We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Unforgettable Journey

Just completed the "Kinder Camino" tour which I recommend without reservations. Very responsive... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Q9565IXmck
,
Norwalk, Connecticut
Camino Kinder Camino June-10

Our experience with Fresco Tours from the very beginning organizing our booking with Alex and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
1623GT
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 73 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bilbao
from $36.37
More Info
from $18.54
More Info
from $86.90
More Info
from $68.36
More Info
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
71
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
71
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own pace buen camino self guided great trip tour companies luggage transfer manor houses hiking experience santiago tour pre trip planning highly recommend this trip fellow walkers single woman beautiful country excellent tour amazing experience kinder
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 73 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2018

My Camino de Santiago with Fresco Tours was one of the most amazing experiences in my life. I completed their Kinder Camino on October 5, 2018 and have only wonderful things to say about this journey. From the moment I booked my tour with Fresco Tours, I knew that I made the right decision. Alissa, their coordinator, took care of every detail and always took care of my requests. Hector and Alis, our guides, were superb. I knew immediately that I was in good hands with them. They taught us so much about the Camino and so much about their beautiful country. As a single woman in my 60's, I highly recommend Fresco Tours for the Camino de Santiago.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Maureen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Dear Maureen V,

The Camino is truly a special experience to have in life, and I am very happy that you were able to share it with the rest of the group, and even celebrate your arrival to Santiago with family!

Our guides, Alis & Hector, are very knowledgeable and have loads of experience along the trail. But more importantly, they love what they do, and that really shines through. We are lucky to have them as part of our Fresco family!

Moreover, one of the great things about our guided tours is that whether you come with friends/partner or solo, there is always time to walk on your own with your thoughts, but also time to share your journey with others along the trail, and you know there is always someone there to cheer you on.

Take care and keep on walking!

Best regards,

Alissa J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

I had a first rate experience walking the kinder, gentler Camino organized by Fresco Tours. Our guides were knowledgeable and took us to places just off the Camino that
really enriched the experience. The several inns we stayed in over the 10 day walk many of them over two hundred years were well appointed and each had its own charm. All the meals were prepared with local ingredients even the al fresco lunches prepared by our guides. The nine other fellow pilgrims that made up our group came from different parts of the US and Australia. I could have asked for a more convivial
group,

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank GoPlaces626648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Dear GoPlaces626648,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, though the text was unfortunately cut off for some reason. :(

Nonetheless, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience on the trail with your group and your Fresco Tours guides.

We are very fortunate to have guides who are experienced and knowledgeable, but who also wear many hats, among them, that of chefs! They pride themselves in preparing tasty gourmet picnics for the group (when weather allows), made up of fresh and local ingredients, so that you can really get a taste of the Camino.

Thank you again and all the best!

Kind regards,

Alissa J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

Awesome experience on the kinder camino de santiago. 3 years ago myself and 2 other friends discussed walking the camino, ultimately 6 of us just completed walking the camino. None of us envisioned how well we would be taken care of from the initial planning via email to final completion. I have been totally impressed by the thoroughness and follow through of each request, hotels prior to and after (we did some sight-seeing in Madrid and Santiago), train tickets and a food tour were arranged by Alissa. The tour guides, Piero and Roberto, made this walk special via their knowledge, enthusiasm, ever watchful care (myself and anther friend walked very slowly), changes due to weather were seamlessly made,the evening meeting kept our group informed of the next day walk with a printed plan, and the picnic lunches by Piero superb. Our bus driver, Raul, also provide safe travel. The restaurants and evening accommodations excellent. Needless, to say Fresco tour made this a wonderful and unforgettable experience with friends.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank aztsteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear aztsteward,

So lovely to hear that you enjoyed the Camino and were able to accomplish this grand achievement with your friends! It was a pleasure to be able to help you with arrangements, and more importantly, to know that you had a grand old time. :)

We are very lucky to have a great team of guides and support staff who love what they do and enjoying sharing their knowledge and experiences. Besides, they put together a pretty yummy picnic to boot! We always try to use fresh, local ingredients and make each picnic lunch different so that you can get a taste of different delights offered in Spain.

I look forward to hearing more about your trip and hope that you will cherish the memories made on the Camino for years to come!

Best regards,

Alissa J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

Our ten days could not have been better. What made it the best were our two guides, David and Dora. By golly, in every way they were more than outstanding, in caring of us, teaching us the history, sharing how to experience the Camino, helping us when we needed help, laughing with us and just being great hosts. Our accomodation was superb, the food was almost too good and the experience has been superlative.
Barbara Wybar

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank bwybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear bwybar,

It's so great to hear that you had fun on the Camino and were well-taken care of! I concur with you that David & Dora are knowledgeable and caring guides, and we are very fortunate to have them on our team. :)

The great thing about the Kinder Camino guided tour is that you can walk at your own pace, enjoy the company of others or fly solo for a while, but know that you are always supported behind the scenes. Plus, you know that at the end of the trail awaits a yummy, freshly-made picnic lunch or a pick-me-up snack to keep you going.

I hope you'll keep on walking and "singing" about the Camino!

Warm regards,

Alissa J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

We booked our tour with Fresco on the recommendation of a friend and after looking at several other tour companies - we are so happy we did! Hovering around 60 years old and in good physical condition, we wanted a Camino experience that challenged us physically and spiritually, but still provided flexibility to walk at our own pace, be with a group or not for meals and sight seeing, transported our luggage, and selected comfortable lodging each night. Fresco did all of this and more, flawlessly. We felt that the 200km tour was just the right length to get into the pilgrim groove but not too long as to occupy all of our vacation time. We were very fortunate that the seven other pilgrims who shared our itinerary were wonderful people and became close friends during the walk. Although, with research one could select and book the hotels on their own and arrange for luggage transfer, it was very comforting to know that Fresco Tours was just a phone call away if problems presented, which they didn't. If you are thinking of hiking the Camino, look at what Fresco offers - you will be glad you did.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elba P, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear Alex and Marcia! Thank you so much for your review! I am so very happy to have had a chance to meet you and to discuss your Camino experience while enjoying a nice glass of wine with you and the rest of the group :-)

Our Fresco Start self-guided tours are designed in such a way that they provide our pilgrims the opportunity to have more freedom to walk at their own pace and to still reap all the benefits of being with a group of fellow travellers to exchange experiences at the end of the day. I am glad that you found that this tour worked perfectly for you and your hopes for the Camino.

Thanks again for choosing Fresco Tours for your Camino and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews