We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in super location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iturrienea Ostatua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iturrienea Ostatua
Ranked #7 of 25 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value in super location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This pension is right in the Casco Viejo, and an easy walk from the metro station of that name - if you're arriving this way, make sure you turn right inside the station to come out by the archaeological museum in Plaza de Miguel de Unamono, because the other exit appears to be some distance away to the north. The owner of the pension, Igone, speaks good English, and is friendly and helpful. Our room was a reasonable size and opened onto an internal space, so was remarkably free of street noise for this kind of location (although we could hear the sounds of breakfast being prepared in the mornings). The fittings were not particularly modern (the shower was fairly average, although serviceable) but the whole place is clean and has a somewhat eccentric charm, with all sorts of unusual ornaments and decorations. You can opt for breakfast at a small extra charge, although the coffee is nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    76
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
86
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the owner of this hotel, Igone, is one of the friendliest ,most helpful people you will ever meet. Her hotel is really charming, set in the heart of the old town within walking distance to everything including one of the best tram systems I've seen. The room was always kept clean, it was very spacious & the balcony we had was perfect for watching the world of the casco viejo go by.
I doubt very much you'll find a cheaper place to stay that's as good as this in the heart of the old town, I just hope there's a room left the next time we come.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My two adult grandchildren and I stayed here two nights. Igone is wonderful and a very warm person who goes out of her way to help. Coffee, tea and rolls for breakfast.

Interesting antique B&B right in old town. Recommended!

Room Tip: Not at all handicap accessible. Lots of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yankeetwinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

In Bilbao if you need a central accomodation, clean and informal, this pension is what you're looking for. The place is in the heart of Casco Viejo, on the first floor of a nice building, the rooms, small and cozy, are furnished with a mix of vintage and modern furnitures and the reception / breakfast room is full of ornaments which give it a charming atmosphere.
The owner can help you with a lot of information to find a good restaurant and for the visit of the city (there are also many tourist guides available in several languages). The only (small) defect is that our room was a bit noisy in the morning from 8:00 AM (when breakfast start to be served), but nothing really disturbing, and anyway our room was the closest to the entrance / reception.
The breakfast (not included) is average but enough to start your day.
Unbeatable price for such a central location.

Room Tip: The room closest to the kitchen is a little bit noisy in the morning when breakfast is going to be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

After a bit stranded in a cold shower with hailstorm, we finally reached the Iturrienea Ostatua where we received a warm welcome by Igone, its manageress. Our room #6 was cosy, clean and equipped with a room heater. Igone was always so helpful in offering travel tips and in answering our questions that we were able to have wonderful experience in Bilbao. The neighborhood was fun to explore, we saw Bilbao's very local side. In the hotel we also enjoyed our breakfast in its dining area with relaxing classical tunes. We still miss Bilbao, as well as iturrienea Ostatua.

Room Tip: When making your room reservation, make sure to confirm the room rate is inclusive of breakfast. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggm_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you're looking for a higher end experience stay in the Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao with a beautiful view of the Guggenheim - but, if you're looking to stay closer to the Old Quarter, this is a great little spot. We were debating between staying here or the Gran Hotel and chose this one just because of its easy proximity to different places we were interested in visiting as well as its reviews. The price also was very economical given the location. I loved that the place was family run and that it was so quirky...but, it's probably not for everyone. High-end luxury it's not, but it is friendly, welcoming and perfectly situated in Casca Vieja! Request a room in the back if you don't want to risk street noise coming in from the botellon out front on Thursday nights!

This place is easy to miss - expect to walk past it the first time. You'll also need to buzz up to be let in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shau-Ru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Tough review this, but I will try to be objective.

From the moment we walked through the door (and were shocked at the clutter and mess) we were made to feel like we were in someone's home, and not a 'hostal' (budget guesthouse in Spain).

Her dog was allowed to roam freely in the breakfast/reception area (including on the sofa), the owner bluntly told us no guests were permitted in rooms (not that we had any intention of inviting anyone) and no food or drink, not even a coffee first thing in the morning, were allowed in rooms due to hygiene issues. This seemed rather ironic as there was so much 'bric-a-brac' crammed into all parts of this very dusty accommodation, including the rooms AND the shower sealant and grouting were mouldy and discoloured, that we felt it was just petty.

Being forced to sit in reception with strangers just after rising to have a coffee seemed ridiculous and so we had to shower and dress and go out into the street before having so much as a mouthful of refreshment.

In addition, the walls were paper-thin, with noise from adjoining rooms, reception/eating area, above and the street.

If you like 1950s boarding house rules and restrictions you'll enjoy this place. If, like us, you don't then you won't enjoy staying here. Simples!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#17 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#23 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iturrienea Ostatua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iturrienea Ostatua

Property: Iturrienea Ostatua
Address: Calle Santa Maria 14, 1ero | Calle Santa Maria 14, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iturrienea Ostatua 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmful, every room is decorated with items, fabrics and handmade crafts that go along with the original and peculiar style of this place, obtaining a warm an cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Iturrienea Ostatua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iturrienea Ostatua Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing