We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Hostess, Comfortable Bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Arriaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Arriaga
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely Hostess, Comfortable Bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We chose this due to the high ratings on Tripadvisor. We had a hard time finding this place and getting in because you are supposed to call when you arrive so someone can meet you. We didn't bring our cell phones to Europe and we will lucky the lady at the nearby Arriaga Hotel called for someone to meet us (there is no connection between these two hotels). The hostess let us in and found a coffee maker and wine opener for us. This is a "suite" as opposed to hotel-apartment. She couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The bed was so comfortable, the best we had during our month stay in France & Spain.
Our room didn't have any sort of view and was a little dark. However, it was quiet and we slept well. The suite was very modern and clean.

Room Tip: I believe this is a small hotel and I only saw doors walking down the hallway so have no idea how th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanDiegoBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
67
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful building in the old part of Bilbao. The outside original and the inside modern appartments. When we arrived, the fridge was a little dirty, but as soon as we mentioned this it was cleaned.The weather was quite warm which was lucky and unlucky, because the appartment had no airconditioning and it got quite hot during the time we were there. All considering I think it was a little too expensive for what you get. But if you want to be central in Bilbao during a spring or autumn it is nog a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corbinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had the room at the back of the apartments which was a lovely size. It had a front room that we really didn't need or use and then a lovely sized bedroom and nice bathroom. It was very clean.
The apartments are in a great location, near the tram stop and on a main street of the old town close to the pintox bars and restaurants.
Bilbao isn't huge so it was very easy to get around easily if you have this as a base.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bryonybooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Convenient location near teatro, only 1 minute walk from arriaga tram stop ( which easily links to Guggenheim and terminus bus station) and less than 5 minte walk to the main train station which is located just across the river.

Stayed in the JC Arriaga suite which unlike the other 4 rooms is smaller and does not ontain a fridge, microwave or a lounge ... But it is also less expensive, which as a single traveller was attractive. In retrospect I would probably opt for greater space and a fridge though.

The room was well designed,with good storage space and a largish user friendly bathroom with shower. Extremely comfortable bed, range of pillows and good quality large bath towels. Good lighting for reading.

The room was cleaned daily, and well maintained

Windows open into central well in appt block. Can be a bit stifling in hot weather without cooling.

There is no-one on site usually outside 11 am -2pm, but if arriving outside these hours someone will meet you

I was met by a lady who had limited English ( but still markedly better than my even more limited Spanish), if there is anything she can't clarify she simply rings the owner who is most helpful. Owner- operator speaks good English and can be easily contacted by phone

Accessed by a flight of 15 steps ( no lift or wheelchair access)

Room Tip: Perhaps book a suite rather than the smaller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Unless of course you like the uniformity of a hotel room, intrusive staff and uninspired breakfasts too early in the morning..... Arriaga suites offers you the experience of living in a nice apartment in the loveliest part of Bilbao and for a few days you can pretend you are a minimialist with no clutter and mountains of paperwork around you. It's clean, spacious, freshly decorated with bold colours and nice artwork. We travelled with our 2 teenage daughters and they had a room to themselves with a super- kingsized sofabed (and very comfortable which is rather unique!). We had a seperate and more spacious room with a comfortable kingsized bed and huge wardrobe. It was very hot during our stay but at night we left the door open between the rooms and with both windows wide open it still cooled down enough for us to sleep ok. Great to have a fridge so you can have some cold drinks and some stuff for breakfast. I guess the microwave is there to heat up babyfood because for making tea & coffee it's not great (there is no kettle). All the more reasons to eat out and have your coffee in a cafe; you will not be dissappointed! The bathroom is nice with a roomy shower and there are plenty of lovely big towels. Even the hairdryer is good quality!The roomservice is brilliant too, a nice touch as you rarely get this when you stay in an apartment. All in all for the price you pay it is incredible value for money and the locations is superb.

Room Tip: Although the rooms at the front have lovely big windows looking out over the street, the room we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leontine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived in time for the Semana Grande in August and had booked a suite with the very helpful Oihana.To say it's central would be an understatement, right beside the Arriaga theatre and tourist office and just a stroll to many wonderful pinxtos bars.
Oihana met us when we arrived and gave us the keys and a map of Bilbao.
The apartment was lovely and had all the comforts of home, everything you needed was there, all the benefits of hotel living at a fraction of the cost.Fresh towels every day, great attentive housekeeping and we especially enjoyed the breakfast at the Boulevard around the corner every morning.
We're already looking forward to a return visit next year and I have recommended the Arriaga suites to my family and friends.Top marks to Oihana and her wonderful staff, thanks for a memorable holiday and look forward to seeing you all next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found our stay at Arriaga Suites to be very comfortable. The location is ideal for wandering and being centrally located. In a few steps would could be on a tram or bus, and just a bit farther for the metro. Also the food options in Casco Viejo are fantastic.
We rarely saw anyone else around in the hotel during our stay which made the environment feel private and quiet. We were facing the street and while that didn't bother us, noise on the street below could be heard. It never impacted our sleep as there is nothing on the block open late.
Oihanna met us to give us our room and we very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#19 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Hotel Arenal Bilbao
Hotel Arenal Bilbao
#32 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
La Estrella Ostatu
#29 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Arriaga Apartments
Arriaga Apartments
#4 of 25 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Arriaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Arriaga

Property: Pension Arriaga
Address: Bidebarrieta, 3 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the middle of Bilbao's old town, the historic centre of the city, where you can enjoy a great variety of shops, restaurants and typical bars with their famous "Pintxos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Arriaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing