We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a nice spot”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to Bilbao for the first time and stayed at this hotel for almost a week. Both the area and the hotel are highly recommended.

The hotel is large and spacious and very comfortable, the rooms are ultra modern withinteresting gadgets and amenities. The swimming pool is on the 8th floor (I think) and has spectacular views and the restaurant is a michellin starred (or to that level) restaurant at amazing value.

Bilbao itself is a fascinating place, small enough so that most is within walking distance but diverse enough that there is plenty to do. The local wines - including Riojas - are fantastic and very cheap. Also worth trying are a fresh white wine Txakoli, and a plum liquor called patcheran.

As well as the world-famous guggenheim, the classical arts museum and is a great visit (esp in poor weather), the funicollar to the top of the city is great fun as is a trip to the beach. For a day trip we found Guernicca (like the painting) fascinating, and actually quite peaceful with a local feel.

Great city, fab hotel!

PS, beware that street names can be in Spanish on one corner and Basque (which is very different) on another which can be quite confusing

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickandVic_april2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Mr. NickandVic_april2010,

Thanks for your time and positive comments, the satisfaction of our guests is our main reward, we feel very happy you had a nice stay with us.

We hope to welcome you very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us, we are at your entire service.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

We only stayed here for one night, as we had spent 3 nights in San Sebastian, and had return flights booked from Bilbao. I got a great deal for the room via Travel Republic, and so we went feeling that the hotel would probably not be anything spectacular, but would offer us a comfortable, pleasant and restful night's stay to end our holiday.

It's located in a smart area of the city, right next to the Guggenheim (unfortunately closed when we were there!) and the hotel itself is also very smart. The staff were very helpful and exceptionally friendly, pointing out places to get something to eat and drink.

The rooms are a good size, and the one we had offered a great view of the river. We didn't take the breakfast option, so can't comment on that- it seemed very expensive for what I suppose is essentially a buffet.

As always, it depends what you are looking for. For us, it definitely served its purpose, and I can imagine that if we had been staying longer, the cool, comfortble rooms would have been a welcoming place to end our day's sightseeing.

I'd recommend this hotel to business travellers in Bilbao, or those looking for somwehere for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebeccallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Ms. Rebeccallama,

Thank you so much for time and positive comments. We always work hard and with passion to create unforgettable experiences in our guests, to receive an award like your comment makes us feel proud and be stronger to do it better day by day.

I inform you that the Guggenheim museum is closed on Mondays. I hope you could visit it in your next visit to Bilbao.

Thank you very much for your recognition, we hope to welcome you again and we are at your entire service for anything you might require.

Kind regards,
Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The plus of the hotel is the deal you can get. Booking ahead off season gets you less than 100€, breakfast included. This is cheap for a 5 stars.
Having said that I don't know how they qualified as such.
Rooms are large enough and comfortable.
Breakfast is typical of any 3 stars.
The swimming pool is very very small, so if the sauna room (it accommodates 2 persons).
The gym is really basic, with a couple of equipments.
In essence, it is a 4 stars, and you'd better skip it if you pay for a 5.
The Guggenheim is only 10 min walk away. Just cross to the river and take a right.
There is a tram station in front of the hotel, and the hotel is between 2 metro stations each 10-15 min away.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank icbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Mr. icbernard,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá Bilbao and also for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments via Tripadvisor.

Although your experience did not completely satisfy your expectation, we would dearly hope that this experience does not deter you from any further visits to our hotel. We will be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit to make you feel like at home.

Thank you for your help and we will be glad if you give us the opportunity to welcome you again at Meliá Bilbao.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed there for a night, which I was impressed by the interior of the hotel and the friendly smiley receptionist. Location wise it's, open, calm and peaceful, it's walking distant to Guggenheim Museum and it's close to the river and right opposite a big shopping mall. There are 2 tram stations nearby too.

The room itself is modern, clean and roomy but there is no iron, ironing board, kettle, toothbrush and slippers which a normal 5 stars hotel should have. I had to ring up the front desk to order my iron and iron board which took unexpectedly 30mins with 3 phone calls chasing. I almost missed my Michellin star dinner booking that night. Also I was planning to have a relaxing bath, but realized the bath plug wasn't working, so I had to have a shower instead.

Also I was disappointed with the small swimming pool, I took my swimming gear with me, but after visited the pool we decided it's not worth the effort to go there and just for a dip.
For the check out time, it was longer than I expected for a 5 star hotel, there was a long queue at the lobby around 10am that morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meloyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Mr. meloyum,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing this valued review about your experience with us, which help us to improve in the future.

We also thank you for your positive comments about our receptionist, although we are very sorry for all the inconveniences that did not make your stay completely satisfactory.

All your comments have been reported to the departments involved so we can avoid any situation similar to yours in the future. It is only through constructive feedback from guests that we are able to implement corrective measures within the hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.


At your disposal,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in 'Melia' room which is their base level room. Bathroom & shower were fantastic with lovely double sink, but the room itself was entirely lacking 5-star feel: no bottled water, no kettle/coffee machine, no slippers...not even a clock! Only the bare essentials in the room.Even a Premier Inn has water & a kettle.

Location is handy for Guggenheim & Belle Artes but very soulless surroundings- good for business but for a holiday you could certainly find somewhere more lively.

Only 1 member of staff on reception when we checked out, a queue of 8 waiting.

Tram is quite noisy- avoid lower floors on riverside

This hotel is fine but I'd say look elsewhere if you're going for a special occasion or you're looking for those nice 5-star touches.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelittlechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Mr. thelittlechap,

Thank you for choosing the Melia Bilbao Hotel and for your valuable time to send us your comments about your stay with us.

We apreciate your comments very much because they help us to improve our services and guests satisfaction. We are very sad that you did´t have a good experience in our hotel and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences.

We would dearly hope that this experience does not deter you from any further visits to our hotel. We will be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit to make you feel like at home.

Kind regards,


Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The welcome by the receptionist was outstanding: very quick handling of check in; a person took over my car keys and parked the car in the garage and luggage was sent to the room. The interior of the hotel is modern and charming; the elevator is made of glass and beautiful. The view from there towards the ground floor is fantastic. My room was great: very spacious wit a lot of amenities: a kingsize bed with at least 6 pillows and very comfortable, a medium sized office table, computer and papers fitted well, wifi internet that was fast, large flat screen with large amount of channels and good quality view. The breakfast was outstanding, enormeous choice in juices, joghurts, fruits, bread, salmon, cheese, sweets. Ordered cappuchino which was very good. Personnel very helpfull. The GUggenheim museum is just 10 minutes walk and opposite the hotel is a shopping mall, with a supermarket and cinema. Great location and i will defenitely go back there and recommend this hotel when visiting Bilbao.

Room Tip: No noise from surrounding rooms, no wait for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMBBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Mr. AMBBangkok,

Thank you for your time and positive feedback, our team will be happy to know that the effort we make every day has wonderful rewards.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again very soon and we are at your total disposal for anything you might require.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Every time I go to Bilbao I go to this Hotel...why?

-Perfect location close to all the interesting spots
-Good Gym (and nice semi-outdoor pool).
-Great Breakfast with lots of options
-Not noisy rooms
-Price not so bad
-Fast during check-in and out
-Free Newspapers and free wifi

If you don´t know what to do for dinner the bar at the lobby is a good option. Do´n forget the tuna tartar!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jos8Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Mr. Jos8Toledo,

Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment and we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive comments .

When we receive comments like yours it gives us a great satisfaction on having verified that you had a memorable experience with us.

We keep entire at your service and we hope you back in your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Melia Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,316 reviews
Occidental Bilbao
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $95 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of bussines and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River-Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. The wellness center (swimming pool, sauna and Gym) will be closed for maintenance and cleaning from next October 30 and for a period of approximately one month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing