We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazingly comfortable place to discover Bilbao” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazingly comfortable place to discover Bilbao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The only thing we could say while entering the lobby was: WOW! Very warm colours, modern design and the polite and friendly staff make this place an amazing place to stay.

We stayed for 6 nights to discover the entire city, and the melia turned out to be the perfect hotel. The location is fabulous: on walking distance of the Guggenheim, 5' from the central square (Plaza Moyua), 15' of Termibus and next to the river. You won't find a better place to discover all the different areas of Bilbao.

And after you visited the entire city, it almost feels like 'coming home'. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and equiped with every facility you'll need. And for the energy for all your discoveries, you can rely on the elaborate breakfast buffet.

Just sole final props to the staff, they are friendly, polite and subtle. In a blink of an eye they are ready to help you with anything.

This is absolutely an amazing hotel. I can only recommend the Melia for a citytrip to Bilbao! Enjoy your stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThierryDeVynck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ThierryDeVynck,

We have so much appreciation and gratitude for your opinion and also for having taken some of your time to reflect it on Tripadvisor.

We feel proud of our effort and your comment gives us strength to continue working in the same way.

We hope to welcome you again at Meliá Bilbao, please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos

Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    768
    237
    49
    36
See reviews for
421
1,066
68
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good rooms, service and food. Breakfast spread is huge. Rooms are very large for Europe. Beds are nice. Location is great.

The down side: Smoking is still allowed. This hotel needs to get with 90's where smoking was banned in offices. Its expected on business trip too, especially at the price per room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Rockguy_11,
Thank you so much for having taken your time to send us your opinions.
We hope to welcome you again, we remind you that all our staff keeps at your entire service.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos

Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this hotel and we expected on our arrival a very good service and for the price they charge, at least most of our needs covered. The charged extra for everything, restaurant, parking, breakfast and the only thing you are paying is the room and the pool. Many other hotels have this for a LOT cheaper price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Francisco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Francisco D,
We appreciate your time and comments about our establishment, in Melia Bilbao. The opinions of our guest have a great value because is the way to succeed in guest satisfaction and quality service.

We are sorry for have not reached your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again in your nest visit, please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos

Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is 3 tram stops away from the bus station and walking distance to Guggenheim. (if you can, take the tram whenever you can and avoid the metro. Tram takes scenic routes too all the sights.) The place looks deceivingly plain from the outside --We stayed on the 8th floor and had a great view of the waterfront. The manager had left a nice surprise of small fruit platter with a handwritten note to welcome us while we were checking out their heated pool. Nice clean room, comfy pillows, bathrobes, amazing breakfast spread, friendly staff, and right next to a huge shopping centre.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Rae E,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in Meliá Bilbao.
To know that we have exceed your expectations it is the best reward to our daily improvement work, which motivate and stimulate all our Team.

We would be delighted of receiving you again.

Regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Myself and boyfriend stayed here for three nights in May of this year (2013). It was fantastic from check in right through to checkout. Rooms were spacious and modern as was the bathroom. Staff were extremely helpful and had lots of recommendations on hand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cork_girl_boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Cork_girl_boi,
Thank you very much for your time taken on making this comment about your stay with us.

We are glad you had an overall positive feedback about your experience and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again in our hotel.

At your disposal,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were quite disappointed with this hotel and it does not warrant 5 stars. Overall the hotel is quite scruffy and showing its age. Our room, which was a suite on the top floor, had lots of scuff marks on the walls and the bathroom was very tired. The shower head was not attached properly and was quite dirty. The hotel charges Euro 24 per night for parking (expensive!) and the lift from the car park does not connect with the lift to the bedrooms. You have to carry your bags across the lobby (50m?) from one lift and then wait for a second lift. Not very convenient and paying Euro 24 for the parking I expect more! Nobody offered to help with our bags on arrival and overall this hotel has a feel of a large corporate hotel who don't care about private travellers. I also found 3 doors on the lobby floor locked meaning the only exit door from the hotel was at the front of the hotel by reception meaning you had to walk around the building (its a large building) every time you want to exit on the park / city centre side of the hotel. I asked staff about this and they were not very helpful. I shudder to think what would happen in the event of a fire. On a positive note, I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is well located and the tram service is nearby and good. Back to the negative - We stayed in this hotel at the end of a touring holiday through Spain. We stayed in 6 hotels and this was by a long way the most expensive and the most disappointing. It's not terrible but it's not very good and certainly not worth what they are charging or 5 stars. There are much better smaller, less expensive hotels about - my advice, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a large terrace (with dodgy wiring around the very large lamps which illuminate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Bev890,
Mainly, I would really like to thank you for your time taking on making your review about our hotel. All the feedback from our customers it is very important for us because it help us in our daily improvement.

We regret for the inconveniences in your room and we do really apologize for not reaching your expectations. That is why we would be delighted of having a new opportunity of demonstrate our best service staying with us in a new occasion.

Best regards,

Ainhoa Cantos,
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good location for riverside attractions including Guggenheim (5 mins walk). Good tram connections to old town (make sure you validate your ticket on the tram- there were inspectors on almost every one on my visit). Good size room. Pool area on floor 8 (i think) looked good but did not use. Check whether breakfast is included in your rate because I did not realise and missed it on first day (it is very good). Staff are multi-lingual. All round one of the best hotels I have stayed in recently.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeR852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear MikeR852,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment your recent stay with us.

At Melia Bilbao our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

With best regards

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing