We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a good hotel in a great location in the city. It is very central and within walking distance of the Guggenheim museum (a must see!), the newer parts of the city with very modern shops and the old city area - a lovely place to visit in the early evening and enjoy a glass of wine, watching the world go by.
The hotel is very modern in design. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable, all expected hotel facilities. The restaurant is also very modern and could be described as clinical however the food was a great surprise. We enjoyed an evening meal and breakfast. The set menu for the evening, whilst not extensive, was great value and tasty. The breakfast for the price charged was outstanding. Great choice available, all fresh and regularly topped up.
We would certainly return to this hotel and recommend it as a great base to explore a lovely city.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front and overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moomin2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,388)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

After staying at numerous traditional type properties that had awarded themselves lots of stars but were very overrated it was a pleasant surprise to find this place which has just reopened after a major refurbishment. The rooms are small but extremely well fitted out, very modern but with obvious style. Excellent beds and facilities, the likes of which are usually found in 5 star properties. The breakfast was very worthwhile with a full continental, including cooked breakfast and a wonderful range of fresh fruits and delicious pastries as well as the traditional Spanish style.
Our only complaint which I am reluctant to make as the waitresses were very new and very pleasant was that sadly the restaurant manager was not doing his job training the girls, as they did not know the basic skills right down to opening and asking a patron to taste the vino before pouring it. Suggest you dine elsewhere for dinner as the food was very basic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kiwis-Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Perfect place to stay if you want to visit the Guggenheim Museum. It's about 10 mns pleasant river walk...Our room was clean and large enough and the in suite bathroom, opened to the bedroom did not bother us. We had supper in the restaurant and suffice to say that it was ok. We did not care for the cafeteria look and it was noisy, but food was fine and inexpensive. Breakfast buffet was huge, but our coffee was really not to our taste. The next morning we simply had an Nespresso coffee and croissant at the bar and that was excellent. Parking was handy even at the cost because it would be hard to find parking elsewhere without trouble, considering that across the street is the river!. Friendly and English speaking staff. Good and practical place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

+the hotel is in a very good location in the middle of casco viejo and guggenheim, both places 5-10 minutes to walk.
+good price (we had a nice arrangement - ebookers)
+6th floor, no noise from the streets
+good free wifi

-breakfast add. 13.50€ or 9.50€ for all days with discount (better go out and eat in one of the delicious restaurant - for 5.-€)
-you can hear people from neighbor rooms or walking on the floor

Reccomendation for bilbao:
>go to the beach, sopelana (40 minutes by metro)
>go to centro commerciale (nice shopping centre)

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were in town for just one night (so an afternoon and the following morning to explore). So we had a trip to the Guggenheim and the old town on the list. This hotel is perfect as it is right in the middle of both - a 10 minute pleasant stroll to each. The hotel is very clean and has a nice restaurant that caters to families. The rooms themselves are well appointed and the best thing was that we had 2 inter connecting rooms, so the kids had their own room. Service was excellent - we hadn't actually had the option of booking the interconnecting rooms when we went through booking.com, but the concierge re arranged the rooms for us at no extra charge without even having to be asked. I would stay here again without question. Rooms are big and shower was great. After some long travel it was a very pleasant bit of luxury!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

On a business trip, myself and 3 colleagues were stranded for 4 nights in Bilbao. The Barcelo Nervion bent over backwards to accomodate us. In particular, Aitor, Melissa and Andoni on reception could not have done more to help us.

The rooms are immaculate, the beds are comfy and the food is excellent. It is 500m away from the Gugenheim, and 5 minutes walk from the centre of the night life. If I was to come back to Bilbao on holiday, this is where I would go!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BHandSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for five days. The location is great. Close to Guggenheim, old town, and metro systems. We walked to everything. We had a view of the river which was great. There is free breakfast every morning. They provide excellent selection of food. The room was spacious and very clean. A couple of minor issues. One when we checked in the staff member was not terribly friendly and didnt even tell us about free breakfast. Also on the first night the air conditioning stopped working at the hotel. It was very hot outside, so the room was unbearably hot. After some back and forth communication with staff it was clear it would not be fixed until morning. This seems unacceptable given the high end nature of hotel. It was fixed in the am and no further problems. Would have been nice to have been offered a discount for our one night of discomfort. Regardless, i would still recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Request view of river
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#18 of 42 in Bilbao
167 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bilbao Nervion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bilbao Nervion

Address: Paseo Campo Volantin, 11, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $81 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bilbao Nervion 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bilbao Nervion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Nervion Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Nervion
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing