We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Teesside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Location is superb in the centre of Bilbao. We arrived late on a Sunday so the place was very quiet. We were not informed that the rooms all have free WiFi on the first night and unsuccessfully tried to access internet in the business centre. However, when we returnd on the Tuesday we were given the password for the WiFi.
Didn't try the restaurant but the rooms are very comfortable and have everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    310
    103
    31
    11
See reviews for
105
388
37
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in the heart of Bilbao. 2 minute walk to river and Guggenheim plenty of bars,restaurtants and shops near by. Hotel is classic with a sweeping marble staircase large lounge areas. Resturant is not very nice, needs updating. Food and service was good. Room was clean and tidy. Both the room and bathroom were okay but in need of a update. Enjoyed my stay would stay here again a snip at 82euros

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in Carlton for 3 nights in April 2012. It's a great historic hotel in the center of Bilbao, with lavish decor, marble and wood interiors. Huge rooms with great views, we had the one with a tiny balcony overlooking the square. you cant ask for better view really!
The hotel has a small gym with a steam room. breakfast was great, but overpriced at Eur20 pp.
Overall great experience, i would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuzanka111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed in Carlton for two nights in Jan 2013 at a suspiciously low rate of 80 euros per night for a five-star hotel in the center of Bilbao, yet it proved to be everything one would expect from a historic hotel. A bit old and tired but lavish decor, creaky floors, marble and wood interiors and surprisingly spacious rooms ideal for two guests as mine had two queen sized beds put together, two sinks, two wardrobes and a large balcony overlooking the main city square.
Cant say the staff was particularly smiley, the locals are just not super friendly, but all the receptionists were very helpful with giving advice about the best ways to see the town and arranging bookings outside when i had a problem with non-english speakers.
The hotel has a small but well-equipped gym and 24 hour room service with direct line which unfortunately failed to work at the time i was there, so i had to to downstairs and place my order through the receptionist.
The location is great, very close to the Guggenheim museum and the museum of fine arts as well as shops and restaurants

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Carlton is definitely the place to stay Bilbao! Very close to both the Guggenheim (just a few blocks) and the shopping district of Bilbao (which was actually quite good). The service was lovely, and the heritage aspects of the hotel were excellent! The breakfast was wonderful as well.

The room we stayed in had a great view over the circle that the hotel was situated on, and was lovely and spacious, and just right for three people! Would stay again and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the circle if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Carlton Hotel is a find. It's conveniently located, close to both the Guggenheim and the old town area on a lovely circle. The parking is convenient and you could say on the pricey side at 25 euro but very worth the convenience. We got a wonderful deal for our room online and were happy with the room size, quietness and comfortable bed and in fact stayed an extra day because of that. The bellman was very sweet and helpful. We went down to the gym because it was too dark to run outside and the equipment is outdated (think 1983), but perfectly fine for a little workout and a steam afterwards. The bathroom could probably use a reseal and polish to make the stone truely shine, but that is a very minor observation. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definately come back again to the wonderful city of Bilbao!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rizabiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited in September. Central location, near the metro, shopping and restaurants. Excellent service. We were very happy with our choice and would recommend it. Although it is centrally located the rooms were very quiet. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abuela_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#5 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1926, the Hotel Carlton is one of the landmark buildings and the most majestic hotel in Bilbao. Declared an Architectural, Artistic, Historical and Cultural Monument, over its history the building has witnessed important social and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing