We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abando
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there in October 2012, and enjoyed it. combination business and leisure. Pleasant walk to the Guggenheim, close to a main tourist information office. Excellent, maybe even outstanding buffet breakfast. Lox, bagels, eggs, sweets, toast, fruit, yogurt, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, just super. Parking safe, expensive, but narrow, uphill exit. Room well furnished, comfortable. Staff very helpful and upbeat. Tolerated my bumbling Spanish with good humor, and when really important, would give me information or directions in excellent English. Would stay again.

Room Tip: all seemed to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrZ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    254
    109
    32
    8
See reviews for
50
203
48
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

"Efficient and charmless" check-in staff (see a previous recent review of this hotel) seem to be the norm in Spain. I'm not sure whether its because I speak mainly English, or that my Spanish is poor, or that I can't understand, let alone attempt to speak the Basque language, Euskara. I rarely found engaging front desk staff anywhere in Spain. Maybe its all part of their "customer service" training. The staff at breakfast were completely different - engaging, obliging and made of different stuff. The breakfast is on par with what other hotels charge (Euro 12-15), but this one was the most extensive we encountered in Spain. Extensive hot and cold buffet, cereals, breads and pastries, juices, wow. Cannot recommend the breakfast highly enough. The rooms were fine - mine was very quiet, bed OK and I slept like a log. The bathroom was clean and a good size. At this hotel, like many others, wifi in the room was slow and dropped out. Wifi in the public areas offered the best reception - in this case, it was a sofa by the lift lobby on each floor. Good wifi in the public areas of a hotel is fine, but I'm not sure that the whole world wants to hear my loved- one affections via Skype! There is a gym, but it required a special (physical) key, and I didn't get around to asking for access. I'd stay again, although its not cheap and only average value for money. It's definately at least 3.5 stars (not 2.5 stars as a previous reviewer suggested). I'd stay again - location is excellent - walking distance to the old town, and nearby to shopping, tapas bars and public transport.

Room Tip: Don't rush breakfast - grab a table by the window and start the day in a leisurely way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was in Bilbao for 3 days on business (2 nights) and if I could give this place 2.5 stars I would. First let me start out by saying that this is NOT a 4 star property (by any standards US or European). Second, the main positive of this hotel is the location. The rooms would be the primary reason I would stay elsewhere...dark, dingy (worn carpets, furniture, walls), my smelled of stale cigarette smoke-and kinda musty. The bathrooms look to have been updated in the past 10 years..which was a small plus. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and I don t want to think about how old the mattress could be...bottom line I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tgirlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel previously, and on that basis went back for a night last week. I was disappointed. Among other things, the breakfast was substandard. There is no reason for there to be virtually no bread available for breakfast at 8.0 -- particularly when there is an extra charge of 13 euro. The night before, around 10.45, it took me about 15 minutes to be served a glass of wine in the bar. The explanation, offered with no apology, was that the barman was delivering room service. I agree with GreedyMessiah about the somewhat indifferent attitude of the reception staff. This hotel does not merit the 4 star rating it displays.

Room Tip: Unlike for my previous stay, I was given a room with a tiny room that looked onto another building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Upon arrival at the Hotel Abando my friend and I were greeted (using the term "greeted" very loosely) by an efficient but charmless receptionist who gave us the bare minimum in terms of information or friendly service. The rooms are very nice though, making up for the dour receptionist and extremely expensive car park, another saving grace was the fantastic breakfast and a very nice waiting lady who couldn't have been more helpful. For short term business visits, the Abando is ideal, for a long term pleasure holiday, forget it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreedyMessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,040 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

the abando hotel is central to bars restaurants churches old town guggenheim museum the metro buses and the river.the hotel was clean the room was ok for me the breakfast was very good the staff helfull will go back next year for the towns party

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was ok. The location was good, very close to Gran Via (shopping) and a few nice bars around it. Walking distance to the old town. There was a bit of a smell of cigarette smoke in the room and as we were on the 6th floor we were under the gym so it was a little noisy. Our room looked out onto an indoor lane way which wasn't very nice. The wifi was excellent and the air conditioning worked very well. The staff had English but weren't that friendly. The breakfast was ok. The bar was never open and the restaurant always looked pretty empty.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neasabray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Abando
Sercotel Coliseo
Sercotel Coliseo
#11 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Hotel Miro
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abando

Property: Hotel Abando
Address: Colon de Larreategui 9, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abando 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New building with a modern and functional style - In the city's centre, in the financial & commercial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Abando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing