We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position but even greater service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Miro
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great position but even greater service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had the misfortune of having my wallet stolen while visiting the Guggenheim museum.when we returned to the hotel the staff were extremely kind and helpfull.one person Esther went above and beyond her duties, taking us personally to report the crime at a nearby police station,she was kind and professional and I cannot thank her enough.A very bad experience was softened by her kindness what more can we ask when in a foreign city.

Room Tip: The junior suite had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallSilversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

First of all, let me say I am aware of your misfortune, I was sorry to hear that.

We are honored to count with people like Esther in our team, she goes beyond her duties happily to help guests feel at home with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to continue discovering our great city.

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    474
    113
    21
    11
See reviews for
143
689
46
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had two nights here in a room directly overlooking the Guggenheim, which is only 2 minutes walk away. So an excellent location, which is also two minutes from the tram, which goes directly into the old town and also the main bus station. You can also stroll along the river to the old town, and it really is a very pleasant walk. So location, first class. The hotel itself is very stylish and comfortable. Lovely bedroom and good breakfasts, friendly staff, very relaxed atmosphere, nice complimentary coffee bar. The only criticism is that the bathrooms are a little dim and there are no basin plugs. You can probably find cheaper accommodation in the heart of the old town, but this place is good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay.

It pleases us that you have enjoyed our perfect location, views of the Guggenheim, breakfast, and our free Courtesy Bar exclusive for hotel guests.

Your mention of the staff makes us very happy, they do their best to help our guests feel at home.

We hope to see you back in the future, so you can discover the rest of our surprising region.

Best,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Let's start with the positives:
- Very good location near the Guggenheim Museum
- Big windows with view of museum. Windows open for fresh air.
- One free bottle of water in the room
- Our 5:15AM taxi to the airport was on time and very professional

Now the negatives:
- Worst. Bed. Ever. I was on the side nearest the bathroom and everyone must have sat on the edge of that bed and made it a giant sink hole. I could not sleep in the hole or in the middle as I would fall into the hole. I don't care how cool your hotel is, if the bed is uncomfortable and you can't sleep, it is not a good thing.
- Worn. One thing about these modern design hotels - if they get dinged up it is really obvious and it gives the whole room kind of a sad atmosphere.

We had spend the first few days of our vacation at the Silken Gran Hotel Domine which, granted, was more expensive. But it was so much better. If I went back to Bilbao and had to pick a hotel I would definitely pay the extra for the Domine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volvo850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are profoundly sorry you were not able to get a good night´s rest while you stayed with us, we sincerely apologize the mattress was not up to your expectations.

We are gradually changing the mattresses of the hotel and take note of your room number to check the urgency and act on this matter.

It pleases us you enjoyed the hotel´s location and views, and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,
Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel MIro, on a short visit to Bilbao to see the Guggenheim. We could not have been more pleased. We stayed in Room 512, which has a great view of the museum. The rooms are efficiently organized, and comfortable. The hotel has a very nice complimentary bar/café in the lobby, that provides free sodas, coffee, small sandwiches, etc—very thoughtful and civilized. The staff at the front desk merit special praise—Iberia lost one of our suitcases, but the staff were very helpful in keeping after Iberia, until they finally delivered it to the hotel. We also needed some help finding a pharmacy for medication for my wife, and they were very helpful with that as well. Overall, a very attractive and comfortable hotel—a very good choice.

Room Tip: pay the cost for a room with a view of the Guggenheim
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston_MARambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your stay. We are more than pleased to hear especially your positive comments about our front desk staff, they try their best and go an extra mile and help our guests.
Our City Deluxe rooms, like 52, offer unbeatable views of the Guggenheim. We currently have a special promo "Bilbao Deluxe" on our website, with discounts on our superior room categories.
The Courtesy Bar is a great place to relax after a day of strolling the city, with free drinks exclusively for hotel guests.
Looking forward to seeing you back in the future...
Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found a great promo package deal online for one of the larger rooms with views. A whole wall made of windows offering views over the Guggenheim was pretty impressive. I enjoyed the breakfasts here too.
It's a pleasant 10-15 minute walk along the river to the old town.
I was here with 2 kids and found an amazing playground next to the Guggenheim with a water fountain made for playing in too.
Lots of great restaurants nearby as well as a really good one next door.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We currently have a special offer on our website to enjoy our superior rooms (City Deluxe, Junior Suite and Master Suite) with discounts. You are right, the Junior Suite is great for families and couples alike, providing amazing views and extra space.
We hope to welcome you and your family back in the future to continue discovering Bilbao...there are many things to do here with kids!
Best,
Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Yes, very convenient, comfortable hotel. Stayed for 2 nights. Staff was very helpful. Booked through Jetsetter - very good deal. Don't hesitate to take the metro - very easy and inexpensive. Nice walk to old town and many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgsmiroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind words regarding your stay with us.

We very much appreciate your comments on our location and helpful staff.

Hopefully we'll welcome you again soon so you can continue discovering our surprising region.

Best,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice and comfortable hotel right in front of the museum, literally walking distance.
They have and offer which includes tickets to the museum and breakfast, good deal
Rooms are modern and with all amenities, overlooking the river and the museum.
Good places to eat just a few blocks from the hotel, walk around and discover them.
One complaint was the hair drier, my wife and I am sure it happens with all women, need this piece of equipment very much and the go mad when it works badly.
As my wife says, how can it be that hotels don't spend a couple of € more and have a reliable one !
In the afternoon you have free soft drinks in the bar and a Expresso machine for coffee, great !
Also you can rent a couple of bikes for €5 two hours to visit the city, lovely trail on the river bank

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for your positive review of your stay with us, we appreciate it very much.

Art In Bilbao is a great package deal we offer on our website, a good way to discover both museums!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our top location, views, courtesy bar and bike rental. We take good note on your suggestion regarding the hair dryer...

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Property: Hotel Miro
Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing