We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, friendly service, would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silken Indautxu Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Silken Indautxu Hotel
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, friendly service, would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Spent 5 nights at the Silken Indautxu hotel whilst visiting Bilbao and San Sebastian. We had some initial problems with the first room given to us - it was a twin room rather than the double requested, it smelt of stale smoke and the air conditioning wasn't great. We were given another room but the key wouldn't open the door! Finally we were given another room on the top floor which was fine and had a balcony/terrace area. The room was pleasant enough although the carpets and curtains could do with a deep clean! The shower had good pressure but the air conditioning is just satisfactory - I don't think it would be effective in hotter weather.

However, the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. They gave us good recommendations on where to eat and were quick to resolve problems. There's free wi-fi in the rooms but the PC in the lobby is 2euros per 30mins. The breakfast is from 7 to 11 and had lots of variety including hot food, fruit, pastries etc and a Nespresso machine - the breakfast staff were helpful and friendly.

The downstairs area is very pleasant - there's a nice bar, cafe, restaurant and a pleasant courtyard. I liked the location - a 10 min walk to the amazing Guggenheim, 5 mins to a metro station, 10 mins to the bus terminal and 20 mins to the old town. Also, the staff recommended a street with several pintxo bars which was just a 10 min walk - the food was great and very good value for money. I'm very tempted to go back to Bilbao just to eat! The hotel could improve the decor in the rooms, however, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-on-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    371
    188
    69
    37
See reviews for
110
376
38
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Level Contributor
193 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights this week.
Could not fault the Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms more than adequate and very clean. Great location, 10 minute walk to the Guggenheim, 20 minutes to the Casco Viejo. Some noise at night but that's Spain for you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

clean, in an interesting neighborhood, can provide tickets to the Guggen at the front desk. rooms a bit small, but for the price no quibbles. great value, would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

stayed for one night in a room for 3 people. my friends laughed at me when we approached the hotel and saw the exterior of the hotel. they called it the castle. thankfully that was the only thing questionable about this hotel, as everything else was wonderful. room was quite spacious and clean, and it was in a nice central location (you could walk to the guggenheim). the bar/lobby area was also very nice and classy. all in all a very nice hotel, and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leftwingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
689 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Renovated hotel with historic touch. Excellent location. Parking available, but rather expensive. Rooms are not very large, but comfortable.

English is spoken, if hesitantly.

Includes a good restaurant. Breakfast buffet is great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

we stayed here for 2 nights - found the hotel easy and confortable - nothing spectacular, but all clean and modern - although not a lot of difference with the normal rooms, the silken upgrade rooms are looking a bit more design and modern - breakfast very complete, even my favourite nespresso coffee was at hand... - can be a bit noisy outside

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steukerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa des ingles in gran canaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

this hotel is absolutely amazing, bilbao isnt a great city and is not very touristy but the hotel made it a good stay, it was great value and was cheaper than hostels in the city, we spent most of our time in the room enjoying the plasma tv!! would definitely recommend it!! excellent!! there was 3 of us so we got a two bed and they put in a camp bed which was fine but we could have fit 4 ppl in the two beds they are that big!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omd101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
Sercotel Coliseo
Sercotel Coliseo
#11 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Indautxu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Indautxu Hotel

Property: Silken Indautxu Hotel
Address: Plaza Bombero Etxaniz S/N, 48010 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Indautxu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Silken Indautxu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Indautxu
Silken Indautxu Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing