We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Bilbao Centro

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Clean rooms, great price and fantastic location.

We were 15 mins from pretty much all of Bilbao (San Mames, Casco Viejo, etc) Pretty close to main roads out of Bilbao (we rented a car for 4 days).

We were really happy with staying there and will definitely stay there again when we visit Bilbao.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CptMidway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    1,040
    319
    29
    13
See reviews for
342
970
120
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked here as it mentioned close proximity to the Guggenheim and other attractions. This was a slight exaggeration, but most things are within a 15 minute walk. The best of the bars and restaurants are a little way away from the hotel but Bilbao is a pleasant place to walk through so not too much of a problem.
The rooms are what you expect from an Ibis, clean, functional and modern. I was pleased to see default items like an ironing board and iron, hairdryer and free wifi in each room. The wifi by the way was VERY slow, almost unworkable. I peaked at about 18 kbps, the speed of a slow dial up modem.

Staff were excellent; from check in to dining room. I got some great advice on places to visit with a detailed map. When I headed out for dinner the desk staff recommended some fine restaurants and the one I went to, La Mary, was exceptionally good and only two blocks away.
Parking is limited and cost 10 € per night which I thought was reasonable. Breakfast was slightly limited but all-you-can-eat buffet style with a mix of hot and cold selections. I didn’t have dinner nor use the bar but it seemed quite popular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonBunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a standard modern chain hotel. Normally I would be looking for something with more character. However, I booked the night before and was after a convenient and affordable hotel with wifi and a bar! For 62 Euros this fit the bill. I am not proud of the fact that I only planned one night in Bilbao and it is clearly a place I would like to return to absorb the culture a bit more. However my sole purpose was to stop over a night to see the Guggenheim on my way from Barcelona to the ferry in Santander. This Ibis, ticked all the boxes. It was pouring rain the day I was in Bilbao. I discarded any options other than taxis. It was about 5 euros to the hotel; there is a cab stand right across the street from the hotel and it was about 5 euros to the Guggenhiem and then back. I had a lovely hot shower on my return; enjoyed some drinks in the hotel bar and had a lovely stew in the restaurant before I got a good nights sleep and took a cab for about 6 euros to the bus station to take the bust to Santander to catch a ferry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I drove across to Bilbao from Alicante last week and we decided to have a mini-break in the city before catching the ferry to Portsmouth. The hotel was unbelieveable value, with precisely what we needed, secure (under the hotel) parking at 10E a night, a boutique hotel room with all you need, bang in the city centre, I think we paid about 48E/night incl breakfast, which was more than adequate. In addition, we had one of the rooms they let for taking a dog in with us, not any different to the others from what we could see, although we did pay 15E/night for this. Bilbao itself is a nice enough city, although I much preferred San Sebastian when we were there in July, although this was probably biased because we were there in the height of Summer. An excellent stop over hotel for a few days break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouton99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a standard Iibis hotel so you know what you get. It is like many others good value for your money. The rooms are comfortable and surprisingly quiet especially when your window is facing the courtyard. We didn't bother to eat breakfast in the hotel because there are plenty of very nice coffee bars around. Just cross the next street and you will have good coffee together with plenty of nice pintxos. Further there are plenty of restaurants and shops around so getting something to eat or shopping is made easy. Within an acceptable walking distance you will be in the very center of the town and the Guggenheim or the old center aren't far away either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My OH, son and I took the bus from Bilbao airport to the Plaza Moyua and then walked to the hotel. The Ibis is within walking distance to all the tourist sights. The only time we used the Credittrans card was to take the metro to visit the Hanging bridge, pay for the funicular and the bus back to the airport.
We stayed at the Ibis for 4 nights. The hotel is clean and the staff very helpful. We ate at the cafés near the hotel for breakfast. Son really loved the fresh orange juice!

The hotel is in a good location and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Hotel Artetxe
Hotel Artetxe
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Sercotel Coliseo
Sercotel Coliseo
#12 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bilbao Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bilbao Centro

Property: Ibis Bilbao Centro
Address: C/ General Concha 28, 48010 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Bilbao Centro 1*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Bilbao Centro hotel enjoys an excellent location at the heart of this great city, just 10 minutes' walk from the Guggenheim Museum. Its rooms are comfortable and fully equipped with air conditioning, heating and WIFI Internet. The hotel has two meeting rooms, 24-hour snack bar and indoor paying car park. The ibis Bilbao Centro hotel is located very close to the city's old quarter, the Arriaga Theater and the San Mamés soccer stadium. Pets are welcome. Registration No. H.BI.01209 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Bilbao Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bilbao Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing