We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Bilbao having stayed in the melia.
We got a sweet deal on booking.com,
It's such an amazing location we couldn't of got better,5 min walk from The Guggenheim,central for the city centre,overlooking a beautiful park on one side & the river on the other.
Hotel pool was fab & heated so that was a bonus, restaurant food not expensive & of a reasonable standard,very nice actually.
Staff exceptional,they are externally polite & seemed genuinely happy at work,our room had an amazing view,very comfortable bed,amazing bathroom,only negative the decor was a bit tired & it had an oder of having previously been a smoking room & I detest smoking,im sure they
WOuld of relocated us but to be honest the view compensated for it.
We will most definitely return to this hotel & the beautiful city of bilbao & its neighbour San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights B&B in a standard room on 8th floor overlooking the river. We were very pleased with our choice and would happily stay here again, although we don't think it is a 5* hotel overall - more a very good 4*. The hotel is located in a quieter part of town near the Bellas Artes museum and pretty Dona Casilda Park, opposite a shopping mall. This means it's approx 30mins walk along river into the Old Town (Guggenheim is nearer hotel), but a tram runs by the hotel every 15 mins which gets you in/out of the Old Town in a few mins - it's very cheap and easy. There is a limited choice of dining options near the hotel so if you eat out, you will probably need to go into the Old Town in the evening.

Pros
*Well located for us - restful park, handy mall, yet easy to get to main sights
*A well-run hotel - everyone we spoke to on Reception was helpful (gave us the most useful city map we found), knowledgeable (recommended excellent local restaurant) and spoke fluent English. Helpful housekeeping
* Bedroom quiet, airy and reasonable size with very comfy beds (and in our case, a lovely view); 5* bathroom
* Cold food buffet breakfast was 5* with lots of choice
*The pool is a welcome facility, but it's quite small and depending on time of day, gets busy

Watchouts weren't big issues for us
* The hotel has quite a 'business' feel to it - the trendy blue bar lounge wasn't a relaxing place to linger, lobby is quite bustling and surprisingly few clothes hangers in the bedroom
* Hot food breakfast buffet choice was limited and poor quality (worst scrambled eggs I've ever eaten in Spain)
* Pool area is odd - cramped shelves with towels practically on top of steps going up to pool - this area gets wet and slippy. Feels like they shoehorned the pool into the architectural design.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineWindsorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We came back a couple of days ago from a holiday in Bilbao and we stayed at the Melia: they had a great deal and, reading the reviews on TA, we were definitely looking forward to it.

But all in all, considering this is a 5* hotel, the experience was definitely underwhelming.

To the pros:
- The hotel is in a great location, close to the Guggenheim Museum. The tram station is also super close and that will get you pretty much anywhere in the city
- The rooms are clean and the bathroom looks nice, even though not very functional in some aspect (more in the cons)
- The hotel has a heated swimming pool and a gym

The cons:
- There's no one outside of the hotel and no one comes to help you carry your luggage up the flight of stairs to get to the reception
- If you book a double bedroom, make sure they understand, as you may end up having twin beds like we did (they did change our room when asked, though)
- Some of the rooms are right below the gym and whenever someone goes for a run on the treadmill, you WILL hear it. You will also find out many people like to run in the morning, cause you will wake up
- The hotel didn't help us with booking the Guggenheim (to skip the queue) and that's quite disappointing service from such a highly rated hotel
- On the first morning and on our 4th morning there was an incredibly loud ringing noise that seemed to be in our room, or in the near proximity and it woke us up. When we went to the reception to ask what it was about the answer was "I don't know, I just arrived"..As it had happened several times, we were hopign they would at least offer to look into it. Nop!
- Due to an issue wuth our return tickets, we called reception to extend our stay by one night. We were transferred to the booking service (?) and than back to reception to confirm we could stay in the same room. At check out we discovered we were charged a phone call when the reception transferred to the booking service. It was not a huge amount, but we were not happy and they removed it
- We asked the reception to to print our new return tickets for us and sent them an email. We only received one of the two and when we asked if we could get the other one they started making up excuses as to why they hadn't done it: "The file you sent was not a PDF" "Yes it was" "Maybe it was on your pc, tablette or whatever that is, but it wasn't when it reached our computer so I had to convert it with another program"...Really? We sent the file again and had our tickets shortly after
- We decided to have dinner at one of the restaurants in the hotel on our last night. We had 2 insects (sort of huge ants) falling on our arms from the ceiling and we were quite surprised cause the rest of the place was quite clean.
- The waiter spilled half a bottle of water on me, my clothes and my bag and didn't offer anything in return beside an apology and a smaller bottle of water for the one that was now on my clothes
- We paid our rooms and the extra charges the night before check out to make sure we made it back on time and, after handing back our room keys to the reception, one of them RAN after us outside (could have helped with the suitcases, but nop!) claiming he didn't charge us for the last night we spent there 9which had already been paid for in advance)..We told him to double check and left, super disappointed.

I know it's a long review and a wall of text, but I hope it helps someone that is considering saying in the same hotel. I will not want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not under the gym, if you book a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KatinKha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked this so called 5* hotel as the starting location for our honeymoon.

From the reviews and pictures decided to go for a premium room. So in a 5* hotel my expectations where high. And as we can't always afford it to stay 5*, so were overall disappointed with it. +/- below-

+beautiful view from sunny balcony
+large room
+nice bathroom
+impressive lift (scrapping the barrel lol)

-room smelled of smoke (non smoking room
-Un-friendly staff on check in and out
-fully booked restaurant (didn't tell or ask up to reserve on check in)
-general standard of room in need of a clean. Marks everywhere (this is premium?)
-no help on arrival (seeing as we where told these was parking, arrived and sign saying full, no-one around to help or point in right direction or collect bags)

So overall. Its ok. But if you want 5* look elsewhere, Its just not!

We have now moved on to a 2* coastal hotel. And service is so much better!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I experienced a fabulous stay at this hotel in the heart of the CBD.

On arrival the reception was pleasent and effiecient. My room on the 9th floor (I think it was a premium or superior) had two window areas with nice outlooks. Large bathroom and spa. Room cost was £200 approx.

Met colleagues in the lounge area and enjoyed some lovely food along with some local beer.

Bed and sleep quality both excellent. Room temperature also perfect!

Breakfast was big! Variety of hot and cold food along with some lovely espresso!

Looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrumpLasVegasNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We satyed at the Melia Bilbao at both ends of our holiday and after the first night could not wait to get back to the comfy beds. The facilities are really good and the customer experience is excellent. Most staff speak a variety of languages and are more than willing to help and advice when approached. The hotel is in a quiet area between a park and the river but is only a pleasant 30 minute riverside walk to the old town. It is conveniently located for the Guggenheim Museum and there is a tram stop directly outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Andrew D,

Thank you very much for sharing the comments of your experience in our hotel over TripAdvisor web.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your customer experience and that our hotel exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First time in Bilbao and not impressed at all. The city doesn't have the charm, history, architecture or anything (just the great food) like many other places in Spain. I wouldn't go back.
Pros:
- amenities: it has gym, pool, etc.,
- rooms are spacious

Cons:
- it is far away (about 30 minutes walking) to "Casco antiguo" (city center).
- service: some of the ladies at the front desk were not very amicable and kind as the other hotels we visited.
- there was no concierge, and the directions given by the front desk ladies were not helpful (they didn't even have a map for the area)
- ramp for luggage: there was no one to help me with luggage and the ramp they have is so steep to take our bags to the inside of the hotel, that you will need help to push your bags (even for carry ons).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Negroycanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Negroycanche,

We would like to thank you for the valuable time that you spent for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We take notes of all your comments. We work everyday to ensure the full satisfaction of all our guests.

I would like to inform you that we have a lift from the street to the reception for the guests of the Hotel.

We appreciate your opinion that will help us in our constant improvement and guest satisfaction.

We hope you give us a second opportunity to demonstrate our best customer care.

Your sincerely,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,326 reviews
Occidental Bilbao
#12 of 42 in Bilbao
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $92 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of bussines and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River-Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. The wellness center (swimming pool, sauna and Gym) will be closed for maintenance and cleaning from next October 30 and for a period of approximately one month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing