We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel offers the most convenient location in Bilbao. It is right in front of the footbridge to cross the river to walk to the Guggenheim Museum. The river walk is pretty, and this hotel is right there! There is also an outdoor/indoor cafe next to the hotel where you can stop and have a glass of sangria and a tapa. The hotel itself has an outdoor/indoor cafe. To go to the funicular up the mountainside is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. You can also go to a grocery store near the funicular!
Our room was wonderful! We had a balcony with a riverside view and mountainside view!
Breakfast offered a large selection of pastries, eggs, Spanish tortilla, hams, etc., and good coffee!
Cannot think of anything that was a negative at this hotel. Also has its own parking garage for a fee.
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for one with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAO738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We love you like it that much. Is funny how 47 years ago when we choosed this location we were only 3 hotels down town, betting on this plasce on an industrial time that became withing the years a touristic city, even a world wide reference on urban style.
The Guggenheim museum was only the starting point, all those walking streets on the river side, pedestrian bridges and so on came by to push the toursim and better quality of live of our locals. We have adapted ourself to the mothern times with the outdoor terrace and full breakfast. Rooms are on constant refurnishment so we can be updated on style and services; last changes were removing all toilet cisterns to reduce noise and water saving. We look forward to get to see you again, please keep inform of bes information about the city and the hotel on our oficial social media and web site, where you can also find best deals for your trip to Bilbao.
Best regards,

Iñaki Armada - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    268
    83
    14
    7
See reviews for
71
200
52
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late September on our first visit to Bilbao. The hotel, in a pleasant area of the city, is ideally located for visiting the various sights - Guggenheim, old town, etc. In fact we took the hotel's "Guggenheim Deal" as previous reviewers have mentioned and it was very good value.

Our room was on the second floor and had a small balcony that overlooked the plaza which contained the Zubizuri Bar but we experienced no street noise whatsoever. The room and bathroom were both clean, spacious and nicely appointed. Breakfast was included in the "deal" and was a hot / cold buffet with a good selection of food - very enjoyable.

The hotel personnel were all very pleasant and helpful which also helped to make our stay here extremely pleasant indeed - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure you enjoyed your "short stay" here in Bilbao with us. Thank you for sharing your experience here in Tripadvisor with us, taking advantage of one of our most popular deals, Room with breakfast inclued and guggenheim tickets on a exterior room.
Is very imporant for us to have a clean room, I´ll transmit it to our cleaning team to keep on that standart. Thanks. It is a "proverb" here saying that Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, we are glad you liked our selection of food.
It won´t make any sence to be at the front desk of a hotel and not help our guest on ther experience, is the most important for us, make our travelers best tips to enjoy the city.
Hope see you soon
Kind regards,

IAA - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in late September. The hotel feels rather cozy and the decoration is nice and warm. Staff is professional and friendly. There is free wifi (works in the rooms) and two computers in the lobby. Breakfast is decent but not extraordinary. Location is fine for the Guggenheim, and it's not far from the Old City. Single rooms are nice with a huge drawback: they face a dark and gloomy interior patio lacking natural light, which feels depressing. The window doesn't even open (it tilts on the top only) and is frosted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your nice commments about the hotel, we like you enjoyed Bilbao city choosing us. About the breakfast we are looking for a new look and probably new products, hope you get to see it on your next visit. Some of our rooms are interior, and if you have a lower level you get less natural light, but individual rooms have windows at the rooms and bathroom; they can only be openend a little bit, due to safety instructions. We have refurnished some rooms this year and we will keep on improving our decoration every year. Our location is as you mentioned, great to walk the city. Let me share with the staff your opinion, we really appreciate it, makes our work makes sense.
Kind regards

Iñaki Armada - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here & got a special 'deal' that included 2 tickets to the Guggenheim Museum. Wonderful location - we walked from the first stop of the airport shuttle bus, across the Zubizuri Bridge to the hotel. Reasonably priced, close to tram stop & funicular. Walking on both sides of the river was a real highlight. Breakfast buffet was adequate; front desk staff helpful & business-like. Only complaint was the bartender who 'blew us off' after the front desk person had
told us we could get a sandwich before 3PM. So we walked to the Guggenheim & had a tasty sandwich outside, overlooking that impressive building.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. Our side room overlooked a square; by looking toward the hills, we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmercies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear traveler,

Great description "picturesque city", love it. Bilbao is pedestrian city, you can walk anywhere and find great architecture old an new, and also good public transport as you mentioned such a Tram, buses or Funicular. Sorry for cafeteria experience, we have just changed the opening ours and is not an excuse is just a situation that should never had happened, sorry for that.
We are glad you enjoyed our special pack with Guggenheim museum ticket is one of the most wanted at this hotel, with exterior view to Bilbao´s river
Thanks for sharing your experience, and hope to see you back soon,
Kind regards

Iñaki Armada - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for three days recently as we travelled along the north coast of Spain. The hotel is very clean, tidy, quiet and half the price that we paid in San Sebastian and Santander. The staff were excellent - helpful, chatty, happy people.

We loved the walk along the river opposite the hotel towards the old town where we found some excellent pinchox/tapas bars and restaurants.

We also found some very good tapas bars around the back of the hotel that semed to only be used by locals - but we like getting away from the tourists!

Also behind the hotel is the funicular train to the park at the top of the hill. Great views over Bilbao and beyond.

Highly recommend this hotel.

A little tip on getting to this hotel from the airport - tell the driver to use the toll road. Its £10 cheaper using that route but our driver, and a few others that we heard about, take the long route to earn more.

Room Tip: We booked an outer facing room. I gather that the inner facing rooms do not have oping windows and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoSeabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Rayleigh,

What can we say from your great comments about Bilbao city and the hotel, Thank you so much.
Our staff always try to offer best options to our guests proyects on the city, and your tour up to Artxanda mountain to have best view of Bilbao, and then Pintxo in old town. You have mentioned that you found some local people at tapas bar, but we don´t have a tourist area, all the city is a place where local people enjoy and is where our guest enjoy too, we don´t make diferences, thanks for noticed it, is one of the most important things for us, have a Touristic city wher you can feel the original, as it is. Great tip for foreign arriving at the airport. Here at the hotel we can inform about the average of 25 euros airpot to hotel.
Kind regards

Iñaki Armada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is its location, just across zubi zuri bridge-calatrava bridge and walking distance from guggenheim. Nice rooms and clean interiors. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. But lot of restaurants around the place. Staff was good, attentive and helped in suggesting places of visit. Would recommend this place as it worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MONSAM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,

"worth every penny" what a great compliment, Thank you!
Our location is excelent for pedestrian tourism around Bilbao city, don´t need a car that´s absolutly correct. Near by there is plenty of Pintxos bar to add to the tender offer in our restaurant, and we love to have people experiencing our local food.
Thank you and hope to see you soon,
Kind regards

Iñaki Armada - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September. Was slightly sceptical having read some of the reviews but have to say that the rooms were very good, as was the bathroom; I think they may have been recently refurbished. Breakfast was nothing special but was adequate. The location was excellent, within walking distance of all the local attractions. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely use again if returning to Bilbao.

Room Tip: Ensure you book an outside room as negative reviews seem to relate to interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grindle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for choosing us upon some reviews but as you have had experienced here we are a very good option to enjoy Bilbao.
The hotel is on a great location as all our guests recomend and we take care of our rooms and bathrooms making updates as frequent as they need. We are looking for a refreshing style on our breakfast, hope next time you are able to tell us something about it.

Thank you see you soon,

IAA - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Property: Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao
Address: Paseo Campo de Volantin 22, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town, Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao is by the river side just a few minutes walk from Guggeheim museum and Old city center. We offer free wifi access anywhere in the hotel, and all our rooms and bathrooms are recently refurnished. You'll find differetn types of rooms, choose the one is adapted to your planed journey, either tourism or bussiness issues. There is a restaurant in the hotel where you can either enjoy the buffet breakfas, lunch, dinner or even the typical pintxos of the basque gastronomy. We all speack different languages and we find the way to provide you all the info and services you need with a warm welcome Nº registro empresa turistica HOTEL CONDE DUQUE BILBAO H.BI.00309 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bilbao
Best Western Conde Duque
Bilbao Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing