We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, but poor room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Location, but poor room quality”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

LOCATION: Very good since it is across from the Guggenheim.

ROOM: Spacious, but did not offer the best quality since the hotel rooms seems a bit outdated.

CITY: Bilbao was a great experience. The Guggenheim Bilbao was an awesome museum, so a must see. Bilbao may be an under appreciated city in Spain. It may have a reputation as an industrial city, but this city is awesome. The old town and thriving night life are unique and has charm. The entire city is walkable. May the half-day trip to Portugalete to see the Vizcaya bridge.

NOTE: All our reviews are not evaluated on the exclusively mutual experience at the respective hotel. Our ratings and standards are benchmarked with other hotels that we have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dal-n-lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We will take your comments on the room as a boost to improve our service even more and keep focused on the best customer service. In any case, our guests opinions are always welcome at the Front Desk and if they are not completely happy with the room, our colleagues will try their best to find the perfect one for them.

We are glad you enjoyed our outstanding location and we agree with you that the city must be better promoted in order to make everyone aware of the multiple attractions it has, apart from the Guggenheim.

If you came back to Bilbao in the future, we would like to offer you another stay with us that could make a better impression on you by guaranteeing the highest service from our part.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    686
    186
    70
    32
See reviews for
287
1,207
79
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Not the grandest 5 star I have ever stayed in, but certainly worth its rating. The location opposite the Guggenheim is its main selling point - upgraded rooms with the view well worth it. Breakfast terrace overlooking the museum makes a wonderful start to the day too. Restaurant was closed for private function one day without warning/notice which was annoying, though the snack bar is good enough for evening too though it lacked atmosphere. Lots of designer twists in the furnishings and design of hotel befitting its location. Staff very helpful though cocktail staff slow. Very clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhianna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and the special importance you give to our breakfast and cafetería. We would like to have you here again in the future so that you can enjoy a Martin Berasategui's dinner in our wonderful terrace.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Just completed a 3-day stay, first visit to Bilbao. Booked the Domine 9 months ago, favorable rate. Room 203 overlooks the Guggenheim. Clean, spacious and modern room. Delightful shower and elevated tub, wooden floor spa configuration. Professional, hospitable staff - especially Berta. Breakfast in cafeteria on first floor was just right. Would most definitely book again at the Domine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWSSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We are proud to read comment like yours, which boost our team to keep doing things well. We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel if you decide to visit our city once more.

Best regards from Berta and the rest of the Domine team.

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I rarely bother about the service as I tend to just use hotels for sleeping and showering, but I did notice the service was not great. We were dealt with quickly and efficiently at arrival and departure, but concierge type queries were not well dealt with. Now to the good points (numerous): the lobby was artistic and interesting; the location opposite the Guggenheim museum is delightful; the room was pleasant and comfortable with a good bathroom; the bar on the roof was very nice and the same rooftop terrace was the location for a very good breakfast in the morning. I can't wait to go back there with my wife, though looking at some of the comments on TripAdvisor, I'd better ask for the same room. Sorry if others were disappointed, but I was delighted!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback that we have already passed to the Management so that we can improved the service on which you felt we lacked. This will help us to keep the concierge service at the same high level as the rest of our services and facilities.

We neither can wait to see you and your wife here again.

Kindest regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Domine Hotel in Bilbao. We were expecting a 4-5 star hotel based on the reviews. However, it failed to meet our expectations. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent! There is a beautiful terrace upstairs with great views. However, everything else lacked in its' delivery. The bed was very uncomfortable. The room was clean but the carpet in the hallways was stained and smelled of stale cigarettes. There is free wifi however, the service was so poor that we were very limited as to what we could do online.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieta1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feelings about your experience in our Silken Gran Domine Hotel. We are glad to hear that our staff matched with your expectations, so we are surprised you did not come to them if you were not happy with the room, as they would kindly had offered you a solution or a room change. We work hard to ensure our staff is accesible for all our guests.

In relation to the wifi, we have already improved our service as you can see on our latest reviews from our guests, so we hope this is not an argument to make you choose a different hotel on your next visit to Bilbao. We look forward to seeing you again and make of your stay a better experience.

Kindest regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communication Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
253 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night before visiting the Guggenheim. The hotel was easy to find. Once you spot the museum you know the hotel is just across the street. There was plenty of room to drop off our car. Attendants helped us with our bags and put the car away for us. The hotel lobby is really cool. The front desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was pretty small but was in the corner near the "Puppy" and had a GREAT view of the museum. Definitely ask for a room facing the museum. When you are in the room you can see all of the people walking around the outside of the museum. Fun people watching. The bathroom was nice. It was clean, modern and fairly large. We went up to the rooftop restaurant. The crowd seemed formal and were all sitting down to eat lunch so we did not want to stand around their tables. It was also very windy. The cafe downstairs was more casual for a drink and a snack. Overall a good place to stay for visiting the museum and walking down to the old part of town (a little bit of a walk but not too far).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the museum with large windows. Our room faced the museum but only had a half w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from the Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao! We would like to thank you for trusting in us and for choosing Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao during your holidays in Bilbao. We would like to thank you for your great review about your stay at our property. Guests like you, who send us many nice words after their holiday, motivate our staff every day and give us the energy to keep up our hard work.We are looking forward to your next visit with us, please let me know if there is anything that I can aid you with.

Best Regards from Bilbao!

Estitxu Etxebarria Garcia
Guest & Community Manager / Responsable de Comunicación
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location is the only great thing about this hotel. It is across the street from the Guggenheim. The lobby and restaurant look great and contemporary, however the rooms have yellow dirty, stained carpeting. The bathroom was truly a safety hazard. The shower and toilet paper holder are falling off the wall. The toilet paper kept falling off every time I touched it. It was almost funny but far more frustrating. The bathroom fan above the toilet actually did fall from the ceiling! It was a stroke of good luck that no one was sitting on it at the time, especially my seven year old child.
We complained to the front desk about all of these issues but the girl did not even acknowledge what we said. We wanted to stay in Bilbao another night so we just packed up and moved to another hotel. Awful customer service! What an unpleasant stay!!! It is truly unfortunate that our long awaited visit to Bilbao was accompanied by this bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pdrozniczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We are deeply concerned about this particular feedback we received from you and we would like to present our most sincere apologies on behalf of our management,

We are very sorry to read the lack of efectivity that our staff showed when you came to them to complain about the room, which we feel was not matching the high standard they normally do. We would like to confirm that we have gone through all the detailes you listed on your review and our maintenance team have repaired them one by one to ensure a superior service for our next visitors.

If you come back to Bilbao, we would like you to contact us directly and let us compensate the bad experience you related by offering you the high standard service that all our customers deserve.

Kindest regards,

Cristina Repáraz / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,244 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#8 of 42 in Bilbao
2,365 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 42 in Bilbao
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Property: Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61 | Right Opposite the Guggenheim Museum, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, the only 5-star hotel situated opposite the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum and close to the city's main attractions. A designer space in which the customer experience is the priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing