We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a superior double with great view to the puppy. Valet parking service. The blades between the bed and bathroom is a vulnerable system but it works. Enough space for the clothes in the cabinets. Breakfast in the morning is excellent and so is the view. We had rain but also from the inside it is nice. Dinner in the restaurant is good and the staff is friendly. The hotel is at walking distance from the shops, restaurants and other museums. The reception can advice you where to have dinner, the Bilbao tapas. We also walked to the old town and took a taxi back, not expensive for us from the Netherlands.

Room Tip: rooms with a view to the Guggenheim
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lines. We are very proud to read that you had such a pleasant stay with in our Silken Gran Domine and that the advices we gave you from the front desk were useful for you and helped to make a good impression of the city.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    693
    188
    71
    32
See reviews for
297
1,227
81
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent four days at this hotel and was bored out of my wits after two days.
Rooms are comfortable, very clean but the "designer" look which may have been trendy 10 years ago, now seems so standard / common.
Wifi was weak and TV channels few, even counting the Spanish ones.
Service was really good and food fine. Staff acted in a friendly way but had to carry their many duties and had no time for a chat. Fair enough.
The redeeming feature is the roof terrace. Really a very nice spot where you can read, have drinks and gaze upon the museum building. However, when it rains, there is really nowhere else where you can relax during the day.
True, the Guggenheim is on the other side of the road and while its architecture is amazing and the outdoors exhibits world class, the works of art inside are not that many and not "top of the crop". I recommend the Museo de Bellas Artes which is located also very close to the hotel and diplays paintings of higher quality.

I felt this was hotel was actually good for short stays and for business travellers.
Pricing is fair.

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor facng the Guggenheim
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which will keep us improving our work every day.

It is a shame that you did not find the worldwide recognized decoration of Javier Mariscal interesting and neither the Guggenheim museum but we are sure this was compensated by the fact that you enjoyed our terrace and the Fine Arts museum instead.

In relation to our work, we appreciate your words about the good service you received from our staff, even when you noticed they were very busy in summer.

We look forward to seeing you again in our Gran Domine Hotel.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The perfect location for a short break to Bilbao.
Directly opposite the Guggenheim - our room looked straight out at 'The Puppy' - and within a very pleasant riverside stroll of the old town and its attractions.
Rooms well proportioned and top quality bathroom. Roof top bar/restaurant gives fantastic views over this fascinating city. A seriously good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for view over the Guggenheim - all the action on that side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markfiftyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took for writing these lines and specially for your kind words. It is a pleasure for us to know that you consider our hotel the best choice for a break to Bilbao so we will keep working hard to make the same impression on our future guests.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having recently stayed at several 5* Hotels in Spain, ( Gehrys Marquis de Riscal El Ciego, Maria Christina in San Sebastián) are two examples, I was extremely disappointed with the Gran Domine in Bilbao.Service from the very start was underwhelming, the Reception curt & impatient with an arrogant attitude.
The room was badly lit, with a magnifying mirror placed a metre away from viewing, requiring a giraffe neck to see, therefore negating any visual benefit it was meant for.There were few amenities, toothbrush /shaver.No female acoutrements at all, eg shower cap,cotton pads / buds/ emery board or comp water...all standard at the other hotels.There was considerable noise till 2am on two nights from wedding groups, which meant the Terrace Restaurant was not available to guests, a detail which should be communicated to clients at point of booking as this meant the Hotel was not offering full service.
The only satisfactory service came from the catering department.I suspect management considers a few pieces of designer furniture compensates for bad service & uncomfortable rooms & atmosphere.Definately not 5*.by any stretch.I am happy to leave, & will not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Absolutely necessary to book only rooms viewing the Guggenheim.Other rooms look into an interior spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments you posted. We are aware of your disappointment and want to apologize for the bad experience you had at check-in since we understand that having the reception crowded at the moment is not an excuse to neglect our guests, who are always welcome in our hotel.

We regret that you could not enjoy the wonderful views from our terrace for dinner as it was fully booked for the wedding. For this reason, we would like to invite you to stay with us in a future trip to Bilbao, ensuring all of our hotel's facilities are available and you can have a room that fits your requirements. You will love our gastronomic restaurant in the same way as you already enjoyed the catering.

Yours faithfully,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have just spent 3 nights at this hotel and was very happy with the hotel. I booked through Secret Escapes and got a good discount of about 40%. The room was called a Comfort Room and faced into the reception area with a window as opposed to facing out of the building. We were positioned on the 2nd floor in room 220. The room was large and comfortable with reasonably priced mini bar and all amenities that you would expect. The toiletries in the bathroom were ample, refilled daily and nice to use. The bathroom was a little tired around the tiles, a bit of bleach and a good scrubbing would probably have improved this but everything else was clean and tidy. Towels were changed daily. Breakfast is served from 7-11 on the 7th floor and provided you with everything you could desire from traditional Spanish to full English and you helped yourself.

The hotel is immediately opposite the Guggenheim Museum and we found it well placed for getting around the city easily.

We didn't eat in the Michelin Starred restaurant, to be honest none of the food on the menu appealed to myself or my husband, tripe was mentioned on there and lots of liver and kidney dishes. We did however, eat in Le Metropole, the ground floor restaurant. The meals were very nice and we did get a discount of 25% on the cost with the hotel booking but the main courses were sadly lacking in any form of salad or vegetable and these were not extras on the menu either. I had Pork cheeks which were extremely tender in a rich gravy on what can only be described as some sort of white mush which we assumed was a potato puree, a bit like custard in texture. I followed this with the Sheep's curd with honey and pistacchio nuts, again a white dollop of yoghurt without the yoghurt flavour, very bland. 2 Courses each and a bottle of wine and water set us back 82 euros. We ate elsewhere for the remainder of the trip and got better value and veg!

All in all I would use this hotel again as a base and for breakfast, it is contemporary, comfortable and smells divine when you enter reception.

Room Tip: Be aware that the inner rooms get all the noise from reception and because there is no natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me-gustan-vacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are surprised thet you did not find vegetables in the menu of our Café Metropol as there are actually different choices and also a selection of salads.

Apart from this, we can see you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are particularly grateful for the fact that you would recommend our services to future guests, and of course you would also be very welcomed if you decided to come back.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well... A fantastic hotel, just opposite Guggenheim Museum, with great view from the terrace cafe or the front rooms. Rooms are large, luxurious, with wifi, great bathroom, king size bed and excellent breakfast. The location is great, and the bus from the airport leaves you just in the corner. I've been there 2 times and I will definitely stay there again if I go again to Bilbao.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great view, but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NISTAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We can't wait to see you here again. Reading opinions like yours is what motivates our team to keep improving our skills and services in order to get the máximum customer satisfaction. It will be a pleasure to have you staying with us again.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Bilbao and our stay at the Gran Hotel Domine. We did upgrade to a room with a wonderful view of the Guggenheim and the city, and would recommend paying that bit more.
The Beakfast Buffet is fantastic, everything you could think of and ,
more! It is served on the 7th. floor Terrace, outside when it is warm. It was the perfect start to the day.
There, is plenty to enjoy in Bilbao , especially the Guggenheim, which we thought was the star,the Exhibits were not all to our taste, but if Modern Art is your thing you will love it.The inside of the gallery is as amazing as the exterior. We had 1 meal in the ground floor restaurant, which we found very reasonable,including 3 large glasses of Rioja for 6 euros!! and some wonderful fish.

Room Tip: A very helpful Reception area, we could not fault our stay here, which was only 3 nights but could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to have been a part of your wonderful stay in Bilbao. We see you have enjoyed the time you stayed in the city, so we hope you will not hesitate to book with us if you decide to visit the city again in the future.

Kind regards,
Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,260 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#8 of 42 in Bilbao
2,398 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Property: Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61 | Right Opposite the Guggenheim Museum, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, the only 5-star hotel situated opposite the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum and close to the city's main attractions. A designer space in which the customer experience is the priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing