We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a couple. It is located in a perfect location by the river and is approximately 5 minutes walk away from the Guggenheim museum. Staffs speak various languages, thus you would not face any sort of language barrier.

Breakfast has a great spread of Spanish favorites such as jamon (spanish ham), pan con tomate (bread with tomato spread), etc.

However, bear in mind that parking is not free.

Nevertheless, it is definitely a highly recommended hotel in Bilbao.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear E W,

Thanks for your time and positive comments, the satisfaction of our guests is our main reward, we feel very happy you had a nice stay with us.

We hope to welcome you very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us, we are at your entire service.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    768
    237
    49
    36
See reviews for
421
1,066
68
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington Cheshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. We had a standard room which was very nice on the 8th floor with views over the city. Good size room with massive comfy bed. Excellent bathroom with walk in shower and separate bath, 2 washhand basins and bidet. Good toiletries provided. Plentiful hot water. Good flat screen TV in bedroom with plenty of channels including BBC. Safe in wardrobe was easily accessed without having to grovel on the floor. Very satisfied with the room.
We ate in the hotel on the first evening. Lovely restaurant with good food and attentive service. Could not fault it. Also the tables were a really good size so you never felt cramped or close to the people on the next table.

Breakfast was served in the same area as dinner. Self service buffet style with huge choice of things to eat from various types of fish to "full English", cereals, breads - you name it they have it. The only thing wrong was the temperature of the cooked items. They were beautifully cooked but stone cold - on both mornings. This aspect alone has stopped me giving the hotel a 5 stars review. Cooked items should be served hot even if they are kept in warm cabinets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear cheshirepen,

Thank you very much for your time taken on making this review about your experience with us.
I would really like to personally thank you for such a positive feedback.

To know that we have exceed your expectations it is the best reward to our daily improvement work, which motivate and stimulate all our Team.


We will inform of your comments to all our staff, especially to our F&B department.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had an enjoyable experience with us.

We are looking forward to see you in your next visit and do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

Thank you very much,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

...and not just public relations "spin" and glib apologies.

Even the most experienced travellers have made the mistake of leaving a valuable item behind in a hotel room. I did this at the Melia Costa del Sol and emailed them from Granada to send the item to Melia Bilbao where the courier costs were to be billed to my account. After several attempts, I did not get a response from Costa so I sent an email to Melia Bilbao begging them to respond and I quote "PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE advise me urgently....".

NOTHING! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! When I was checking in at Bilbao, I enquired about the item and my email. They confirmed that they had received both. Astounded, I asked why they had not responded to my email. There was a casual "sorry" and a comment to the effect that it was a minor oversight but there was no such oversight regarding the courier charges which were promptly added to my account.

I find this pathetic attitude to customer service truly appalling and who wants to stay in a hotel where if anything is left behind, they won't even bother responding to a pleading request for information???

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Lexus 51,
As we do with all Tripadvisor members we really appreciate the effort and the time taken on making these comments about your stay with us. Customer comments are the best assistance in our daily improvement to get the highest quality standards.
We apologize for the service given and the inconvenience with the item you sent.
We regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope you give us a second opportunity to show you the service and the distinctive quality of Melia Bilbao.

Yours sincerely,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights, two rooms. Easy to find and access via car, although car park very tight. I had a BMW 1 series and had a tight squeeze. On reception staff were efficient, but cut me off mid sentence to answer phone. Once checked in we went for lunch at cafe, small choice of pinxtos and we didn't see a menu, instead of offering a menu the waiter just waited for us to choose random food stuffs. This was due to tiredness on our part but as with most of Spain, not forthcoming with customer service. The rooms are large, well appointed, WiFi charge and automated minibar (stupid prices, charged if moved) 3.35 for small water. The bathroom was large, nice tub, one robe.....and beds very comfy. A good choice when visiting Bilbao.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear ezzavon,

We would like to thank you for your valuable time that you spent for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are really important for us to continue improving the high standards of the Hotel.
We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon at Melia Bilbao.

Best regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
279 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited the hotel as part of a Gate 1 Tour. it was a treat to be booked into a 5 star hotel at the same time as paying the equivalent of 4 star prices. The architecture is not exciting from the outside but it is pleasing on the inside. What makes this hotel is its location: a short tram ride to the Guggenheim or a 5-10 minute walk. Also a short tram ride to the center of town. An outstanding buffet breakfast was part of our package. And yes, terry robes and all the other goodies. Staff was professional, courteous, friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAILSOC381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear SAILSOC381,

We would like to thank you for your valuable time that you spent for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel exceeded your expectations.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itinerant
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The good
7/8 minutes walk down the side of the river to the Guggenheim
Massive bed in a good sized room
Quiet rooms
Good views
Staff friendly and helpful with information about the town and facilities
Parking below the hotel

On the downside
I never mastered the Nespresso coffee machine, lost both capsules without making coffee, never figured out how to get tea from the machine and no kettle
Following on from another contributor's comments, power points are a bit limited

Yes, I would definitely stay there if I went back to Bilbao

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishlearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I liked the brutal architecture of this hotel. It was a spacious room with a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was enormous and all for under 100 euros for the night. Ideally located for the Guggenheim and the old town. The reception staff was excellent. The breakfast is worth booking the night before as it is 16 euros as opposed to 22 euros on the day plus it is an extensive buffet that should appeal to most tastes.

Room Tip: Good views above fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smarshy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear smarshy5,
Greetings from Meliá Bilbao!

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your last experience at our hotel and for sharing with us your kind words on TripAdvisor! I can assure you that we have transmitted your kind comments to all the team.
We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best again to make your stay another incredible experience!

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,
Ainhoa Cantos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing