We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky decor, great location, poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funky decor, great location, poor service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I loved this hotel, in terms of design and location. However, I am single. The bathroom is visible to the hotel room - so if you're travelling with someone you don't want to see you in the shower - don't choose this hotel. The location is great - short walk to the Guggenheim, shopping, and restaurants. The only downside was in the service - though they spoke English, there was a significant difference in their tone and facial expression compared to when others approached the desk speaking Spanish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    908
    197
    38
    18
See reviews for
337
999
87
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

One of those hotels, which looks just like the pictures and really knocks you with the feel of the place.

Really clean, stylish rooms, which made you feel special, especially considering the price which was a bargain for the quality of the rooms.

parking possible on site, and you can easily get to many of Bilbao's shops from the river side location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonandlaura2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here at the end of August for a week whilst looking for permanent accommodation in Bilbao. The hotel in general was spotlessly clean; very modern and the staff were very friendly.

The rooms were fantastic; large, clean, bed was probably the most comfortable that I have slept in. Bathroom as well was brilliant; big walk-in shower etc.

I had a drink in the hotel bar most nights as the bar was very reasonably priced, about the same as other bars in Bilbao. The waitress in the bar, Georgia, was very pleasant and is an asset to the company. The hotel is centrally located; right on the river, near tram and metro stops, couple of minutes walk from the city's old town.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anybody. It is perfect for those staying for a weekend break, as well as business customers etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calum_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Bilbao Barceló. They first put me in a room down a dark hall. It was so small I couldn't turn around. I'm an easy going person, but I went back to the front desk and told them I was claustrophobic and really, really needed another room if I was staying 4 nights. They moved me to a lovely room with a view of the Guggenheim (hmmm, why didn't they put me there first? - maybe because I was going on a hiking trip and I had a backpack?) So the 4 nights were lovely, the location couldn't be better and breakfast great, even for this vegetarian.

Checkout, not so good. I had booked the room on their website, from the US and the price was $349, and I had a printed a confirmation showing that price. However, when I checked out the bill was 349 euros, not dollars, so the total was not $349, it was $458. I asked to speak to the manager who just kept shrugging his shoulders and said there must be a problem with the US internet. I tried my best to not pay this amount, but after 20 minutes of shoulder shrugging I caved. So fair warning - check the price when you check in. I am hoping management reads this and responds. Even if I don't get a refund, others will be spared the surprise.

Room Tip: If they show you a small room down a dark hall, ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTales50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated 150 mtrs away and virtually opposite from the Guggenheim museum, short 10 min walk from the old quarter and the city centre
We upgraded to the suite overlooking the river and it was an excellent room all round, Pleasant staff, little reception bar which is good enough to meet at or finish the night at.

Yes cracking hotel

Room Tip: If your budget allows then go for the suite rooms over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRedemptionMilitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It’s a very modern and clean Hotel. Staffs are very helpful and kind, and Wi-Fi reception was very good either at a room and the communal area.
The location of the hotel is very good and easy access to Renfe station, Metro, Tram and bus stops as well as few minute walk to Old town.
It is very convenience to both business and leisure traveller.
Breakfast was very good although the coffee was not recommended. There varieties of cold and hot foods were available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satomi-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent three nights on a business trip to the area. With a courtyard room, enjoyed three peaceful nights. Good sized bathroom. Excellent breakfast buffet included. Staff are reasonably friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalvay_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Hotel Miro
#5 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bilbao Nervion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bilbao Nervion

Property: Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Address: Paseo Campo Volantin, 11, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bilbao Nervion 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Barcelo, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Bilbao Nervion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Nervion Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Nervion
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing