We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish restaurant and food to match”
Review of Porrue

Porrue
Ranked #19 of 1,223 Restaurants in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $68 - $92
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good option if you're looking for something more experimental. The interior of the restaurant is v cool in its design. The chef came out and explained the menu to us and allowed us to switch desserts to something of the carte. The dishes are creative but tasty and good value. If you've had enough of steak & chips, and pintxos, give it a whirl.

Thank ndwsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unai C, Gerente at Porrue, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear ndwsydney.
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. You're very kind.
Hope to receive in future visits to Bilbao.
Affectionately Restaurant Porrue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visited here for a meal and were well received. The restaurant is very stylish and the food lives up to that style! The food is very tasty and is a modern twist on traditional tastes and flavours. Our starter of Jamon Bellota was absolutely delicious but came with leavened bread smashed at the table with a mallet! The salmorejo sauce with it was fantastic and the mix of tastes absolutely wonderful. Fish dishes for the main courses were excellent with the part barbecued vegetables with the cod being out of this world. Wine list was vey impressive and selection was excellent.

Thank Como S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unai C, Gerente at Porrue, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Como S.
Thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're glad you liked our flavor combinations.
You are really friendly.
A greeting Restaurant Porrue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a very stylish restaurant producing cutting edge, really exciting food. We had the degustation menu which was a mistake for us - we started at 8.30 and left at midnight! So be warned. However, we did get to taste many things on the menu which was a great treat. It was an unforgettable meal. Excellent service, very little English spoken. Wine is very reasonable - ask the waiter for his recommendation unless you understand Spanish wines. It cost us 70 euros a head all up - including 2 bottles of wine. We got in on a Monday but really you should book. There were no empty tables even on Monday.

1  Thank salthegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unai C, Gerente at Porrue, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Salthegal.
Thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Glad to know that you loved our tasting menu and tasted new flavors.
Affectionately Restaurant Porrue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friend had booked this restaurant , when our first choice was closed on a Tuesday when we visited Bilbao,but we were not at all dissappointed .This is near the Guggenheim but looks like a small shop ,but looks deceive, inside it opens into an L shape room not large but very atmospheric, I have attached a few photo's , staff were attentive and we chose the spring gift of land tasting menu for 55 Euro + tax , we let the waiter chose the red wine which at 18 euro was very reasonably priced and tasted great .We had selected two white wines from an extensive choice.
The food indeed was pretty pictures on a plate 8 courses and a considerable amount of theatre in the presentation,starting with bread selection and two choices of Olive oil ,one tomato flavoured the other banana which was unusual to say the least. We were treated to Asparagus frothy yoghurt, Ceviche of barnacles , sauted soft egg with truffels and mushrooms , a speciality fish cheek dish with Quinoa , some beautiful Tuna , and Iberica Ham dish, followed by a jar of warm milk on what I think was honey that curdled after 3 minutes , again a first for me but delightful. Finally the mousse that was frozen in liquid nitrogen at the table and served with a toffee sponge . If you would like to try something different with Basque overtones this is definitely worth a try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unai C, Gerente at Porrue, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Jeff B
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor we are glad to hear that you enjoyed
Affectionately Restaurant Porrue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Kitchen cooking all day..no need to stick to Spanish hours..just book and go
The hotel Miro made a reservation for us, make two right turns from the hotel and just across from the Guggenheim you'll find it.
We had the green risotto, vegetables from their huerta, oysters, a mixed salad and a steak tartare, a fine bottle of Rioja Viña Tondonia 2001 and a fluid chocolate dessert, the bill was 165 euros, not cheap but well worth it, one of the best meals we ever had in Spain.
We left slightly inebriated and forgot our credit card but lo and behold; back at the hotel there was a knock on the door and the card was delivered just 10 minutes later!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tjalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porrue also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Porrue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing