We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great suites in Bilbao”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Arriaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Arriaga
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great suites in Bilbao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Fantastic suites in the old town of Bilbao. Highly recommended. Good price and great location.
The suites consist of double room, sofa area (sofa bed), en-suite bathroom, fridge, microwave and TV.
Excellent....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rochelle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
75
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

After reading the great reviews of Arriaga Suites we decided to book here and were extremely pleased with EVERYTHING! First, the location could not have been better. It is located in Casco Viejo which is the old part of town with great food and night life. Also, the Tram is about 2 minutes away that will connect you with the rest of Bilbao and the Metro is about 6 minutes away which will connect you with more of the city. There was great shopping literally outside your door with everything from clothes to food.

Second, the suite was awesome! Not only was it immaculately clean, it was large, comfortable, soundproofed, had windows along one wall that provided great street shots. We loved having a mini food prep area with a microwave, fridge and table. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was great! The bedroom was comfortable and after pulling the blinds and shutting the windows was dark and silent. It felt like we had our own "piso" or apartment.

Third, and maybe the most important was the price. It was only 55 Euros a night! The quality could not have been better as well as the value. Oihana was friendly and accommodating. This is NOT a hotel. While our room was made up everyday there wasn't a "front desk" or a doorman. It had a lot of amenities but if you want a chain hotel this is not for you. Bilbao is beautiful and inviting. It is a very tourist friendly city but staying in this suite makes you feel less like a tourist and more like a true basque.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelsavy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the Arriaga Suites in early June, and can recommend it with enthusiasm. The location is absolutely ideal...on the edge of Old Town, just across the river from one of the town squares, which was the site of a large Sunday festival. Great pintxos bars (the Basque version of tapas), restaurants, and shopping an easy walk away. The room was clean,. well-furnished and comfortable, and the decor interesting. Each suite is named for a Basque composer, and ours had one wall covered by sheet music of Jesus Guridi (I'm a music history prof, and found this quite special). The bath is fabulous...and the only one of the whole trip with an enclosed shower. Our room had a decent sized refrigerator and microwave, as well. So, clean, comfortable, attractive, affordable rates, and in a perfect location.
A small warning is needed...the hotel is part of an office/residence complex, and there is no sign identifying it, except for an address with the other residents. It is not, nor is it connected with the Arriaga Hotel, a few blocks away. And there is no in-house empolyee to care for anything that goes wrong. The owner gave me her card and her phone, but if your cell doesn't get service in Europe (as was my case), you'll have a difficult time finding a phone to call her. Fortunately, we didn't need anything while we were there, and once we found the place, the cleaning person let us in and gave her a call. So make sure you have her phone# if you've reserved online, and especially if you come in at an odd time, as we did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentheEnchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in May at the beginning of our trip and found it to be great. The location is excellent, and the rooms themselves are well renovated, nicely appointed, roomy enough, very clean and most comfortable.
There is a little bar-sized fridge in the room, which we liked because we could put a few things in there for our breakfast.
It's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try for one that does not look over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I've just returned from a weekend break in Bilbao and stayed at the Arriaga Suites. The location is perfect - 3 minutes walk from the handy tram stop, right in the charming 'Casco Viejo' (the lively Old Town of Bilbao) with dozens of bars and cafes on your doorstep...

The suites are fantastic - spotlessly clean, spacious and really modern. And the price (I paid 65 euros for a double suite) is more or less what I've paid previously for a non descript hotel room....One minor niggle - the water pressure in the double shower was quite weak, but this, obviously, didn't ruin the weekend!!!

When I visit Bilbao again, these suites will definitely be my first choice!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#17 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
La Estrella Ostatu
#30 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Hotel Artetxe
Hotel Artetxe
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Castaños
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
#15 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Arriaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Arriaga

Property: Pension Arriaga
Address: Bidebarrieta, 3 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the middle of Bilbao's old town, the historic centre of the city, where you can enjoy a great variety of shops, restaurants and typical bars with their famous "Pintxos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Arriaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing