We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the noise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sercotel Coliseo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sercotel Coliseo
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beware of the noise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The reception is on the second floor, so from the main entrance you have to take the elevator to check in. The hotel is very accessible and the location is great. From the airport, just take the 3247 bus which costs 1.40 euro.

We arrived at the same time as another couple, and so we had to wait around 10 minutes to check in. However it was a quick and easy process as our room was prepaid. We were given a room that had three steps leading up to the bathroom. Other reviewers have mentioned this, but we did not find it a problem. We actually liked having the bathroom divided from the sleeping area.

Room service was available but we did not get to try this. We were surprised that the cost of a bottle of wine was so reasonable, around 12 euros, and they also had sandwiches available.

On our first night, we had a little trouble with our TV, and the receptionist came right away to sort it out. She didn't know how to fix it but she offered to send a maintenance man early the next morning and also offered to change our room.

Bad points:
- I wished we were told more about the facilities, for example the gym and the free computers for guest use. The computers were tucked away in a corner of the business room so we did not find them until we went exploring ourselves.
- Some rooms facing the main street can be very noisy. For example we were on the second floor in room 229 and could hear music from the cocktail bar that was directly across the room, every night. It was not loud enough to disturb me as I bring earplugs everywhere when I travel.

The music was particularly loud on our last evening which happened to be Friday. In addition, there was a lot of lively chatter as the bar also had an outside seating area. This continued until around midnight, so I would recommend that you request a room facing the courtyard or in the higher floors.

- The room lacks a kettle and free tea and coffee. This was surprising for a 4* hotel.

Good points
- The receptionist was very friendly and her English was excellent. Service is professional throughout, and there was help whenever we needed it. They kindly provided an adapter and a map on request. Also gave us directions to the airport bus stop.
- The hotel is in a great location. It is a 10 minute walk to the old town and just down the street from a large supermarket, el corte ingles, which is on the 6th floor of a large department store.
The bathrooms are large, very clean and functional. Plenty of hot water and shower pressure was great. There is a shelf underneath the sink for toiletries storage.
- The in room safe was large enough for valuables, and there were a few hangers in the closet that was useful.
- Housekeepers very polite and we were never disturbed in the morning, despite leaving the hotel for sightseeing quite late (around 10-ish).
- Wi-fi was fast despite the signal being poor at times.

Other points:
+ They provide a single, long pillow which I found very comfortable although a little strange at first.
+ TV had loads of channels but only a few in English (Bloomberg, cctv, bbc, national geographic, Russia today). It would have been useful for a TV channel guide to be placed in the room.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel despite the noise, and request for a quieter room next time. The location is great, as BIlbao is a small town and you can practically walk everywhere. The Guggenheim is very straight forward to get to, as you just follow one long road along the river to get here, around 15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: - request for a room away from the street, facing the courtyard. There is a cocktail bar directly ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildchild188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    481
    98
    20
    12
See reviews for
141
516
41
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long week-end, which was enjoyable and interesting though very wet. The hotel staff were welcoming - once we found them, not at the entrance but on the first floor. (They speak English too!) The room looked quite attractive, very clean and the bathroom
was first class (always the room we look at first). I was glad it did not involve steps up to it, as I had read some rooms did. However, we soon found drawbacks: the window wouldn't open, and in any case it looked out on to a patio area which was covered in; the air conditioning was not working, as it was not hot outside, but it was too warm in our room; there were no drawers or shelves anywhere - just a wardrobe - so we had nowhere to put our belongings and had to live out of the suitcase. Maybe they expect people only to stay one or two nights. Then the bathroom had glazed panels, which meant we could not put the light on at night without waking our partner. We did manage to get our room changed, so that we could open the window to fresh air. The staff were always obliging and helped us find our way around the city, which is well worth a visit, particularly the Guggenheim.

Room Tip: Try to avoid those without a window opening to fresh air, or with steps up to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed a week for business in mid May. Clean modern Hotel with wifi & breakfast inclusive in hotel rate. My 4th floor room faced the road however sound proofing was excellent. Very comfy bed. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, Reception staff courteous. Central location surrounded by shopping & casino next door. An abundance of Spanish channels to watch on tele, Only 2 or 3 English news channels. No swimming pool

I would stay here again. Listed are a few points that stopped me rating this hotel 5 out of 5

-Air conditioning was turned off. Confirmed this with the travelling partner who also had this problem in the room next door. Why?

-Shower water temperature kept varying from the set temperature to too hot & then back again. How can this happen in a new modern hotel?

-The sound proofing was great from the street however not from the room next door. Their television volume had me sleeping with ear plugs several times

-The room service meals need improving. I tried the chicken confit. It came with the chicken and potato chips. Potato chips? That's just dreadful especially in a world class gastronomic province. The chicken was poor as well. I didn't order room service again

-No iron or ironing board in room. I got an iron from reception but they had run out of ironing boards

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Really great location for visiting Bilbao. A short walk to the OldTown, for great tapas bars and restaurants. Near the main shopping area. Quite close to the bus to the airport (no 3247). A pleasant walk (15 mins) to both the Guggenheim and the Fine Art Gallery.

We asked for a quiet room, and had probably the best nights sleep ever in a city centre hotel. The room is businesslike, rather dark for my tastes. The mirrors are in inconvenient places, but this is just me being picky!

Breakfast was great. Lots of fresh local produce, excellent range of pastries and cereals.

Staff were very friendly, encouraging our holiday Spanish, but resorting to excellentEnglish when required.

Is definitely recommend this hotel for great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, SK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Sercotel Coliseo for one night when we arrived in Bilbao. We enjoyed it so much that we booked for another two nights before we flew out of Bilbao. The room was so clean and roomy. The bathroom was huge and spotless. We had been on a hike for two weeks and the comfy king bed was awesome. The people who work there were very helpful. The location is also very convenient to everything. All within walking distance. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyIndianHead_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here two nights at the beginning of our northern spain tour.

The hotel is located central enough to reach old town, guggenheim etc. on foot. There is an El Corte Ingles around the corner which has a food section inc ase you need water, fruits or anything (thanks to reception for mentioning that).

The hotel really good sized room. We were able to unpack everything and repack to accomodate for the round trip. The bed is ok from a comfort point of view.

Friendly reception staff. Taxis can easily be ordered. Very good price-performance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

On our way to Portugal we stay here for one night.
Great position to walk to old quarter,Guggenheim etc.
Big room,comfortable huge bed,
Staff very helpful with everything.
Left at 4:30 am for international flight.
Hint the Bilbao airport doesn't open till at least .5:00 am .
No two hours before flight is required.......
Waited in the cold for it to even open .then took ages for them to set up for the day....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#5 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Coliseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Coliseo

Property: Sercotel Coliseo
Address: Alameda De Urquijo 13, 48008 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Coliseo 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sercotel Coliseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing