We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start your trip in Bilbao”

Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours
Ranked #6 of 39 Tours in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and join us for an unforgettable visit to Bilbao!Welcome to Eusko Greeters, a non-profit organization founded in 2011 that offers visitors a new form of alternative tourism and, in particular, a new welcoming policy based on voluntary participation. The main objective of this service is the cultural exchange, for the visitors and Greeters (locals). Eusko Greeters has already launched the Bilbao Greeters Program to provide the service, free of charge, in Bilbao and the surroundings. Donostia and Gasteiz programs will follow soon. Please register, via email, at least two weeks in advance of your arrival in Bilbao.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to start your trip in Bilbao”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked our Bilbao Greeters tour and our greeter Daniel met us where we were staying. We were bowled over by how friendly Daniel was, he knew so much about the history of the city and it was a great way to get a feel for Bilbao. He had lots of stories and gave us lots of tips on pinchos and wines too. We really enjoyed our tour, Daniel went above and beyond and really welcomed us to Bilbao. Would highly recommend this tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real must do”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Jose our greeter met us on time just by the Puppee. He was really smart and charming. We set of and the walking tour was absolutely excellent. We took in so many different sights. As a tourist on our own we would have missed so much. Jose really loves his home city and that really comes through in his tour. We saw so much and then spent a nice hour having lunch and enjoying a couple of glasses of wine in a very nice tapas bar near to his home. I would recommend Bilbao Greeters to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
“A great experience in Bilbao”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Already before meeting with our greeter, we have had contact by mail and have received worthful tips. On our first day we meet our greeter and have had a nice walking tour through the old centre and nearby the old centre of Bilbao, with local explination of things that you will not find in any traveling guid. Thanks a lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank drostemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Every city should have one!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Bilbao greeters was a fantastic introduction to the city. Our volunteer guide was very warm and enthusiastic. She showed us places off the tourist map, helped us interpret menus and introduced us to local delicacies. She also helped us plan our time including day trips out of Bilbao and advised how to get around without a car. We recommend this service totally. Should be available in every city!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bnrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great greeter”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent a great few hours with our lovely greeter, Esti. She met us at our hotel lobby at the appointed time, per arrangements made in advance via email. She showed us everything we wanted to see and a few places that we would have never known about otherwise. She obviously loves her home town and enjoys sharing it with visitors. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to spend the morning with her and are thankful for her to have given up a big chunk of her own time to spend with us. We also got some good advise on restaurants and other places to visit during our weekend break. We would recommend Bilbao Greeters to anyone planning a visit to this lovely city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4sooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing