We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Barceló Bilbao Nervion is highly recommended for all types of travellers. Young couples, older couples, families with children or groups will find this hotel is able to meet their needs.

I was there with a group of 7 friends in a combination of twin or single rooms. Everybody reported on the quality and comfort of their rooms. Good showers, great products in the bathroom and very comfortable beds. Check-in and check-out was quick and friendly by the efficient Barceló staff. Have read complaints on Trip Advisor that staff aren’t helpful or conversant in English; well this wasn’t the case for our group. It is also a new hotel with a great reception area and a Café/Pintxos bar which is good value for a quick drink whilst waiting for your friends to appear!

Other great pluses include the very (very, very) good breakfast as reported by many when writing about this hotel. It really is good value and all items were of the best quality. Wi-Fi is good throughout the hotel too. Downsides? Not many. Bar seemed to close a bit early and the lifts were a touch temperamental, but these are minor issues.

The Barceló Nervion is well-located for the old town and Guggenheim. A few minutes either way gets you to both. Bilbao is a great town for a city break; great food, great people and small enough to see in a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElToffeeChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    908
    197
    38
    18
See reviews for
337
999
87
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great location on river, midway between Old Town and the Guggenheim, and with easy access across the Zubizuri pedestrian bridge to city centre. Also walkable from the airport bus stop in Plaza Moyua if you have limited luggage. Spotlessly clean, modern and functional room with excellent beds and linens. Room was at rear of building with no view of river but very quiet. BBC World News and Bloomberg TV was a bonus. Worked well for us for 2 days after long Toronto/ Frankfurt/ Bilbao flight prior to walking the El Camino.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank interpidetobicoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

“An extra night in Bilbao"

We stayed one night extra in Bilbao from October 24th until October 25th in hotel Barcelo Bilbao. Our flight with ArkeFly to Amsterdam airport Schiphol was delayed for 19 hours. The reason was a technical problem with a Boeing 767.

We were at the airport all day and just after midnight all 227 passengers were brought to hotel Barcelo Bilbao Nervion with four buses. A good four star hotel in the centre of Bilbao very close to the Zubizuribridge and the Guggenheim museum.

Check in was very quick. The receptionists had the keycards with roomnumber ready. Then the number of the room was written on the passengers' list.

We had a clean, modern, design double room with two seperate beds on the fourth flour. There was a seperate toilet. We thought the bathroom with shower was small.
We were so tired that we fell asleep immediately. But, after 4 hours we had to get up for breakfast.

The breakfastbuffet was various and very good! Just after 07.00 AM the breakfastroom was overcrowded with stranded passengers.

After all we had a good night and breakfast at hotel Barcelo Bilbao Nervion and we had a good flight back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelique132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. We made our choice by carefully reading the TA reviews. All reviews are very well matched with what we met. Besides the great location and comfort of the rooms, the breakfast service was also great. There is a big variety of items: rich selection of fresh fruits, regional specialties like asparagus, quince paste, basque charcuterie and bread selections, also sushi, beans, roasted fruits and vegetables.. Freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee are also so good. While we're there, there was a protesto just outside the hotel. A group of people were protesting this hotel with horns. We learnt from the hotel personnel that they are the previous employee of the hotel who lost their jobs recently (Or, they are some current hotel employee who are going on a strike, we might have misunderstood the English).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulpern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Location was quite good, within pleasant walking distance to both the Guggenheim and Casco Viejo (Old Town) as the hotel sits between them... Rooms also provided enough space and bathroom well-equipped. But, service of the hotel can definitely be much better. For example, when we couldn't find a parking at check-in,reception couldn't care less. Not the most friendly and accommodating staff for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank alifeoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel on a recent business trip to Bilbao. The hotel itself is located about a 10 minute walk from the city center along the river which is very nice. Rooms have recently been renovated and present a non standard layout which is very welcome when one is used to the standard bathroom cubicle. The biggest plus of the rooms are the beds which are heavenly, I don't think I have experienced a bed this comfortable before. The only thing I wish to point out is the lack of English tv channels of which there could be a wider selection and not just news but maybe discovery etc. This brings me onto my biggest gripe with this hotel and that is the staff. Not only do they seem disinterested and unmotivated in there jobs but they simply do not speak any acceptable level of English for a hotel of this standard even trying to explain the most simple requests like for poached eggs at breakfast were met with a certain degree of difficulty, I really do hope in future they hire staff or re-train their staff to a competent level of English. With regard to dining options in the hotel these were very good although as by Spanish standards dinner was not served before 830pm! The dinner menu had about 3-4 choices for a 3 course meal all for 12 euro which is a very good price. The breakfast in the morning also had a wide selection of items mostly local which was a welcome change. If I ever come to Bilbao again I would make sure to stay here provided the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avi8or_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Barcelo Nervion. Location is great – easy walk to the Guggenheim, Old Town, train station, food, and shops. Bus and Tram stop right outside the hotel. Room was nice size and bed very comfortable. Bathroom layout was odd. The toilet is an enclosed room with a door, but shower and sink are separated from the sleeping area by the sink vanity and a mirror above the sink. You essentially step out of the shower into the room. An odd arrangement that provides minimal privacy.

It is a recently remolded chain hotel with typical amenities and conveniences, however guest services did not seem to be a priority. We had a reasonably priced and very good dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MERW869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Hotel Miro
#5 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bilbao Nervion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bilbao Nervion

Property: Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Address: Paseo Campo Volantin, 11, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bilbao Nervion 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Barcelo, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Bilbao Nervion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Nervion Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Nervion
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing