We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melia”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed one night at the hotel. Lovely -- at least from the inside -- with nice, large, clean rooms. Very modern decor, almost stark. Located along the water, close to the Guggenheim museum. Very quiet and nice view from the window.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LMK240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 2,591 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our "premium" room, number 808 (one notch up from the basic), included a balcony overlooking a park that was the evening favorite for dogs and their owners and faced the river and hills around Bilbao. If you walk along the river, pretty much any time of the day, you'll see an assortment of like-minded locals and tourists. The wide walks never seem crowded. You also get a bunch of mind-blowing views of the Guggenheim Museum. Bilbao really wants you to know they're more than the Guggenheim. Extend your stroll into the old part of town, or take the tram that stops near the museum, to find tapas and fun local shops. While snacking on tapas, we discovered the proper Basque way to order a small beer -- a "zurito" (sounds like "thirito.")

Our only bad thing: Hotel parking was 24 euros per night, but no worse than anywhere else in Bilbao. Unfortunately, we needed the car for other travel.

I am biased because I really love the Melia chain. This location does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Upgrade from basic and get a park view with balcony. Join the Melia club for good deals on room rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnjoyFineFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just got back from two nights stay in Melia, it was the most comfortable, stylish, tip top hotel I have ever had the,pleasure to stay in. High quality bed linen , towels, fantastically comfy beds, enormous bathroom, extensive breakfast menu, easy peaty to get to the old town and Guggenheim.
Just book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carolehillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The views from the top floor of this amazing building are unforgettable. Best situation possible in Bilbao, 'tween Palais Euskalduna and the 7 streets (the old part of the city), really close to the Museum Guggenheim and the Deusto University. Please, do the walk all along the ria Bilbao or go to the Grand Via street. And the gastronomie is the best I've ever tasted before in Spain.

Room Tip: The highest floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans_Gruber59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Bilbao and we booked the Melia Bilbao online before setting off on the ferry from Roscoff, France to Bilbao. We arrived at 0830 at the hotel and received a warm welcome from the staff who booked us in immediately. Our room overlooked the park and was very quiet and well-appointed. We parked in the underground hotel car park and left the car there during our stay. The hotel is very well situated, just near the river, for the Guggenheim and Belles Artes Museum. In itself the hotel is quite spectacular with a huge central atrium surrounded by walkways and with glass-sided lifts to take you to your room. Rooms are very well - furnished and spotlessly clean. We ate in the restaurant and had great food for both dinner and breakfast. The service was excellent throughout and the staff very helpful. We would have liked to stay longer but, unfortunately, we had an itinerary to follow! Bilbao is a great place with excellent public transport and lots to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river or the park on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a very nice 5 star hotel in a good location. It was a short walk to the Guggenheim and there was a shopping centre with food court directly opposite. Our room was large and had great air-conditioning and blackout curtains. The bathroom was large with a separate bath and shower and good quality toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and the Wi-Fi worked well. Breakfast was very good with an extensive range of hot and cold dishes. We signed up to the Melia club which was free, and this gave us one free breakfast and a late check out until 2 o’clock.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joybell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Is a very brand new hotel , all services are at the top , people are friendly and try to help all time you need , go to Bilbao and enjoy life staying there . They have restaurant and bar , and spanish people really enjoy life

Room Tip: ask for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Occidental Bilbao
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
229 reviews
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $92 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of bussines and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River-Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. The wellness center (swimming pool, sauna and Gym) will be closed for maintenance and cleaning from next October 30 and for a period of approximately one month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing