We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and in a perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stylish and in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's easy to be impressed by this hotel. The most striking feature is the location - directly across from the famous museum and a short walk to the main sights in Bilbao. The rooftop terrace is also excellent and it has sweeping views of Bilbao. That terrace is a fantastic place for breakfast or lunch. The rooms are very large well furnished. I felt that I got a good value for money here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    659
    180
    67
    31
See reviews for
270
1,147
72
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our room was contemporary, lovely and clean. The view was not of the museum but as soon as you walk outside you see Jeff Koons' "Puppy" and the Guggenheim. The location is perfect, near the river walk and other public spaces and parks built around the museum. A leisurely stroll of 25 to 30 minutes puts you in the Casco Viejo, the old town where all the characteristic tapas bars are located. The hotel staff gave us good information and recommended we seek out Licenciado Poza as well, a street lined with many tapas bars and generally boisterous night life. I would return to this hotel if I visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyK_of_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent two nights there.
Great location in front of the city's main attraction Guggenheim Museum.
Personally I found it extremely overrated and wouldn't give more than 4 stars.
Price affordable, large room with awful back-view.
Apart from the stunning location I don't see any further reason to select this hotel.
The staff was unfriendly and inefficient.
I asked the reception manager to book a restaurant for dinner and had to re-ask 3 times before seeing my simple request satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao for 2 nights in Mid August. Considering the rates we were paying, our room was good even though it was looking at th hotel. Th location was perfect for visiting the museum and you can even purchase the tickets at the hotel front desk . This will save yourself from waiting at least 45 minutes. The room was a good size with adequate bathroom suppy and teh bed were comfortable. The only thing that cold be improved was the air condition was not quite up to our temperature . Even though it was running at full blast, the room was never at a cool enough level as compared to other hotels we stayed at in Barcelona. Maybe it was unusually hot that dew days.

The roof top breakfast was the best and you could get a good picture of the museum from the there.

Room Tip: Maybe pick a lower floor which is not so hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The most enviable location in Bilbao, directly across from the Guggenheim. This made breakfast quite a treat with the view from the roof, as well as at dinner. Big points for that.
Quirky design in the hotel as well. Always a plus.
Very friendly people at the front desk.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in high-season August and brought our dog.
The hotel is very easy to find (with navigation or just turning in the city from the Autoroute)- it is literally opposite to the Guggenheim as the most closeby hotel.
* Room: We didn't ask for anything special other then the dog; and received a room facing the inside patio, which was a bit disappointing, after high expectations reading through those reviews.
Asking for a change we did receive another room- yet on the backside.
* Great room, very good service, an aircon almost without sound and a huge bed for the dog
* We did learn that a couple that had listed their wish on their booking, received an upgrade to the guggenheim-view.
* Our small dog costed 5 times the usual and there was an extensive list of reliability-items that we needed to sign for- never happened before. She was then treated very nicely.
* Expensive valet-parking garage, there's a public garage right next door, yet that is just a little bit cheaper.
* Nice view from the balcony terrace, however often used for weddings and other (closed) parties, so we didn't sit there much. Downstairs restaurant has good food as well- and in fact the nearby smaller restaurants are even more fun
* we learned that lunchtime in Portugal is between 1.30 and 3, or sometimes even longer, and this is where you take the main meal. Not doing so resulted in us circling restaurants during the evening and wondering why they were all closed (or only open after 8.30pm)
* fitness room was disappointing- small, only two cardio options and no weights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was a more expensive option that I'd usually choose but I wanted to be near the Guggenheim and in walking distance of the old town. The reception is excellent, friendly and helpful and the hotel is comfortable with some excellent facilities. For example it has a roof top bar which is available for early evening drinks but can only be used by diners later on. The room was large and comfortable but it faced inwards towards the large covered courtyard of the hotel. This meant that it was very quiet at nice (good thing) but that there was no view and no sense of external light (not so good thing). It is a very good hotel in a really great location but I don't think I got all the extra value I was hoping for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Property: Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61 | Right Opposite the Guggenheim Museum, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, the only 5-star hotel situated opposite the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum and close to the city's main attractions. A designer space in which the customer experience is the priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing