We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to the Guggenheim”
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miro
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So close to the Guggenheim”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We too upgraded to a junior suite for the views and spaciousness for our two night stay. It was lovely to be able to stroll over to the Guggenheim in just a few minutes. The hotel staff were very helpful. The airport bus is very good and drops you just two roads away. Get off at the next stop after you see the Guggenheim. Walking into the old town is very easy either along the river or thrrough the main shopping street. Try the tapas in Iruna on the way! We had an amazing meal at Porrue, close to the Guggenheim, and also a quick lunch at the Guggenheim before getting our taxi back to the airport - all very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view. Upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GALCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Galchesire,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us, and for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

Our Junior Suites are a great way to enjoy magnificent views and have some extra space...as well as original art in the room...

We are glad you enjoyed traditional Iruña ( great décor) and Porrue, a fantastic restaurant just around the corner...

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future to continue discovering our surprising city.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to be informed on Promos and news about the city.

Best regards,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    489
    115
    23
    11
See reviews for
150
714
47
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after a night in San Sebastian. We were offered an upgrade to a junior suite for 20 euros and had no hesitation after seeing the suite. Our original room was great but the suite was just amazing. Lovely view of the Guggenheim from the full length windows, a massive bed and a bath as well as a shower. The staff were really helpful, very friendly and keen to offer advice and help whenever we asked.
We even got free tickets to the Guggenheim (which made up one night's upgrade!).
Bilbao is a lively, vibrant city that is full of surprises. Don't miss the Museum of Belle Artes nearby as it is just as good as the Guggenheim even though it is less spectacular from the outside.
Also well worth making the trip up the funicular to the hills overlooking the city. Great food everywhere and a great buzz in a real lived-in city that you feel is not just there for the tourists.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear smoggy1,

Thanks for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor, it helps us improve our service.

We are glad you enjoyed our junior suite, its views and extras like bath and shower, as well and the extra space.

We fully agree with you that a visit to the Fine Arts Museum is a must and we also recommend taking the funicular to enjoy the spectacular views from Artxanda.

We´d like to invite you to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, where you can stay posted on news and specials of the city and the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future to continue discovering our surprising city...

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We are one the last day of a fabulous five day break booked through Secret Escapes. The hotel is located about 30 minutes from Bilbao airport and you can get to the hotel very easily using the local bus service. It only costs 1.35 euro per person and you get of at the first stop for the hotel which is just a few minutes walk from the bus stop. I understand a taxi is about 40 euro so really the bus is a non brainer!

On arrival we were allocated a room on the third floor overlooking the Guggenheim. The room was well apportioned for a city hotel and the view of the Guggenheim was stunning. However, we felt this room was great for a stay of a couple of nights however, as we were both celebrating our birthday's during our somewhat longer stay we decided to upgrade to a junior suite. This cost just an extra 20 euro per night, per room and this was one of the best decisions we made on this break. The master suite was an extra 30 euro per night but was not available.

There are three junior suites and ours is on the 7th floor. One side of the room is just about all glass and so the views are awesome. Unlike the double rooms there is a bath as well as a shower. I must say the showers in both rooms were excellent, very powerful and very hot, together with 2 sinks, plenty of seductive lighting and storage space. There is a decent sized tv with a dvd. We brought our own dvds with us however, there are plenty available to rent from reception. Rental is a few euro. As you would expect there is also a safe and mini bar.

The bed is huge and conformable. There is a sofa bed and a seating which runs almost half the length of the room under the window.

There is no iron or ironing board in the room however, reception will provide these immediately upon request along with ice should you want it.

Our package came with breakfast which was surprisingly very good in terms of the range of choice between traditional breakfast items such as scrambled egg, fried egg, bacon or beef sausages, cereal, fresh fruit, various fresh juices and Cava amongst other things.

The complimentary refreshments are great, tea, coffee, canned drinks such as coca cola etc.

One thing to note is that Hotel mire does not serve dinner although room service can be ordered.

The staff are great, very friendly, helpful and accommodating to the extent they sent a treat to our room on the day of my husband's birthday which was much appreciated.

My husband used the small but well equipped fitness room. Whilst I'm a bit of a runner and so I chose to run by the river in the mornings along with the locals! Then scenery is great and I felt vey safe running by myself in an unfamiliar city. I was not hassled by anyone at all.

We used the wellness aqua area which was ok but the steam room was not working properly which was disappointing however, the hotel staff acknowledged this and waived the 30 euro fee in an instant.

The only tiny niggle we have is that our room has an odour to it. It was noticeable when we first viewed the room when we were deciding whether to upgrade. You can smell it on entering the room after being out of it for a while but on being in the room you don't really notice it. We think it may come from the plush and thick carpet but can't be sure.

All in all we would definitely recommend and return to this hotel. Thanks hotel Miro for making our first trip to Bilbao so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the Guggenheim give great views of the museum. Of course the higher the room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BajanSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Bajan Spice,

Thanks for your kind words regarding your stay with us and for sharing it on Tripadvisor, it helps us improve our service.

It pleases us greatly that you experienced our Junior Suite and enjoyed services such as the courtesy bar and special treats. We appreciate your comments on the smell and the steam room, we are looking into it.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future, for celebrations or just because...so you can continue discovering our surprising city:)

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed on news of the city and the hotel.

Best regards from sunny Bilbao,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. They even entertained my attempts at Spanish which was really appreciated. The courtesy bar is a great idea and was something I was really unsure of when I first booked the hotel through Secret Escapes. The bar provides free tea, coffee and soft drinks which guests help themselves to from 1300-2200 daily. There is also a wine dispenser which is chargeable and cards for this can be purchased from the reception team. While my girlfriend and I were staying there, there were also some young families. It is nice to see that this sort of hotel caters not just for couples but also for young families with well behaved children. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Such a short walk into town and only 20 minutes walk from the old town (an absolute must see as it is really different to the area of town where the hotel is). Something that really astonished me was just how quiet it is at night. This is really nice as you are just a 5 minute walk into the heart of town and yet it is so peaceful in the evenings. I would certainly recommend this hotel to people looking for somewhere that is friendly and has a modern feel.

Room Tip: Really comfortable room. It is quite open plan but there are are curtains to allow for more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear PhilHicks,

Thanks so much for your positive review and for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad you enjoyed our location, courtesy and wine bars, service, etc... You are right, the hotel is ideal for couples and small families.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed on news on the hotel and the city.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic to explore the city. The rooms are good and the service is really friendly and helpful. A really good start to our holiday and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan Varey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jonathan Varey,

Thanks for your lovely words regarding your stay with us and for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

We love hearing our guests enjoy our service, location and helpful staff.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook / Twitter to be informed on specials and news about the city.

Best regards,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location across from the Guggenheim Museum. We were lucky to have a room with a view of the museum which was an unexpected plus. The hotel's evening snack came in very handy on the evening of arrival. The hotel is clean, the staff very helpful and the room was of good size. Great stay and would recommend to anyone wishing to visit the Guggenheim or simply to visit Bilbao.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the evening tapas and free drink. The wine option is a bargin with wonderful Span...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Paul A,

Thank you so much for your kind words!

We are very glad you enjoyed the view from your room, our special services, and our location.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter if you want to receive info on news and offers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Bilbao...

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very boutique hotel. Excellent location, view of the Guggenheim from our room. Few blocks to a group of pintxos bars. Easy walk to old town, roughly 20 minutes. Would definitely stay here when I return. Hopefully soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Todd S,

Thanks so much for your positive review!

It makes us happy to hear you enjoyed our location and services and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#9 of 42 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Property: Hotel Miro
Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing