We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!!!”
Review of Hotel Sirimiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sirimiri
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2008

My experience at Hotel Sirimiri was a great surprise, considering that it is a 2 star hotel! The hotel is recent and still looks new. Travelled with a group of 6 people and booked 3 rooms (2 doubles and 1 triple) for 1 night on the easter week. Following is a summary of our experience:

1) Location - excellent location at a walking distance from almost everything (Ribera - 1 minute, River - 5 m, Casco Viejo - 1m, Train - 3 m, Guggenheim - 15 m). We were travelling by car but the hotel has parking and there were 2 places for us. The park is small but free;
2) Lobby and Reception - standard for a 2 star hotel, with a small living room. Note that this is a non smoker hotel in public areas. There is just one lift to the upper floors and is enough;
3) Personnel and Service - The personnel were very friendly and helpful! Advised us about restaurants, points of interest and guided us on a Bilbao map;
4) Food - the breakfast was quite poor even for the 3,00 € per adult we paid (Toasts, juice, coffe, milk, tea, butter, some industrial cakery and cereals). The hotel may improve this service (at least other bread, ham and cheese ...)
5) Rooms - Excellent surprise! The rooms were very clean and tiny and there was enough space for 3 people. The extra bed was quite good and the decor was simple but nice. Bathroom was spacious and looks nice as well;
6) Overall opinion - it is impossible to find a similar hotel (even a 3 star) for the same price! Would definitely recommend!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PPCLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    133
    87
    16
    11
See reviews for
40
128
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Hotel Shirimiri is a funny little hotel in the heart of old town Bilbao otherwise known as the "sheep" hotel. It is "funny" in the sense that it is a small operation with quaint odds and ends decorations. Our room was small and poky but there are some expansive elegant rooms available. If you want to experience old town Bilbao then this is a great place to do it from.

  • Liked — the quirkiness
  • Disliked — cramped
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prof_hutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2006

Just came back from Spain. We were in Bilbao for 3 nights and was originally going to stay at this hotel. Chose it because of the reviews from this site. However we were only able to tolerate one night there. Yes the rooms were clean and spacious, the staff helpful. But the noise! The street where it's at gets very busy even late at night. With cars and people
and the train/tram. And then if you close the window to block out the noise, it gets suffocattingly hot. And there's no ac. We also did not quite like the part of town where it's located.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanfran114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Glasgow,Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2006

The building work mentioned elsewhere is finished so no adverse comments. Agree with all of the positive comments made by others - especially the helpful staff and good location. Being on the right side of town for the airport, it's not worth going into town to catch the airport bus - just get a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Like the others say, this hotel is clean, very comfortable and has friendly, helpful staff and is in a great location.

I went on my own and was really grateful of the welcome I receieved and the advice I was given.

The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean and functional.

You are just a few moments walk from the tram, several cafe-type places and the local Champion supermarket.

My only problem was that it was a little noisy, but then I am a particularly light sleeper!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2005

This is, as other reviews have said, a clean, comfortable and well-located hotel. But if you are visiting there in the immediate future, think twice, as there is a large building being renovated nearby and our stay there in early September was characterised by huge amounts of noise from the building site until about 8 each evening. So if quiet is important to you, maybe look elsewhere. Other than that, it's a pretty good place.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Booked a room in the Sirimiri for 2 nights after reading a favourable review in a travel guidebook. In the end I stayed a week, using the hotel as my base for enjoying the Old Town (which is 5 minutes walk away), the Guggenheim (about 20 mins walk) and the rest of the Basque region. Also very close to the Tram/Metro. Hotel staff were all great, very helpful and informative: on my first day they gave me a map and described the main areas of interest - and also a dodgy area across the river (its always best to know !). Staff all spoke English, which was a relief ! Hotel room great, very spacious, nice bathroom. They have parking at the back. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
1,955 reviews
ILUNION Bilbao
#19 of 42 in Bilbao
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 42 in Bilbao
316 reviews
Artxanda Hotel
#33 of 42 in Bilbao
45 reviews
Occidental Bilbao
#23 of 42 in Bilbao
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirimiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirimiri

Property: Hotel Sirimiri
Address: Plaza de la Encarnacion, 3, 48006 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sirimiri 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sirimiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirimiri Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing