We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern rooms, good breakfast”
Review of Sercotel Coliseo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sercotel Coliseo
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Sercotel Coliseo for two nights in February 2013, and was very pleased. I like modern hotel with a clean look, a quiet room, a moderately soft bed and a good breakfast - and Sercotel delivered on all fronts.

My room faced the street, but even so the noise was not bad - and I am hard to please when it comes to noise.

The rooms were very modern, with good beds and a superb, spacious bathroom.

Breakfast was very good - with the usual spanish specialities (hams, tortillas, good coffee, good cheeses). It was also very quiet, so this was absolutely perfect (this was in the off-season).

There was also an outdoor seating area which is probably nice in the warm season.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from street are more quiet, but even rooms facing the street are well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very contemporary, modern hotel in central location. The hotel doesn't have much character (ie you could be anywhere in the world), but it is in a good location for reaching all the sights, restaurants, bars and shops. The rooms that are large, comfortable, quiet and very clean. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

I didn't take breakfast, preferring to eat in the cute cafes in town.

Room Tip: One on a high level with a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirlygig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 day break in Bilbao.
The positives,: Hotel is very modern, room was spacious, very quiet and clean.
reception staff were really helpful and spoke good English. Hotel is a short walk away from all the pinchos bars and Corte Ingles.

The negatives:, breakfast is very poor and overpriced, quality of produce for breakfast is not particularly good and there is no atmosphere. You get your own coffee/tea from a machine and help yourself to the breakfast, only one member of staff on hand, who takes your room number.

We asked where the bar was and were informed that a small counter which was used at breakfast was the bar. Very strange!
Best way to describe the hotel is soul less, nicely decorated but lacking any warmth and identity, a perfect hotel for the business traveller but not a hotel to be recommended if you are looking for a true feel of Bilbao.

Room Tip: If you need a good wi fi signal dont pick a room on the third floor which is what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very nice hotel, but PLEASE watch out for the steps! There are four steps going from the bathroom down to the bed area and they are lethal. The handrail only goes as far as the third step, so you totally fail to realise there is a fourth. Add to that a sleepy trip to the bathroom in the middle of the night and the inevitable happened. I went sprawling down them on the first night, and my husband did the same on the second, landing on his back on wooden steps. We're young and fairly fit but I dread to think how an old person or someone carrying a child would cope.

We did report it and we don't appear to be the first people to come a cropper, so I thought I would add my Trip Advice to Tripadvisor...

Room Tip: Pick one without steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heathertemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A good value hotel with all what you need for acity weekend visit.
Rooms are spacious. Staff are extreemly helpful.
This is a no frills hotel. If all you need is a good quality room with space that is extremely clean this is just right.
WiFi throughout but some rooms have a problem connecting. I had this problem but was imediately given the choice of 2 other rooms.
The reception staff were very helpful and charming.
Great location for discovering this basque town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really happy with the hotel, mad a business trip very comfortable and slept well. Also very close to the old town for tapas and not a long walk from other places of interest. Although temperature in the room was either too hot, or cold. And internet connection was pretty poor

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaunybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with pintxo (tapa) bars, restaurants, shops (including the dep.store ElCortesIngles) nearby. It's within walking distance between major sights like the Old Town and Guggenheim. My husband and my adult sister first stayed in a room on the third floor but it didn't have wifi reception. We'd like to thank the manager who moved us to a room on the second floor with a good wifi reception. Both rooms were clean and, luckily, had no steps mentioned in other reviews. I would only complain about the transparent walls of the toilet because it would light the room at night. The staff was helpful and kind. Breakfast at the hotel cost 16.5 euros so we had it in a different place every morning. The closest place is Cafeteria Restaurante Gaico which is round the corner on the left. (2-3 min. away). I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to stay in Bilbao.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,318 reviews
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Coliseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Coliseo

Address: Alameda De Urquijo 13, 48008 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: $77 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Coliseo 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sercotel Coliseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing