We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second good stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had stayed here for a long weekend in 2000 and knew the location was good, so decided to go for it again this time round - a 5-night stay. Superior room (502) was good - small balcony overlooking pedestrian street below (c/Epalza) and also a view of the river and Calatrava bridge. Beds very comfortable. The usual toiletries were provided (no shower cap, though), there was A/C, a flat-screen TV and a safe, and we asked for tea/coffee-making facilities on check-in. A tray with kettle and all the necessary was brought to us 5 mins later. No mini-bar, however, so the milk was powdered creamer. There's a good tapas bar on the corner called Zubizuri ("white bridge"), frequented mainly by Spanish (always a good sign!) and several other bars and restaurants in the back street behind. Decided not to go for the hotel breakfast - they are usually more than we want to eat - and had coffee & croissant/toast & jam at several of these little bars - average price €2.50-3.00 per person. The reception staff were helpful and polite. 20-min taxi ride from airport was €24 and the return trip was €25. A good stay, would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have outside views rather than interior light wells. 502 had a small balcony and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WombleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We are so glad that our frequent guests share their experiences with all of us!
I hope you noticed some changes on the deco & facilities of the hotel and probably within your next vist you´ll see more improvements.
Honestly, you as travelrs are always much better than us to recomend how to use the hotel and surroundings places, I agree 100% .

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 573 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

You cannot miss this hotel being right next door to the white bridge. In easy reach of the airport bus stop(say 15mins max). I enjoyed my stay. The room being very comfortable, the staff very welcoming, the breakfasts very good. The location very good for any part of town really as this main town is travelled easily by foot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear customer,

We want to appreciate your comments about us, we love that our guests enjoy their visit to Bilbao, and we like to take part of it.
Your location description couldn´t be more fair.

Thanks a lot, and hope to see you again,

Kind regards,

IAA - C.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel was very nice and convenient to the Guggenheim Museum, an easy walk! Hotel was very modern with all the amenities, good restaurant. The front desk was very helpful and there was no problem getting a taxi very early in the morning. It was in a nice part of Bilbao with many places to explore. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest,

We really want to thank you for your nice words about hotel and service received, and I´ll share it with our staff so we can keep working on that direction.
Our location is great, as we are walking distance from/to any relevant turistic point, specially Guggenheim, thanks for sharing it.
But what is a good present for us it to be rewarded by recommening to a friend,
Thanks again and please fell free to contact us for your next visit to Biblao.

Kind regards

IAA - Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent, within walking distance to all the major sites especially the old town which we loved. We got the airport bus which you get off at the first stop just passed the Guggenheim museum and cost 1.35 euro. Walk over the bridge turn right and the Hotel is opposite the white bridge which was great. We had a superior room with a balcony which looked out towards the river. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good with a choice of hot and cold buffet which we had every day.Wifi was excellent and free which was a bonus, also 2 PC's in the foyer All the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. We did not need to use the public transport because of the excellent location, except when we went to San Sebastian for a day which took 1 hour and 10 minutes and cost 11 euro each way. We only used the Metro once to go to the transporter bridge, which is very close to the Bay of Biscay. All in all an excellent stay, we loved Bilbao and would stay here again on a return visit.

Room Tip: I chose a superior room as I wanted a balcony with a river view.I think the interior rooms don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your kind words and we are glad of hosting you for a week and get your feed back.
All the information you share is true, location, distances, and services, thanks for your comments.
Bilbao and Bay of Bizkay is full of many special places and we are proud that our tourists love it.
Thanks again for your visit, and it has been a pleasure hositng you.
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards

IAA - Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed from Sunday until Friday. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they all went out of their way to make sure we had a good holiday. Room was a good size and very clean. Even though their was no view as it faced the internal patio it didn't cause a problem and was very quiet. Location is excellent with everything within walking distance. Public transport easy to use and a tram stop just over the bridge means that you can hop on and off the tram at anywhere you want to visit. If you want tea and coffee facilities in your room just ask at reception! Good selection at breakfast and we ate in the restaurant one night as it was so popular with the locals we thought we should check it out. Well worth it with a good menu del dia and excellent service. Overall staff, service and location meant that we had a great time in Bilbao. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvester89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,

What else can make us more proud of than have a "5/5" score ... your beatifull coments. Let me get this sentence out of your comments: "Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they all went out of their way to make sure we had a good holiday".
Thank you so much. I´ll print it all out and show it to our staff to work on keeping that as an usual behaviour. Thanks.
You also mention our good location, which is absolutly true, a step away from most interesting things in Bilbao. We do have Restaraurant and Cafeteria, where we always look after having a good quality of local products and popular prices with good service.
Guess you came with the new look room, just finish last February, and if not ... you´ll be able to check them next visit.
You make our job make sence,
Thank you,

Sincerely
IAA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

stayed 5 nights in February. Easy to find, overlooking the river and its promenade. Although on a main road, heard no traffic noise at all. Room on the 9th floor (902) was huge with big bathroom and fab shower. Asked for tea/coffee facilities at reception and was given a tray with kettle cups tea and coffee, reception happy to top these up whenever you ask. Food in the restaurant was very good, although a restaurant 500 yards from the hotel (out the front door turn left) did an excellent meal for two at 30 Euros of 1kg of grilled steak with chips! Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this as an excellent hotel for visiting Bilbao, not far from everywhere, tram over the bridge, buses outside the door, funicular behind the hotel and no more than a 15 minute walk from anything you want to see.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you. I coun not describe us any better. Just the way we want our guest to enjoy Bilbao and our Hotel.
Our great location is real 10 to 15 min walk to any interesting touristic place that you can´t miss visiting the city.
5 days with us is a great value for us to understan our guest needs, what are they looking for when the book our hotel.
Thank you, hope to get to see you back with us soon
Sincerelly

IAA
Cmn Mngr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed one night during my very first visit to Bilbao. The hotel is kind of average but the staff is very attentive and rooms are overall nice. In my view the real perk is the location: the hotel overlooks the river close to Calatrava's Zubizuri footbridge and offers a gorgeous glance over the Guggenheim Museum. By crossing the bridge you can walk directly to the centre and the old town, where you can indulge in picking super-tasty pintxos, which is the local version of the well-known Spanish tapa. The location allows you to shirk the hustle&bustle of the city centre and makes parking easy by taking advantage of different public lots available in the area, even in front of the property. Pricing is reasonable at roughly € 70,00 per night, tax included.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefanofior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your cooperation on discribing us with so many details. You have used the hotel with the same porpose as most of our guests, exploring Bilbao City Center and have a good hotel supporting good atention and services.
Very glad you enjoyed your short visit, hope to see you soon,
Kind Regards

IAA
Comm. Mngr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Occidental Bilbao
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,157 reviews
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Address: Paseo Campo de Volantin 22, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#12 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $67 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town, Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao is by the river side just a few minutes walk from Guggeheim museum and Old city center. We offer free wifi access anywhere in the hotel, and all our rooms and bathrooms are recently refurnished. You'll find differetn types of rooms, choose the one is adapted to your planed journey, either tourism or bussiness issues. There is a restaurant in the hotel where you can either enjoy the buffet breakfas, lunch, dinner or even the typical pintxos of the basque gastronomy. We all speack different languages and we find the way to provide you all the info and services you need with a warm welcome Nº registro empresa turistica HOTEL CONDE DUQUE BILBAO H.BI.00309 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bilbao
Best Western Conde Duque
Bilbao Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing