We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Abando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Abando
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A thoroughly pleasant stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Warmly greeted when I arrived, same goes on checkout.the hotel is situated near a beautiful square / garden surround by lots of pintox bars.Although it can get boisterous at nt the hotel rooms seem to be well insulated.Some guests had complained about the high price of breakfast....as my booking was on room basis only I opted out to go continental at the hotel bar , for E4 I was served real caffe latte, Fresh Orange juice an croissant which is a fair price.I greatly enjoyed my 4 day stay at the hotel and I would highly recommended Bilbao is a great city for those into architecture ...just look up

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear csant,
Thank you very much for your opinion and for having chosen Hotel Abando for your stay in Bilbao. We are pleased you had a wonderful time in Bilbao.
We look forward to seening you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    299
    125
    37
    8
See reviews for
62
235
53
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Targoviste, Romania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A very good hotel placed in a convenient location, close to almost every touristic atraction in Bilbao. Very clean rooms, good european breakfast, fast check-in and out. Prices OK. The receptionists very kind and helpfull with all the clients. A minus for the hotel underground parking fee (it could be cheaper).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your opinion and for having chosen Hotel Abando for your stay in Bilbao.
We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel was well situated for our needs..close to train station (we walked there easily with suitcases) and a Metro station. We walked easily to all the sites we wanted to see in Bilbao.(or to the Metro station as needed)
Hotel is convenient to many restaurants and shopping.
Room was fine, nothing special..We were on the front of the hotel, basically view of the building across the street and the street...but room was clean, not overly noisy...

We were however not really impressed with the staff at the front desk...we were not familiar with Bilbao and are not Spanish speakers (though we did attempt)..so we went to the front desk with general questions usually regarding directions and felt....somewhat condescended to..like we were asking ridiculous questions...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The best thing about my stay at Abando was the good price I got and the convenient location of the hotel. From the hotel, I just about walked everywhere in Bilbao.

But the hotel itself is old and tired . The room I had was clean, but not all that big, and everything in the room, including the bathroom looked old - basically, the hotel can use a renovation. I am not familiar with the hotel star rating system in Spain,but the 3 star hotel I stayed at in Madrid was much nicer that the Abando, which is a 4 star hotel.

If you are looking for something more modern and fancy, look elsewhere. But if you want a hotel that is well located for a good price, and do you care about the hotel being old, this is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street - the streets around the hotel can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Welcoming at reception. Good clean room. Overlooked Main Street but good. Underground car park. Our car would not start on the morning we were going to the Ferry, the receptionist was efficient and telephoned our insurers for us. They were all very helpful. The checkout was fast. Great location. Wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I arrived at the airport and asked how to get to the hotel by bus at the information. There's no direct bus to Estacion de Abando and found that I have to drop at Pl. Moyua where is located in the center of town and walk to the hotel. After taking a rest in the room (No.226), I got a map at the reception and went to Puente de Viscaya by metro as I was taught by a male staff. After visiting the bridge I came back to town and walked around the Iberdrola, the highest building in Bilbao. I came back to the hotel, and I asked a female staff how high is Iberdrola and how is the way to the funicular station to Artxanda and funicular' operating time. She checked height and time by internet and answered me. I was going to Artxanda to see a night view of Bilbao but it began raining,the I decided to go tomorrow. In the next morning, it was still raining. When I was going out, she said "Do you need an umbrella?" I answered "No, thank you." Because I had an umbrella bought in Norway in my shoulder bag. It's really "Omotenashi in Japanese which means sincere hospitality". Just I went out the hotel, it stopped raining and became fine.
I visited Artxanda and then Museo Guggenheim. I enjoyed the stay in Bilbao so much and appreciate all hotel staffs.
The room was at the second floor and the window was faced to an array. If it is at higher floor and faced to a main street, it would be the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Hotel Abando has a convenient location, close to Bilbao's train station and a short walk over a bridge to the "old town" (casco viejo).
The staff was friendly and we felt welcome right from the start. Check-in was quick and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable, with a good sized bathroom.
During our stay we had some questions and the person at the reception desk was very helpful.
I will definitely return to this hotel the next time I am in Bilbao.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Sercotel Coliseo
Sercotel Coliseo
#12 of 42 in Bilbao
1,032 reviews
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abando

Property: Hotel Abando
Address: Colon de Larreategui 9, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abando 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New building with a modern and functional style - In the city's centre, in the financial & commercial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing