We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view over the Guggenheim or... inside patio room?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in high-season August and brought our dog.
The hotel is very easy to find (with navigation or just turning in the city from the Autoroute)- it is literally opposite to the Guggenheim as the most closeby hotel.
* Room: We didn't ask for anything special other then the dog; and received a room facing the inside patio, which was a bit disappointing, after high expectations reading through those reviews.
Asking for a change we did receive another room- yet on the backside.
* Great room, very good service, an aircon almost without sound and a huge bed for the dog
* We did learn that a couple that had listed their wish on their booking, received an upgrade to the guggenheim-view.
* Our small dog costed 5 times the usual and there was an extensive list of reliability-items that we needed to sign for- never happened before. She was then treated very nicely.
* Expensive valet-parking garage, there's a public garage right next door, yet that is just a little bit cheaper.
* Nice view from the balcony terrace, however often used for weddings and other (closed) parties, so we didn't sit there much. Downstairs restaurant has good food as well- and in fact the nearby smaller restaurants are even more fun
* we learned that lunchtime in Portugal is between 1.30 and 3, or sometimes even longer, and this is where you take the main meal. Not doing so resulted in us circling restaurants during the evening and wondering why they were all closed (or only open after 8.30pm)
* fitness room was disappointing- small, only two cardio options and no weights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 2,378 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was a more expensive option that I'd usually choose but I wanted to be near the Guggenheim and in walking distance of the old town. The reception is excellent, friendly and helpful and the hotel is comfortable with some excellent facilities. For example it has a roof top bar which is available for early evening drinks but can only be used by diners later on. The room was large and comfortable but it faced inwards towards the large covered courtyard of the hotel. This meant that it was very quiet at nice (good thing) but that there was no view and no sense of external light (not so good thing). It is a very good hotel in a really great location but I don't think I got all the extra value I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Centrally located. The food in the restaurant (top floor) is really good. Fun bartenders who pour delicious drinks. The rooms are clean, there are great amenities in the rooms. Advise that you spend the money and get breakfast included with the rate.

Wifi is interesting, you have to obtain login access codes that have an expiration - and they are per device, so if you have a lot of devices (phone, ipad, laptop), the code requests can add up.

Valet parking will save your hide (as will a cell phone powered GPS, ditch the Hertz ever-lost, these are a disaster waiting to happen).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKI_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Tell the truth,we were disappointed with the room they provided us,it's a room with a narrow window which was covered with sheet that couldn't see-thru,and the window couldn't be opened.Though we had a very early check-in(around 9:40AM),though I am grateful for such early check-in,but still disappointed with the room.We stayed for 2 days,we were considering changing another room,but giving up thinking of packing again.I think we should have placed the luggage in the counter and wait for a better room,but we didn't.And it ends up to be a really disappointed experience.Free wi-fi,that is good.If we could stay in a normal room,at least with a window even facing the inner court,the feeling could be totally different.

Room Tip: Don't rush to check-in,wait for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We enjoyed 4 nights in this quality hotel and were very fortunate to get a free room upgrade. We had a large comfortable room which was situated at the rear of the hotel on the 5th floor. The fixtures and fittings were superb quality and the ensuite barroom was luxurious and included a bidet, twin sinks and a lovely large bath and shower. The staff were very courteous and helpful, providing a lot of detail and insight into local life and activities in Bilbao. Over the weekend we were there it was the end of the week long Basque festival which was an amazing experience. The hotel is ideally situated for a short walk to the main shopping area or a longer stroll along the river to the old town. One of our highlights of the weekend! apart from the festival, was a trip up the funicular railway. The station is a 15 min walk away from the hotel and the views from the top after the 10 min ride are nothing short of spectacular. There is a large park with a viewing terrace and in addition to seeing Bilbao you can also see the port and beyond - a great way to get oriented for the rest of your stay! There is also a cheap and cheerful cafe bar near the station at the top which has a nice terrace with dining tables.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGK1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a fantastic view of the Guggenheim!!
The interior is nicely decorated and the staff is very helpful. All members of staff encountered by us spoke English.
We are very sad that we only stayed one night. The terrace bar/restaurant is a great place to relax.
In future we will be looking at hotels in this group when we travel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked online directly with the hotel, the location is great, in front of the Guggenheim Museum. Rooms are standard size, modern and clean. Good wifi and the breakfast cafe on the roof is spectacular as you have the view of the Museum and part of the city. You may not want the interior rooms as there are windows that cannot be opened as they face the next door building. The staff is very helpful -

Room Tip: Avoid internal rooms so that you can get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MV_Trotamundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
2,559 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61 | Right Opposite the Guggenheim Museum, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: $92 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Hotel Domine is the only 5-star hotel in front of the Guggenheim. Having been completely newly renovated in 2017, luxury can now be found in its spacious ambience, its extraordinary service, the passion for art and design, as well as an elegant and cosmopolite style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing