We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base in Bilbao”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An excellent base in Bilbao”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in February. The weather was mixed and we were pleased to have a very comfortable room to return to in the rain. We had chosen a premium room as it had a balcony and we enjoyed the freedom to sit outside and watch the goings on in the park below. The public spaces in Bilbao are very well used and the park was well-lit and safe at night , very well -used by dog walkers so if you want a quiet room and like to have the window open you may be better on the other side of the hotel
The bed was huge, fantastic pillows and good quality bed linen. There was a Nespresso machine in the room but the coffee cups and pods were not replaced and refilled every day. Bathroom was fine and had reasonable qualitiy potions.
We had room service once and it was fast, tasty and as described. The buffet breakfast was excellent and ranged from smoked salmon to pastries, plenty of healthy options including ripe, flavoursome fruit.
We ate at Q4 (for pintxos and drinks )which was good and we had a superb dinner at Aizian restaurant also within the hotel (see separate review). The staff was helpful and professional and we would definitely return to stay at The Melia on our next trip to this captivating city

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieFisher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    819
    260
    54
    41
See reviews for
457
1,131
73
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
acapulco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Bilbao in two separate dates and enjoyed the hotel. I would highly recommend it. It has a superb location in the new Bilbao and the old Bilbao is within walking distance. The Guggenheim is a 10 minute walk and the Museum of Fine Arts a mere 400m away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good hotel, close to the park and river. 5mins walk to Guggenheim. Hotel is very modern, the atrium reaches all the way to the roof and the lift is all glass. Staff at reception, in the restaurant at breakfast and bar staff very pleasant and helpful.
Room spacious and from 8th floor had view over river and towards the conference centre. Bed very comfortable, bathroom also very spacious with bath and separate walk in shower. Stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast buffet was excellent. We also had a meal in the lounge bar which was very good.
Used the bus to and from the airport, very cheap, 1.35eur. journey around 15mins and under 5mins walk across the park from the stop at the end of Via Don Diego. The return bus stops almost opposite, but there is no actual bus stop nor sign!
There is a riverside entrance to the Guggenheim up a slight slope nearest to the hotel, its not signed. The main entrance on the opposite side of the Gallery is down a long flight of stairs.
The old town, with many bars and restaurants is about 20/25mins walk, but the tram runs regularly from right outside the hotel.
Across the river is a funicular, which takes you up the hill where there are great views over the City and the Airport! Several bars and restaurants up there. Also took a very pleasant boat trip down the river, where you can see some of the remaining 'run down' dock area
Had a very good meal at La Chuleta not far from the glass bridge on the river past the Guggenheim

Room Tip: Higher floors better views, ask for park or river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Perfectly situated for visiting the Old City area as well as the Guggenheim. The trams in Bilbao are so easy, clean and cheap that it is the best transportation available downtown (other than walking!). The rooms are spacious and well-appointed with nice views over the park or river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMEfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

great hotel, 5 minutes walk to guggenheim museum...nice rooms overlooking the river, with huge bathrooms,excellent breakfast with good quality products, nice gym, wonderful outdoor heated pool, and very friendly staff...a really good choice for bilbao....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zoomendoscopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that is conveniently located near the river and a lovely 10 mins walk by the river to the Guggenheim museum. There are a couple of restaurants within 5 mins walk of the hotel an several convenience stores a little further away.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak good English. The breakfast buffet has an excellent spread, in a comfortable environment comprising 3 large sections where you can look out onto the garden grounds.

The room is large with all the creature comforts you might expect, including a large LCD TV, writing desk for work, large closet and a comfortable bed. My only grouse is the poor wifi coverage. There is also a gym and smallish pool in the hotel. There is also an fairly large bar that serves a great selection of drinks.

The hotel is on the slightly more expensive side, but I reckon it is quite worth it.

Room Tip: The gym is on the 6th floor and apparently the floor below the gym may suffer from the noise of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pshlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I reserved a room at Melia Bilbao. Upon check in we were told our reservation had been cancelled. Therefore we would have to pay a regular room rate as opposed to the special room rate we reserved. We disputed this and were not even provided with a record of the email confirming the cancellation. My partner is Basque and therfore speaks fluent Basque and all conversations were conducted in local language. We had just spent the weekend in Deba which is a small costal village nearby and were looking forward to our stay in Bilbao. The check in assistant was adamant we had cancelled the reservation inspite of our disagreement. She was unsympathetic that any mix up could have occurred and was infact quite cold and rude. We suspect the hotel had overbooked and cancelled our reservation as a result. We left the hotel completely appalled and booked into Hotel Miro and had a brilliant stay there. They even upgraded our room when we explained the ordeal we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hiyaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,262 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing