We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A basque restaurant, try it, u won't regret it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abaroa Museo - CLOSED

Abaroa Museo
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Abando
Bucharest
Level Contributor
235 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A basque restaurant, try it, u won't regret it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Late night in Bilbao with a map in my hands, a young man stoped me and asked me what i was looking for. I said that i was trying to find a basque restaurant. He recomneds me this one. And i didn't regret it. The food was very good, and staff very kind. If you arrive in Bilb ao don't miss it

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    28
    12
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ensalada de queso de cabra y nueces: must try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Since it was Aste Nagusia, the Semana Grande, we had the chance to try a menu which included some entrees, one main course and a sweet for a special price.

They offer many menu and I suggest you to opt for one of them because it will give you the chance to taste many typical dishes at one time.

Anyways, what I liked the most was the Chuletón a la piedra together with the Ensalada de queso de cabra y nueces. The latter especially was absolutely amazing! You can't miss it for any reason!

One last point: the price paid was not expensive. One more reason to try this restaurant! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anna_laura87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor County Down
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good prices - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Used this restaurant twice during a conference. Happy to try it a second time. Food quite regional and service friendly and efficient. Menu available in English and other languages which is helpful. Don't try to get in before 9pm!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tangotangocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Basque food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

For those of us that live (or have lived) in Bilbao our whole life, the restaurants Abaroa (there are three or four of them) are not that special, because they offer the same traditional food that we have been eating our whole life, at home or at restaurants: chipirones (squid), bacalao (cod), pimientos rellenos (filled red peppers), chicken, beef, hake, etc.

But in my experience, people who come from other parts of Spain or from abroad love these restaurants, precisely because they have a traditional and homely feeling, and because for them all these dishes are not that common, so they are allowed to have a real taste of traditional Basque cuisine at a reasonable price.

Abaroa restaurants have different types of menus: the Menú del Día, only for lunch; Menú Abaroa, Menú Ejecutivo, etc. so you have a wide range of options to choose from; or you can always order 'a la carte' and pay a little more to eat exactly what you want...

So, I would say that this restaurant is good if you don't want any "nouvelle cuisine" delicacies but a good portion of fish or meat cooked in a traditional way.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Santi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfy, low-key, home style cooking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Very nice little restaurant that had some very tasty dishes at reasonable prices. A nice change from all the Pintxos restaurants where its hard to get a table.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abaroa Museo also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing