We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miro
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel Miro, Bilbao is wonderfully located. It is within five minutes of the Guggenheim, and 15 minutes from the old town along a tranquil and beautiful riverside path.

Modern in design, it is quite comfortable, although slightly slick for our tastes.. The staff is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our prime location in front of the Guggenheim Museum. It is very convenient to visit both Museums and the new architecture in the neighborhood.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed on news of the hotel and the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

One of the design hotels, it is the best location you can ask for in Bilbao with a view of Guggenheim Museum from the room and a one minute walk to the museum. The junior suite at the top floor is quite comfortable and spacious; well, we were ok as both our daughters are less than 8 yrs old, otherwise it is bit awkward to have open bath and wash basins within the room. The complimentary coffee tea and soft drinks available from 1pm onwards and quite nice breakfast in the morning are a bonus. The reception team is helpful, they even sorted our ticket confirmation.
The photographs and artwork in the hotel is worth a look. We would recommend this hotel for the location, location, location...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We value your opinion very highly, since every comment helps us improve our service.

It pleases us very much to hear you enjoyed our location and special services like the courtesy bar.

Our Junior and Master Suites are perfect for couples and families alilke, providing an extra space, amenities, and views.

We are also glad you enjoyed our photography collection, it is about 45 pieces of original photography located all over the hotel.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future to continue discovering our amazing city!

Cordially,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Hotel Miró is a very smart modern hotel. We were upgraded to a "junior suite" on arrival. It had a fantastic view of the Guggenheim Museum and adjacent park. I mean how great.

But the room was more than just the view. It was large and comfortable, bright and quite well finished. The bathroom was clean and cool, with lots of marble. Only downside was that the shower in black marble tended to be dark. Minor point.

Hotel staff were friendly, and the free tea in the hotel bar was a welcome bonus for a couple of tea drinkers.

As for Bilbao, we were also very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed the city itself. Grand architecture, walkable streets, a pleasant old city, a bustling new town, and enjoyable tree- lined walks along the river. In addition to the Guggenheim itself, we also took in the Museum of Bellos Artes and thought it was worth a visit. The tram was very simple to use between the old city, the Guggenheim and the bus depot where we caught a bus to San Sebastián. Just don't forget to validate the ticket in the machine before getting on.

Room Tip: Facing the street provides views of the Guggenheim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalishSea101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us.

It pleases us greatly that you enjoyed our junior suite, location and free courtesy bar.

Bilbao is a city that never ceases to surprise visitors...totally agree with you...the Fine Arts Museum is a worthy visit!

Hope to welcome you back in the future so you can continue discovering Bilbao...

Best regards,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The reception told us we did not have a package that included breakfast ,we did,eventually it was sorted.the next morning at breakfast we had the same problem which was embarrassing.Location is fantastic for the Guggenheim.there was complimentary coffee tea and soft drinks available all day and the evening which is handy.despite this felt room price was quite high as our room overlooked an ugly sunless courtyard.feel compared to other hotels we have stayed in this trip it was not good value.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room overlooking dark courtyard.Expect a good view will cost ene more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

First of all, let me apologise for the confusion/misunderstanding you experienced during your stay with us, and thanks for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

There was a lack of communication between departments. We have changed the internal procedure to make sure this does not happen again.

We´d like to invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter, to stay informed on news and specials.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, so you can experience our hotel from a room with views and continue discovering the city.

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a modern, tasteful, and well run operation in keeping with its proximity to the Guggenheim, just a couple of blocks away. Rooms are decent sized, with walk-in closets, chicly done in blond wood and black marble, with all the four star features expected, but vary as to desirability. The room first given to us was on the back side of the hotel, and the widow opened to a dark, gloomy small concrete air well. For an extra 10€ a night, the front desk found us a room opening onto the street, that was well worth the up charge. The front desk was very helpful and kind. (Word to the wise: unlike the provincial towns in which we had spent the preceding week, where restaurants were empty at night, desirable places need advance reservations in Bilbao.)

The only breakfast option is an 18.5€ deal, take it or leave it (we left it), either room service or in the breakfast room. If you just want coffee, your only option is the self-serve (albeit free) coffee bar in the lobby, but retiring back to one's room with the caffeine is a no-no.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get a room not on the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thanks you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

Nice to hear you enjoyed our unbeatable location in front of the Guggenheim Museum and close to all points of interest.

We are glad you enjoyed our free courtesy bar and take note of your comments and suggestions.

Please follow us on Twitter and Facebook to be informed on news and promos.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel MIro for one night last September while we visited the Guggenheim Museum and walked around Bilbao. This hotel is lovely! First off the location cannot be beat - we looked at the museum from our bedroom window. We had booked online in advance and got a great rate which included a museum view, tickets to the Guggenheim and breakfast. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a king size bed which is a must for my tall husband. Check in was easy, the front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and breakfast the next morning was great.....I could have stayed there all morning drinking coffee. As another review mentioned, parking was conviently located across the street from the hotel. Bilbao was a pleasant suprise....we knew we would love the museum but hadn't expected to be so enamored with the city itself. Bilbao feels like an extension of the museum with lovely walking paths and sculptures at every turn. Our only disappointment was that we only had a day. We will return to Bilbao and Hotel Miro.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with a museum view...definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utah42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Utah42,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us.

It pleases us greatly that you enjoyed our location, service, and views.

Our "Art in Bilbao" package is very convenient since it includes room, breakfast and Guggenheim tickets, as well as tickets to the "lesser-known-jewel" which is the Museum of Fine Arts.

Bilbao is a very surprising city, full of contrasts, with many things to see and experience beyond the Guggenheim.

We hope to welcome you back again so you can continue discovering our city:)

Cordially,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

If your goal is to see the Guggenheim and savor the Bilbao renaissance, you can't do better than the Miro. It is just a few steps away from the museum and the riverfront area - great for people-watching and sunset on the swirling metal of Gehry's masterpiece.

The hotel is clean, handsome and the rooms very well-appointed, even elegant. The breakfast buffet is excellent, and although it wasn't included, we were offered a special 2-person discount which was very welcome. Really it was a lovely place. My only real problem was with parking - I was told we would get a discount at an underground garage - in the end we got a single euro off of a 13 euro bill. Not much of a reduction!

That aside, the Miro is a marvelous choice in an exciting city.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaferpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Schaferpho,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our unbeatable location across the Guggenheim and that you took advantage of our special breakfast offer.

We have an agreement with the public parking across the street that we offer a 10% discount of the bill. It is conveniently located and very secure.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter if you want to stay informed on news about the hotel and the city.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
2,661 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $88 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing