We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Break”
Review of Pension Arriaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Arriaga
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend Break”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Arriaga Suites are in a perfect location in the old town surrounded by shops, cafes and bars. As they have no reception, we texted them at the airport to say we had arrived so they could meet us there. A taxi costs 25 EUR, on the return we took a tram (1.40 EUR each) to the bus terminal, and the Airport bus (1.30 EUR each - runs every 30 mins). The signage outside is very small, so we may have missed it if we hadn't got the taxi. The suites are within an apartment block. The room was very large, one area with a sofa-bed, tv, fridge, microwave and mugs (bring your own tea/coffee or buy what you need at the shops around the corner), and then an enormous bedroom, and good sized bathroom in a modern colourful style. The staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, be sure to have a mobile on you so you may contact them if needed as you will not see them during your stay if you are out and about. We had paid for breakfast with them, you get a voucher to take to a local cafe in exchange for tea/coffee, fresh orange juice and the choice of a selection of savoury and sweet things on display. At 3.50 EUR it seemed a good price in a lovely cafe which soon fills up in the morning. Overall for the price this is an excellent place to stay in an ideal spot. It's different to a hotel in that there's no point of contact for instant information, but the tourist office is at the end of the road in the corner of the theatre building if you need to find anything out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    46
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
77
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loule, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The pros:
Great location in the heart of the old quarter
Recently converted, modern
Comfortable beds, furniture
Inexpensive
Ample heating for winter visitors

The cons:
No fan or air conditioning
Clamour from the street if balcony door is opened for fresh air
No cutlery or crockery - except 2 teaspoons and 2 cups
Shower floor very slippery
No English channels on TV
(wish I'd known about the wifi)
Nearest parking is half a mile away
No chance to stop and unload car nearby

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ronaldsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Blanca
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We’d second the enthusiastic reviews of Arriaga Suites. They’re not luxurious but spacious and clean with modern decoration, furnishings & bathrooms. Extremely good value for money.
We’d requested a quiet room and the J.M. Usandizaga suite was just that. The wifi connection worked fine once we knew which network to select. This information wasn’t provided in the room so best to try to connect up on arrival then you can ask the staff for help if necessary.
One caveat: the website mentions an in-room safe but ours was broken and not repaired/replaced during our 3 night stay. Had it worked I’m not sure how useful it would have been because it was portable! Instead of being bolted in, it was just placed on a shelf in the wardrobe.
The location is great with the narrow streets of the Casco Viejo outside the door and a tram stop close by. If you pay the optional small extra charge for breakfast, you’ll be given a voucher to use at the historic Café Boulevard round the corner. Breakfast is very good: fresh orange juice, tea/coffee and a choice of pastry, toast or tortilla.
Beware if you need to leave your luggage on the last day. A member of staff kindly showed us where to store our cases and gave us two keys to get back in to collect them. We opened the street door but the key to the Arriaga Suites entrance door didn’t work and we were stuck outside on the landing ringing the bell & knocking until another guest was good enough to let us in. In the meantime a phone call to the owner’s mobile went unanswered.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCostaBlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Arriaga Suites is a bit unusual - I was under the impression it was a stand-alone spot, but it is located within an apartment building in Bilbao. Signage could be better, as we wandered around a bit wondering if we were in the right place. But the location is great; it is around lots of shops, tapas bars and the tram. It was easy enough to walk to the Guggenheim (about 15 minutes).

The suite itself was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The free wireless internet wouldn't work for us, though. We had a great experience with the girl who checked us in - even though there was a language barrier, she was able to set up a reliable taxi for 5:30 am the next morning.

There is not a regular reception desk there, so you need to call ahead to let them know what time you'll arrive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corklevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Good location, in the very heart of the city. Nice staff at our arrival. The room was very big and very well furnished (the bed in particular was extremely big and comfortable). All was very clean and pleasant. Free wifi connection, a fridge and a microwave at our disposal. Maybe they could offer a reduced price for the parking: it would be the perfect accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lady_Helena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This suite-hostal is comfortable, clean, modern and overlooked a cute street. It was comfortable and Patricia and Oihana were very hospitable and accomodating. We could have stayed longer but we were on a whirlwind trip. Our teenage daughters slept on the pullout couch and said it was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mndrittenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and I went to Bilbao, with low expectations given some reviews that we read on our train ride. We were not only pleasantly surprised by this great city, but also by Arriaga Suites! The room is small, but it feels brand new, comfortable bed, great shower, modern ammenities. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is due to the fact that you can't regulate the temperature in the room. I was fine, but my husband was a bit warm at night. There is a window, however, that you can keep open and that provides nice air flow. Lastly, we spent a day walking around the city and we were really excited to feel that we were staying in a superb part of town. If you want a great coffee to take on the go while you cruise the city, go to Panchito's. All you have to do is walk out the front door, take a left and take your second left... you will find it on this second block. The coffee is great :)

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank stephsanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 42 in Bilbao
322 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
955 reviews
La Estrella Ostatu
#30 of 42 in Bilbao
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Abando
Sercotel Coliseo
Sercotel Coliseo
#10 of 42 in Bilbao
1,057 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Hotel Arenal Bilbao
Hotel Arenal Bilbao
#31 of 42 in Bilbao
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Arriaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Arriaga

Property: Pension Arriaga
Address: Bidebarrieta, 3 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the middle of Bilbao's old town, the historic centre of the city, where you can enjoy a great variety of shops, restaurants and typical bars with their famous "Pintxos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Arriaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing