We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
13
23
12
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
23
12
2
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 56 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017

The plus point of this pension is its location. Sadly, that is also its downfall. Overlooking the Cathedral Square guarantees late-night revellers carousing until 4 am. We found it impossible to sleep in our third floor room. Absence of air conditioning means we had to open the windows – so the choice was windows open (warm night air and louder, drunken singing), or windows closed (quieter drunken singing, but roasting alive).

We had trouble getting in, arriving – as notified – at 1am, with the phone being answered by an old lady who spoke no English whatsoever. After getting a helpful passerby to speak to her, we were admitted, amidst great suspicion.

Room facilities were basic and cramped – barely acceptable. We were very glad to be moving on after two nights. Impossible to recommend.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

The Roquefer is well located directly in the beautiful old town of Bilbao close to a lot of different restaurants and bars and shops. The rooms are small and simple with a bed and some of them with a bathroom - but this is sufficient if you just look for having a bed at night. Breakfast is not served but there are bakeries close by. The hosts, living on the same floor, are really welcoming and friendly.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
Thank StefanieWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015

My husband and I spent two nights here when we stopped in Bilbao to go to the museum. We had a very small room, on the back of the building. Everything here is squeaky clean and quiet. The hosts are friendly and helpful. This is an amazing value!

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 twin beds are the same price as doubles, but have more space. Don't worry about being on the street - it's a quiet spot.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

We were greeted by a friendly man who speaks little English but is able to understand your needs. Our room looked out onto a pretty church with shops and food stalls outside (the stalls were not there everyday just the first day), so the noise made it quite hard to rest in the day. The noise also went onto until the early hours because of the plaza a few streets down was buzzing with people and music. Other than this we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank MariasTravelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We've been in Bilbao for 3 nights.

The location is perfect for those who want to visit either the old centre (a street from Catedral de Santiago and Museo Vasco) and the new/modern part of the city (15min walking to guggenheim).

The man runnig the hostel was very nice and helpful (inclusively lent us an umbrella!) There is also a sort of a luggage room.

Completely adequate for a peaceful journey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank SiLviA312014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews