slippers and a second bath-robe (only one was in a room). The staff didn't seem to care much, but that was fine, as our stay was only 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel could not be better designed, and maintains a unified them from gate till smallest details in the room and furniture design. Location is ideal. Staff could not be any friendlier. Swiming pool in 6th floor with awesome view on canal and city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

There is very little I can say about the Melia and Bilbao that wouldn't be in the 'excellent' class. Hubby and I had a really FAB few days in the Basque country as part of a driving holiday, during which we stayed at this hotel.

It started well when we scored an upgrade to one of their top floor suites (with huge wrap-around terrace) over-looking the park, which was amazing. Spacious and modern with a sunny outlook and great facilities. The staff (particularly front desk) were exceptionally helpful, recommending restaurants and bars, and also giving us great advice on museums and places of interest. They were spot on too.

The food in the hotel was also superb. The innovative Aizian was something very different and very good quality food and even the mini tapa in the bar was tasty and reasonably priced. (Quite a few locals seemed to eat here too.) We also had superb room service burgers during our stay; highly recommended.

I wish I could say the same for all of our hotel food not this trip, but the Basques certainly know how to feed you!

An excellent hotel with FABULOUS staff. Eskerrik Asko to you all!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year 2013-14 and we could not fault the hotel one bit. The room was clean with fantastic bathrooms (stand alone bath tub and walk in shower) and the breakfast offering was plentiful and delicious. The only slight downside was that Bilbao was almost entirely closed for New Year so we ended up having too much room service. Once would have been fine, but more than once and it became a bit monotonous. There is a swimming pool which is outdoor but covered - it's fine for young children to enjoy and to just relax in, but do not expect to do lengths. The location of the hotel is good, right next to the Guggenheim and with a tram stop opposite that takes you into the old town. There is a shopping mall directly opposite, which I'm sure would be good but was virtually always closed at the time of year that we stayed. Definitely a good place to stay when visiting Bilbao, but would recommend just two nights in Bilbao and more time in other locations such as San Sebastian.

Room Tip: All rooms face outwards, so every room has a view. Even the smallest rooms are large enough to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FastCarFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,262 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing