We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a coffee !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Crepe

Don Crepe
Ranked #3 of 18 Dessert in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
bury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just a coffee !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Now here's an unusual review had nothing to eat just a coffee and a chat so what have i got to review ?? The owner. Running a business myself you can tell and get a feel for a place by how the owner behaves and this man Enrique is a smashing chap only had a coffee but he was so pleased to hear that I enjoyed his coffee we got into a conversation about football seeing as Athletic Bilbao were playing at home and not a policeman in sight !! O what it is to be civilized ?? If you have a spare five minutes take time to visit Enrique's place have a bit to eat or a coffee and you will see what I am talking about. Man Utd. Real Madrid. Ronaldo. Mourinho. Shame I had to leave !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williewilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    23
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Crepes in Bilbao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Right across from the Guggenheim, a perfect place to go before or after the museum! These were the best crepes I have ever had. I tried the seafood, so creamy! and several of the dessert crepes. My daughter was in Bilbao for a semester in the fall of 2012 and she insisted on taking my husband and I hear for our birthdays. It was a great place choice. We were not disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best crepes of Bilbao!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Feeling hungry? Make sure you don't miss Don Crepe. It's across the Guggenheim museum and a great place to eat. I had the crepe Madras and the one with ham: just excellent!! Friendly owner and all crepes are fresh. Wish this restaurant was in Holland :)!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HJRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We went twice in one weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This lovely laid back little nook of a place is a real jewel. A precious view outside, or delightful company from Enrique the chef inside. We loved the Madras crepes and went back the next day for more. If we are back in Bilbao, we will surely return. Wonderful memories!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clubritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So close to the Guggenheim, so good & so cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

On a Friday night, we were looking for a good but not too expensive restaurant near the Guggenheim Museum. This turned out to be quite a difficult task... Thankfully, a Spanish (sorry, Basque!) couple we met near the spider statue in front of the Guggenheim told us that just across the red bridge was a French pancake restaurant called 'Don Crepe' (crepe being French for a very thin and non-fatty pancake). When we got there, the owner/cook Enrique was playing the guitar with some locals singing to it. But then he got to work to bake us our pancakes, with a choice of fillings that are all his own recipees. Some with meat, some fish/vegetarian, and some sweet! We loved the food and the service, and would definitely recommend this informal restaurant. Enrique turned out to speak fluent English, which is still pretty rare in Bilbao and which we thought was quite helpful (as we don't speak Spanish, let alone Basque).

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarieke_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Crepe also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Don Crepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing