We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guggenheim Museum Bilbao

Guggenheim Museum Bilbao
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.78*
and up
Guggenheim Bilbao Inside and Outside Tour
Ranked #1 of 113 things to do in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American architect Frank Gehry is responsible for this architectural masterpiece: this fantastic chrome and metal creation houses a large collection of modern and contemporary art, a continuation of the Guggenheim legacy.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Not huge. But just right. You can spend half a day in here with comfort - and the price, while it's not good value, is acceptable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juan_lauda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,083
    2,756
    957
    261
    152
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place is famous?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

First I will talk about the building - The building is beautiful and is clearly an architectural statement.

The museum itself was super boring and a big waste of money. There was one interesting exhibit on art created by jewish concentration camp prisoners, but everything else was a joke. The art did not display very much artistic skill. I felt like I could recreate most of the pieces if I did enough drugs. One room was just an Ikea bed that was not assemble in the intended manner. I am not some absent minded art snob, this place was just really uninteresting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First visit to the pride of Basque country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I liked almost everything - I got lost a couple of times and did find it difficult to find my way around. The restaurant facilities were not adequate to the numbers and I would hate to see it in full season. The architecture is amazing and the visual from the outside is beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank roundwoodfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An architectural masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

It seems incredible that this wonderful building ("the first architectural masterpiece of the XXIst Century") is almost well into its second decade already. It continues to amaze and enthrall visitors, and has been the catalyst for the area's development. Take some time to stroll around the building; go across the pedestrian bridge and walk along the riverside.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Guggenheim- Bilbao”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was a destination on our recent tour of Spain. I found the building itself interesting but the art much less so. The building is the art as far as I am concerned. Also interesting is some of the parts of the building is already damaged.
I also found out that the Guggenheim Foundation gave no money for the building or the art. A city enters to get the right to the name (Bilbao won) but that is as far as it goes- the right to the name after a certain amount of years can be taken away or given up by either party. If any part of this information is wrong, apologies given.
If you are in Bilbao, a visit is appropropriate. If not, don't make a special trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guggenheim Museum Bilbao also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Guggenheim Museum Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing