We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dark and smelly”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is right in front of the Zubizuri bridge and a short pleasant walk from the Guggenheim museum. I picked the hotel based on the location and was disappointed at everything else. I was on the 2nd floor facing an inner courtyard. You would think that you would get a lot of light but no, all the windows are frosted and inoperable (burglary?) The result? Cigarette smelling dark room you don't want to sleep in. The bathroom needs an update. If it wasn't for the friendly staff, I would have been very unhappy.

Room Tip: Maybe upper floors are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownUnderUpOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

As guest relationship manager I will like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and location. We take you words about the room seriously and we are sorry about your experience at that point. All our rooms have natural light and the reason of not been able to open more than a little bit, is due to a World wide safety rules any hotel must have (no burglary at all on this hotel so far); and frosted window is because all our inside rooms, as we explain on our official web site, they face a inner courtyard, and we took that decision for your privacy. Our smoking rooms are on the upper levels, only th 20% allowed in spain, so you should not have that smell, since is a non smoking room, very sorry for that. We do have external rooms with a little balcony facing a calm pedestrian street with a view to the river side and the Zubizuri bridge mentioned before, but those are bit more expensive.
Hope you give us a other oportunity next time you visit Bilbao, please contact us directly,
Kind regards,

IAA - CM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    277
    83
    15
    7
See reviews for
76
204
53
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We come here with two children and we have got the rooms on the first floor with a terrible smell. we cannot open the window because it face to an old patio which is now used as a depot with a lot of old tables and chairs... the windows even painted, not to look outside. It's like a prison!

Room Tip: never stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaW2161EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we are very sorry you had such experience, please receive our appologies.
After reading your comments and asking the staff about any reference with this, we´ve been told that you had one reservation instead of two the the 4 members of your familly, inside view, and we resolved the way we could, since the hotel was almost full. The information about our rooms is clear on our oficial web site, we mention that interior rooms (the type you booked) look into a neighbour patio, we never hide it, but that description is not our hotel, that is a neighbourg houses in front; very sorry for having not been able to get on your expectations. Our rooms floor, walls and windows are new and natural light, we will never offer such a description as a room. We do have external view rooms, bit more expensive but the day of your booking not external rooms were available to do that upgrade to your familly, as we explained you at front desk. All comments are taken in consideration to try to improve, thanks.
Kind regards,
IAA - CM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a driving holiday and maybe I have been spoilt with the standard of the other hotels I had stayed in as part of the tour but I was a bit disappointed with this one. The location is great being right on the river and close to the old town and the galleries & museums and the staff were friendly however the room we stayed in was dark and pretty beaten up. I did notice that you can pay an extra 8 euros for a view so not being particularly bothered by a view elected to not spend the extra 8 euros. What the hotel should say is that rooms without a view also have no natural light since the windows are covered by a plastic film and in reality face onto a decrepit building so its like being in a pit, you have little idea of whether its sunny outside, dark or raining. The room too was very Spartan, no minibar, not enough pillows for the bed and the shower was a dribble that fluctuated from hot to cold. They charge 16 Euros to use the underground car park which is nearby the hotel, this is a shared car park and the hotel has a number of spaces allocated at the lowest level, I would say make sure you have a small car since the spaces are very tight and because of the supports there is hardly any room to manoeuvre. If I were returning to Bilbao I would probably look for another hotel but if you were to stay here it might be better to spend the extra 8 euros for some daylight.

Room Tip: Maybe pay the extra money and get some daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

We appreciate your time on writing and sharing your experience with us, and we are bit sad you did not enjoy us as most of our guests do. I´ll like you to take a look of our official web site www.hotelcondeduque.com where you can find all the information about us, pictures and discriptions, since it seems that some of the data you provide is correct and with your point of view. We will like to say that we do have external rooms with great views (bit more expensive than the room you choosed) and most of our rooms are fully refursnished with new wall paper, closset, floors windows etc ..., and even on the first floor interior room, we do have on all rooms big windows with natural light, but no views outside on the street, that´s why the price, and that´s why we do give the options upon availability, as we did. We don´t have mini-bar in rooms for many years now, as most of 3*** hotels on the city (99%) since is not mandatory and when we had them, it was not really a big demand on that service; if you deserve any drink or food we have vending machine on the corridors (even floors, information at elevator and in the room), and a bar with room-service 7:00 to 22:00. Sorry for the shower, we do have a mantenance staff to resolve that kind of situations if you could have told us on time. About our parking place, hope you understand that back in 1966 when this hotel was opened there was not parking places down town, since car was not as common to use as it is now, so few years ago we had the oportunity to provide those spaces for parking, next block, less than 2 min walk on pedestrian stree, easy access by elevation and big wide easy ramps for cars and bikes; The issue with the Size of the parking place, we inform our guests about hight and if we know that the only place available is a small one, we offer different options near by, but, I can confirm you that we had big "mercedes benz" and "Renault Space" (bigest cars in Europe) parked on our parking space.
You liked our location and staff, why don´t you give us an other oportunity? Please contact us directly and we will try to give you a better experience, most of our guests are happy and very frequent customers.
Thank you
Kind regards,

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June as a base to explore the city and see a band that were playing there. Its very easy to find from the airport as its so close to the Guggenheim. The staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with finding the music venue, and letting us know about a local cheese festival that was going on. It was well located for the Old Town and Guggenheim. The staff were kind enough to give us a late check out after the concert! I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraLyd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your experience on our hotel, we are very happy been able to add some extra value to our location and to your original plans. The cheese festival or any other activity on the city or nearby is a good support for us to show a bit more about our city and our culture, we always do, and we you know you appreciated, so our staff will keep on doing it.
Many thanks for your kind words & recomendation, hope to see you backv soon!

Best regards

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location opposite the pedestrian bridge half-way between the Guggenheim and the old town will always be the winning feature of this hotel. It´s easy to walk everywhere from here + the tram stop is at the other side of this bridge which is great if arriving by train. The stop for the airport is close by too, with lifts between the street levels which really help when you have a suitcase.

Book a superior room to get a little terrace with a view over a side street. The decor is a bit brown and dated, but very comfortable, well-maintained and clean which is more important. Felt safe with 24hour reception and being in a pleasant area of town. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful - especially when not all guests were not 100% reasonable (if you have booked an inland-facing room, why complain to them that it doesn´t have a view of the Guggenheim!). Without a recommendation from the helpful reception staff, we would never have found the hanging bridge at Portulagete (and the festival there on 1 July which was great fun) or the great beaches at Getxo - only 20 minutes on the Metro to Areeta for 1.35 euro - which were highlights of our week here.

Food was fine - appreciated having ´proper´ bread to make toast with, as I really don´t like the white sliced stuff, and the selection of fresh fruit every day. The dining room/outdoor seating is more suited to breakfast and lunch - not much atmosphere in the evening, which was a shame as the food was good.

Pleased to find two PCs in the lobby as prefer that to wifi/Tablet in the hotel room - worked very well and handy to have. The drinks and snacks machines were also a nice touch.

Room Tip: Be reasonable - don´t book an inland-facing room without a terrace and still expect to see the Gugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_C_N229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you time on writing so many details about your experience with us in Bilbao.
Very glad you enjoyed our hotel the location and our indications.
One of our goals, upon decoration colours, is to look for high standarts on cleaning and mantenance issues (also let you know that we have just changed already 2 floors with new Vescom high cuality interior wall paper, hope next time you can profit this advantage on your room). Exterior room are bit better on views, but same on size and amenities.
Happy to have your review on terms of food service, our bar/restaurant tries to offer as much as our clients need. thanks
It is very important for us that our guest are perfectly well conected, that´s why we have set more Wi-Fi spots and if you don´t have your device we offer 2 computers, and we also can print your flight tickets for free.
Let me transmit these comments to our team, and on behalf of all staff want to thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you back,
Kind regards,

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collioure
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best part about our stay was the very helpful gentleman, unfortunately with an unpronounceable name otherwise I'd love to give him credit, at the front desk. He told us how best to see the Guggenheim (from the opposite bank and from the bridge), directed us to an area where the locals "do tapas" and we had the best tapas we've ever had, and lastly, he gave us an umbrella before leaving. Result? A wonderful start a lovely few days in Bilbao.
The hotel has an excellent location on the river, the beds are very comfortable, our room was an inside room facing the inner courtyard - no great view but very quiet.
One small hiccup was that at the room was stuffy and we were told the aircon system wasn't running yet as it wasn't hot yet. We aired the room and left the window ajar and were more than comfortable. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateChi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear valued customer

We really appreciate your nice comments about your experience in Bilbao, and happy for been able to give some "tips" and enjoy the best of our city. Thanks

Glad you had a nice stay on our hotel and for understanding us about the aircon not runing yet, due to cold temperatures at night (max 8ºC), and we just turned heating at night time on request by each guest room. Spring time is bit complicated here in terms of temperature day/night, we try our best.

Hope you used our good location to visit best of Bilbao, but I bet we can show you more things to impress you. Hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Iñaki Armada
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had stayed here for a long weekend in 2000 and knew the location was good, so decided to go for it again this time round - a 5-night stay. Superior room (502) was good - small balcony overlooking pedestrian street below (c/Epalza) and also a view of the river and Calatrava bridge. Beds very comfortable. The usual toiletries were provided (no shower cap, though), there was A/C, a flat-screen TV and a safe, and we asked for tea/coffee-making facilities on check-in. A tray with kettle and all the necessary was brought to us 5 mins later. No mini-bar, however, so the milk was powdered creamer. There's a good tapas bar on the corner called Zubizuri ("white bridge"), frequented mainly by Spanish (always a good sign!) and several other bars and restaurants in the back street behind. Decided not to go for the hotel breakfast - they are usually more than we want to eat - and had coffee & croissant/toast & jam at several of these little bars - average price €2.50-3.00 per person. The reception staff were helpful and polite. 20-min taxi ride from airport was €24 and the return trip was €25. A good stay, would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have outside views rather than interior light wells. 502 had a small balcony and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WombleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are so glad that our frequent guests share their experiences with all of us!
I hope you noticed some changes on the deco & facilities of the hotel and probably within your next vist you´ll see more improvements.
Honestly, you as travelrs are always much better than us to recomend how to use the hotel and surroundings places, I agree 100% .

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Property: Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao
Address: Paseo Campo de Volantin 22, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town, Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao is by the river side just a few minutes walk from Guggeheim museum and Old city center. We offer free wifi access anywhere in the hotel, and all our rooms and bathrooms are recently refurnished. You'll find differetn types of rooms, choose the one is adapted to your planed journey, either tourism or bussiness issues. There is a restaurant in the hotel where you can either enjoy the buffet breakfas, lunch, dinner or even the typical pintxos of the basque gastronomy. We all speack different languages and we find the way to provide you all the info and services you need with a warm welcome Nº registro empresa turistica HOTEL CONDE DUQUE BILBAO H.BI.00309 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bilbao
Best Western Conde Duque
Bilbao Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing