We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location. We were at BBK festival, so fantastic bathroom and the best hotel bed we have ever had was just what was needed. Checking in was no problem with a lovely,friendly receptionist. Were upgraded to a suite as hotel was very busy, room was fantastic. Will return next year. Very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,384)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 2,384 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is easy to reach and provide useful parking.
Rooms are quite ok even if I found some small troubles with lights on the bathroom and bedroom.
Wifi is free but not stable enough in my opinion.
Shower was very good and also bed was good.
Room size was big just enough for 1 person.... but actually was a double room so don't forget to ask for bigger room if you are a couple.
Breackfast was good.... fresh fruit and good variety. ...just the coffees are available just by auyomatic machines. .. not acceptable for italian guy! Ok no espresso, ok no cappuccino, but also the normal coffee was bad...
Service was globally ok.... I reccomand this hotel mainly for podition and quality/price ratio.
Bilbao is great!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bardano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As others have said this is a very nice hotel in a great location between the old town and the Guggenheim, breakfast is excellent and the beds very comfortable.
However the staff although efficient showed little customer service and were verging on being rude at times, a simple request for an early breakfast on our last day so we could catch our train was flatly refused and forget asking for advice on places to eat (even on a Sunday when the hotel restaurant is closed!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Decent hotel in the center of the city. We stayed for two days, but were very pleased. I want to tell you that we did not sit in it, in fact only came to sleep. As said before the hotel is favorably located only five minutes from the famous Museum of Modern Art The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, the bridge Zubizuri about ten, to the historic city center and about ten. We had a wonderful time and we were all arranged.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vadimbykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean, functional, and comfortable. The decor is modern and the room was very airy and welcoming. The bed was great - really big double and very soft, lots of pillows, slept like a baby. The food in the hotel was excellent - we had pinchos and wine in the lobby (very good) and then an excellent breakfast the next morning. We had no wifi issues, it worked well in the room and lobby. The location is great, 10 minutes walk from the Guggenheim and about the same from the old town area.

Our only complaint was the level of customer service experienced on check in. The male receptionist handed us our key and did not offer any other information, and did not seem willing to help us either (room number, what time breakfast was, wifi password etc). To say we found him rude was an understatement. I think this is normal in Bilbao though, as we experienced similar attitudes from staff in restaurants and bars that we visited later that day!

However the staff at breakfast were friendly and smiling as were the lobby staff and the cleaning staff.

Room Tip: Great hotel - shame about the attitude!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Yes, the WIFI isn't the very good (although we checked eMails fairly easily) but this is a nice hotel near the river and roughly equidistant (and within walking distance) between the Guggenheim and the Old Town with its many bars, restaurants. I would (and will) definitely stay here again. The buffet breakfast isn't cheap (12Euros) but is excellent if you have time to linger. If not, you can get a coffee and a couple of croissants at the bar for less than half that. Roughly 25 Euros and about as many minutes by Taxi from the Airport. I found the staff friendly and the "Guggenheim" package (from booking.com), including tickets to the museum represented good value. Comfortable beds, good showers. On checking out, I booked a taxi to the airport and by the time I had walked to the door, it was there. Not a fan of modern art but despite that, Bilbao is a really nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBuygum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was the last hotel on our trip around North East Spain. Arrived tired from a longish drive and were allocated a regular but comfortable room - only very recently been refurbished/redecorated. The bed was a dream - so comfortable, the aircon was set just right and with the stack of pillows, it was so easy to relax a while before heading out to explore the city.
A good breakfast was enjoyed twice - setting us up on both days. This is the third time we've stayed at a Barcelo hotel and have not been disappointed. The guy that checked us in was a little unfriendly - very abrupt, but the rest of the staff were great and helpful when needed.
The internet connection is so slow - steam driven?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_S_B1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#18 of 42 in Bilbao
167 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bilbao Nervion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bilbao Nervion

Address: Paseo Campo Volantin, 11, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $86 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bilbao Nervion 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Barcelo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bilbao Nervion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Nervion Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Nervion
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing