We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved this hotel. I was there for 2 nights during my honeymoon and got a fantastic large room with a balcony, king bed and living area. The room had nice modern decor and a good sized TV, wardrobes, safe. Our view of Plaza Moyua on one side and surrounding mountaintops on the other was breathtaking. The lobby is very classy and beautiful. I didn't think so from looking at pictures on tripadvisor but in person did think it looked super nice. Staff was accommodating. There was a flyer in the room for local wine for purchase in the lobby. Good wine at a great price!

The bathroom had a separate toilet area and double sinks. Toiletries made in France.

This was the best hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon! It's right next to the metro (which we took to Getxo and Portugalete -- highly recommended) and walking distance to Guggenheim and Casca Vieja. I can't believe it's 5-star and the price was so great! Comparing this to the prices in Barcelona, this was an absolute steal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    326
    105
    32
    13
See reviews for
114
405
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic location, room overlooking beautiful central gardens, terrace where you can eat and sip a glass of wine overlooking the city- what more can I say....Staff couldn't do enough, interior decor very classical

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catelangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have stayed here many times & always found it to be a good hotel however, this last trip left me somewhat disappointed. We didn't want the full breakfast as we needed to depart the hotel very early...we were told by reception the night before we could have an early continental breakfast in the bar but on arrival in the morning it was closed! We left the hotel unable to have a coffee!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Old charming hotel in Bilbao centre : good location and great hotel. Also a good breakfast with many choices and fresh orange (i appreciate when most hotels are choosing awful industrial juices without any vitamins).
Of course : Bilbao is a "must" step in Spain with the wonderful Guggenheim museum

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platinoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been to Bilbao 3 times, I have spent months there for work.
Carlton is the place to stay period....
Centrally located and just a short walk to wherever you want to go.
Room was nice, staff very helpfull a real pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wockhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great location for the airport, as the airport bus stops outside. Very old traditional and impressive hotel, near to shops and restaurants etc. However for such a large hotel - not very helpful if you want an early breakfast.
All very clean, and as you would expect from such a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALacy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Carlton and absolutely loved it. The evening we arrived, we saw a traditional Spanish Wedding Dance in the atrium of the entrance hall . It was such as treat. The Hotel is a beautiful building that is well located within easy walking distance of the Guggenheim and river. The staff was particularly helpful with suggestions and reservations. The room was spotless with a great king bed. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnC962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1926, the Hotel Carlton is one of the landmark buildings and the most majestic hotel in Bilbao. Declared an Architectural, Artistic, Historical and Cultural Monument, over its history the building has witnessed important social and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing