We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
50
163
106
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
163
106
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold citycasco viejospoke good englishvending machinebuilding sitebuilding worktram lineminute walkbed was comfortablewould stay againthe riverwalking distancenice hotelatxurinoiseguggenheimtramway
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 349 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We are two couples who stayed at Hotel Sirimiri for 3 days, 2 nights in May. We were certainly pleasantly surprised by how well this hotel worked out for us.

Overall, this was a great hotel for a reasonable price (we paid 78 euros per night including breakfast). Our rooms were in the newly remodeled part, so we can't say what the older rooms are like. The rooms were spacious, new, and had good lighting.

We interacted a lot with 3 different hotel front-desk guys. They could not have been more helpful and "nice". They were indispensable in providing visitor information, maps/directions, and restaurant recommendations (all of which were good and reasonably priced). One day we asked for detailed directions on how to drive out of Bilbao, and get to our destination which was clear across Spain. The desk guy spent a long time with detailed instructions. When we left very early on Sunday morning, he was just coming onto his shift. As we were pulling away from the hotel, he ran out to be sure that we had our directions and to wish us a good trip. I wish we had service like that everywhere we go!

Bilbao is a pretty busy city, and any large city is difficult for newcomers with rental cars to navigate and park in. This is a great place to stay to largely avoid these problems. It was an easy and direct shot off the main motorway. Sirimiri has a free parking lot in back, which is somewhat limited in spaces but we always saw that they had a spot available. We didn't move our rental car for 3 days, as it wasn't necessary to do sightseeing things in Bilbao.

The green tram begins its routes right near the hotel and can easily take you through main sections of the city, especially to and from the Guggenheim (which is a long walk, but do-able).

The location is great because it is about 5-10 minutes by foot to the old medieval town. There are many good restaurants there with lots of local flavor. We were there during a major soccer tournament between Bilbao and Barcelona, and that's where the fans congregated to celebrate. We also watched spontaneous Basque folk dancing in one of the plazas on Saturday evening with live music.

The only failing of the Hotel Sirimiri was the breakfast. The coffee machine was broken when we were there, so our large coffee appetite was foiled. They did provide free coffee from a vending machine, but it was inconvenient. Also, the food was pretty unimaginative and minimal, but we were able to get yogurt and cereal, which was enough. There was a good little cafe directly across the street for good coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly remodeled section
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The reception is a bit strange, looks like a medical office and rather smells like one, too. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We arrived late and there was no parking left but the man called a nearby hotel who let us use their parking (for a charge but at least the car was safe). The rooms are a bit small but very clean. Warning if you get a street side room - there are recycling bins across the way and a woman in the neighborhood decided to recycle her bottles at midnight, dropping in about 30-40 bottles, one at a time, each seemingly making a louder crash than the next. Grrrr! The breakfast area is horrible, in a charmless room with no windows and the breakfast selection itself is uninspiring. There seem to be a large number of business men staying here. The hotel is in a convenient location and it definitely served its purpose for 1 night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We didn't see the Sirimiri at its best, since the hotel was in the process of expanding which resulted in doors that opened onto building sites several floors about the ground, drilling and other building noise, and a red trickle emerging from the bath taps. If it wasn't for the kindness of the staff in assisting us in starting our car in the tightest car park I've ever seen, it would be hard to recommend this hotel at all. Rooms, wifi OK, breakfast inedible - terrible coffee and a minimal buffet laid out the night before. If a car park is important, choice in Bilbao is very limited, and this hotel wins hands down for location, close to the coastal motorway to get out of the city, and the tram station to get into it.

Room Tip: As far away from the building site as possible - maybe the back is quieter than the front since not over the street. But if you need to be quiet in Spain, you're probably in the wrong country.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wikidrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We overnighted in Bilbao on route to Barcelona. The Sirimiri was ideal for this. Easliy to get to from motorway it had the added advantage of onsite parking.
The hotel is very well located, just beside the Old town and near the river. it is within 15 mins of a pleasent walk along the river to the Guggenheim museum ( a must see..!!)

Fro a 2* hotel it ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is a small hotel with limited parking but it is ideal for a visit to Bilbayo. The hotel is clean and the staff are first class. The staff were very helpful in making sure that we had everything we needed and on advising us about the city on what was a short visit.
The hotel is situated very close to the old town with its quaint narrow streets with shops, restaurants and cafes close at hand. There is a tram reminal very close to the hotel which takes you into the city, along the riverside, for part of the way, with stops at key tourist sites. There is no need to use your own transport.
Although this is a small hotel we were looked after very well and I would stay there again.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parsnip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews