We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The Most Amazing Experience

My Camino de Santiago with Fresco Tours was one of the most amazing experiences in my life. I... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Maureen V
Wonderful way to walk the Camino

I had a first rate experience walking the kinder, gentler Camino organized by Fresco Tours. Our... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
GoPlaces626648
Read all 65 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bilbao
from $254.10
More Info
from $219.50
More Info
from $102.80
More Info
from $86.60
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
63
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own pace buen camino self guided great trip luggage transfer manor houses tour companies pre trip planning fellow pilgrims single woman beautiful country an amazing experience excellent tour kinder elba leon sarria
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 65 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2018

We did the 115 K version of the Camino de Santiago as a self guided tour with Fresco tours. They did an excellent job of providing us with necessary trail information (arranged by day), arranging fine accommodations along the Camino, and ensuring our luggage was waiting for us at our next location. We had an orientation guide at the beginning where we discussed the trip and oriented us to the trail markers during the beginning of our first trail day; and a different guide in Santiago who provided an excellent tour of the Cathedral and it's wonderful museum. This was truly a great adventure even though we had rain during almost every hike (bring your poncho which was by the way identified as an important item to pack in their prep materials which they provided well in advance).

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elba P, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Dear Scott and Catherine! I am very glad that you've sad such a wonderful experience on the Camino, albeit the rain! I always pray for good weather for my pilgrims, but it doesn't always work...
It has been great working with you and Cathy to ensure that your trip was a memorable one.
Wishing you a buen Camino in life and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

From the very start of our contact with Fresco Tours I could not have been more pleased with everyone that was involved in our planning of this trip. The "Camino" speaks for itself, but what makes it special is what Fresco provides to you in the way of accommodations, food and especially office staff and guides. From the start, Alissa couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful than if she was my personal assistant. Constantly answering our questions (some of which seem pretty sophomoric in retrospect). Our accommodations were what made the Camino special for us. Manor homes (Pazos) and hotels that were beyond any expectations. And the food! There was actually too much for my liking, but you don't have to eat it all. But that was hard to do. We only had two picnics because of the threat of rain. But they were excellent in their preparation and presentation.
Our guides David and Jaume were an excellent team and individually were wonderful to walk along with. Their knowledge of all things Camino was very impressive. The first day of our walk I injured my knee and was slower than the others and David and Jaume were always concerned and asking me if I needed assistance but didn't insist that I do anything other than what I wanted to do. I would recommend Fresco without hesitation to anyone. If you want to do a guided Camino you should definitely go with Fresco Tours.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank aluckart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Dear aluckart,

Thanks for your feedback on your Kinder Camino de Santiago - it was great working with you and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on the trail and at your accommodations. I agree with you that David & Jaume are very knowledgable and a great asset to our team, and we are fortunate to have them!

I am sorry to hear about your knee problem, but hope you are on the mend. Moreover, I hope that the Camino helped distract you from your knee, perhaps even inspire you with photos!

Wishing you a speedy recovery and we hope to see you on the trail again in the future!

Kind regards,

Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Fresco tours made this long-anticipated walk along the Camino de Santiago everything we could have hoped for. Our wonderful guides, Roberto and Dora, did everything possible to make this the trip of a lifetime for the seven pilgrims in our group. This tour featured a carefully planned walking route with backup support on a comfortable bus, wonderful meals featuring local cuisine, fantastic wayside picnics, and accommodations in beautiful country Pazos. Our tour ended with the dramatic swinging of the Botafumeiro during the Pilgrim Mass in the Cathedral of Santiago. All things considered, our experience with Fresco Tours could not have been better.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Dear Rebecca M,

I am very happy to hear that you had such a nice time on the Camino, and especially that you were able to share this experience with your sister!

We are very lucky to have Roberto & Dora - our knowledgeable guides, who moreover, are picnic experts! :)

How wonderful hat you were able to see the Botafumeiro at the Pilgrim Mass - a great way to end the Camino!

Thank you again for joining us on the trail and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm regards,

Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

We walked the 153 kilometre Portuguese Camino in a 15 member tour group organised and managed by the Spanish based Fresco organisation in May 2018. The walk commenced in Porto, Portugal and finished at the cathedral in Santiago, Spain.
This was a wonderful experience due to the historical and geographical background of Portugal and Spain greatly enhanced by the staff of the Fresco organisation and the friendliness of members of the tour group (none of whom we had previously known).
The tour package included the carriage of baggage, expert guides, gourmet meals, high quality and quantity local wines and both modern and historic manor accommodation. Obviously this package was expensive but worth every penny.
Given the length and difficulty of some stages of the walk (up to 25 K each day) sound preparation is essential. However even at the rather advanced ages of over 80 years, the walk was accomplished without the need to catch a bus.
The Fresco staff were quite excellent in every way. The experiences were just perfect.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Hola James,

It was great to meet you and be able to join the fun for a few days. The Camino is truly a magical journey and your guides (Raúl and Alís) do a wonderful job managing all the details so that your only concern is to enjoy the walk. Their knowledge of the area bring alive the sights with history and stories. They, along with Alissa, are really true experts and I am grateful to have them as part of the Fresco Tours team. Thank you again for your kind words and I hope our paths cross again!

Saludos from Spain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018

We just returned from Kinder Portugues tour with Fresco. Our guides Alis and Raul were fun attentive and always helpful. We thought it would be better if we could choose our meal options but Fresco and our guides arranged wonderful meals which exposed us to the local cuisine much better than if we had tried to navigate menus. Same with the hotels - all were either well located or great spots, usually both. The arrangements are seemless with Fresco doing all the work of arrangements and baggage transfer. If you didn't feel like walking or just part way that was accomplished. This is a top flight agency - use it with confidence!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank beentheretooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Dear beentheretoo,

Thank you for your kind words - we are so happy that you enjoyed your time on the Camino Portugues, and with Raul & Alis - true rock stars! :)

We select our accommodations based in part on hospitality and location - and the location can be magical! Moreover, we like for you to try and sample the local flavors in the menus that we select for the group. I'm glad you were able to enjoy dinner on one evening and lunch the next day at one of the restaurants (as well as some shopping)!

It was great working with you and we hope to have you join us again in the future. Buen Camino!

Warm regards,

Alissa J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews