We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, convenient,”
Review of NH Bilbao Zubialde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Bilbao Zubialde
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Adequate, convenient,”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Arrived in pouring rain so it was good to find spaces in the car park at the rear close to the rear entrance to the hotel! Our room and bathroom were clean and well equipped if dull and gloomy but the room was very small for 2 people plus 2 suitcases; in fact I think it was actually a single room given to us because we had a cheap deal. Breakfast was ok but no hot food available on the day we were there; at dinner however the food was excellent and the set menu very good value. As with the rest of the hotel the dining room lacked ambiance. It is directly opposite the San Mames football stadium (Atletico Bilbao) and a short walk to the Guggenheim,the Museum of Fine Arts and the old town. Unfortunately there is a huge builing site directly in front of the hotel which makes it very noisy during the week, though rooms at the back are quieter.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Twin rooms may be bigger than doubles - check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montylado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    341
    120
    25
    12
See reviews for
163
281
28
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you like football your in for a treat with Bilbao football club just over the road however you have swish shops and nice restaurants too. A modern tram system at the end of the road makes exploring easy too.
The hotel is modern and inexpensive with a good size secure car park . Breakfast is first rate and I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I book this hotel through one of the hotel website, we had a promotion price. Just amazing with this kind of price you get a great hotel.
Location is superb, from bus station is a walking distance, from airport or train station, there's bus and tram (saw it bus direct to this area from airport)
Staff is awesome, we don't need to ask, they serve us like a king and queen. all the information is provided, map and the food location. free wifi too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crazy_Dharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I booked a 'pink' room on Hesperia website and was looking forward to the 'package'. Check in was very quick and professional/friendly. Although it states on the website that pink rooms are only non smoking the room I was allocated stank of smoke when I entered the room and as ashtrays were provided it was obviously a smoking room. The brochure stated that there were surprises in the fridge/mini bar for me 'a cooling eye mask and some healthy snack bars/yogurts - however it did not. The special pack of bathroom goodies was filled with handy sized creams/deodorant/emery board/conditioner etc. A robe/slippers were also provided. They also offer a 'pillow' menu on the website when booking and I chose a theraputic pillow. Again this was not in the roomThere was no womans magazine as stated on the website and the bathroom scales did not work. The safe was also not working. I rang reception to ask for a non smoking room as requested and was told there were no 'pink' non smoking rooms available and that on checking with the director certain items of the pink package were no longer included. I asked about the pillow and was told it would be sent up. A member of housekeeping arrived to spray the room to get rid of the smell of smoke. The same lady returned with the requested pillow and almost threw it at me (obviously very happy having to come to the room twice in 10 minutes). What is the point in advertising this package and then not delivering on it. The one item that they failed to advise me of and that I picked up when double checking the website to see if I had got the details of my booking right was that right now until December contents of all minibars in named Hesperia hotels are FREE... I had to again contact reception to ask if that was correct and they confirmed it was. The contents however were not very exciting although I did use the 2 350mls bottles of water and a kit kat.

The room was for single use although it did have a double bed. The furniture was well worn with the oldest looking tv set I have seen in a hotel in ages. The bed was indeed comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ritabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

The hotel is situated near the bus station - so if you take the bus to Bilbao from the airport it is just a short walk away. It is also located just across the street from San Mames, so if you like football it's awesome. If you don't, don't worry about noise, you wont hear it inside the hotel and no need to worries about the crowd either because after the game, the crowd walks away in a different direction. I stayed in the hotel during the Bilbao festival so it was a little noisy at night. There was a concert across the river every night starting at midnight. So if you are for an early morning or very uptight about this, you shouldn't stay here during the Bilbao Festival. The hotel itself is unbelievably clean. The staffs are very nice and is able to speak English. The rooms are fair size, clean, comes with a fridge stock with drinks. There is also TV, wake up calls etc. Nice size window. Good views of the river. and very comfy beds. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. It is 4 stars and cost only about 50 euros a night. Great little hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ichinensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Stayed here after getting the ferry to Santander. Good car parking facilities and breakfast quite adequate. Easy to drive to after coming off the main motorway entrance to Bilbao.

Really close to amenities (especially Guggenheim). Rooms were clean and staff knowledgeable. Would definitely stay there again. Had a great view of the river!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2004

I stayed at Hesperia Zubialde in September 2004 while in Bilbao for a business conference. The hotel was very nice - clean, quiet and with nicely appointed rooms. The front desk staff was also superb. They went out of their way to accomodate my requests and were very good at recommending restaurants and other activities.

The restaurant coffee shop has a nice lunch menu with very good food and the morning breakfast buffet has great variety.

I was also impressed with the location of the hotel. It is close to the conference exhibit center and the meeting facilities. Also, a modern light rail stop is just 1 block from the hotel which provides efficient and affordable transportation to the rest of the city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bilbao Zubialde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bilbao Zubialde

Property: NH Bilbao Zubialde
Address: Camino de la Ventosa, 34 | San Mames Stadium, 48013 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Zubialde)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bilbao Zubialde 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Bilbao Zubialde, formerly known as Hesperia Zubialde, hotel is opposite the new San Mamés football stadium and close to the River Nervión. You can easily walk to the Guggenhein Museum from here and the local metro is just steps away for trips into the Old Town. - less than 10 minutes’ walk to the Palacio Euskalduna conference center - 3 minutes’ walk to the main bus station, where you can get a bus to the airport - a 10-minute walk to Licenciado Pozas Street – famous for its pintxos Inside the 1920s building there are 82 rooms, all of which have been renovated in the past 3 years. They’re light and spacious with hardwood floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Bilbao Zubialde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Zubialde Bilbao
Hesperia Zubialde Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing