We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One of life’s greatest experiences

It is now 12 months since we walked the Camino from León to Santiago de Compostela with Fresco... read more

Reviewed April 16, 2020
CharlesR691
,
Melbourne, Australia
Camino de Santiago self guided tour

We had a wonderful self-guided tour with Fresco Tours from Ponferrada, Spain to Santiago de... read more

Reviewed February 2, 2020
Trail307969
Read all 98 reviews
  
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
96
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
96
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portuguese camino self guided own pace fellow pilgrims manor houses camino walk hiking experience santiago tour bus driver trip arrangements travel logistics highly recommend this trip tour starting knowledgeable tour guides side trips rewarding experience group tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 98 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017

If you are planning on walking the Camino for the first time, make sure you have Fresco as a part of your planning process. Whether it is a guided tour, as we just finished, or you want to do it on your own, they are the experts and will guide you every step if the way. And it doesn't matter which of the many routes you are interested in, they know "the way". We were in a group of 14, and our oldest was 80 with the youngest at 17. So while this hike is open for all ages, it can be strenuous, but a call to Fresco will outline the options that will most likely make the trip do able for you.

Make the call, talk to Alissa or Alex and you will not regret doing so.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank jim128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi Jim128,

Thank you so much for putting your faith in Fresco Tours! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your trip with David and Dolores, and in fact, I saw that you actually became a pilgrim, robe and all!

We are so lucky to have a great staff of knowledgeable guides, who are full of experiences and stories. They are a huge contribution and value to our team. Also, we are always happy to accommodate our clients’ needs as best we can, whether it be the type of walk they want to do or an item in our signature gourmet picnic lunches!

Thanks again for choosing Fresco Tours and we wish you a wonderful summer!

Best regards,

Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time and I could not have asked for a better experience. Fresco Tours takes care of even the smallest detail to make your journey the best it could be. Our Guides David and Delores could not have been more knowledgeable, friendly and attentive to our every need. The journey to Santiago was filled with beautiful countryside, architecture and history. Walking into kilometer zero in front of the cathedral was a very moving experience and one we will never forget. Fresco helped us extend our trip 3 days in Madrid and 2 days in Santiago. They helped with the extra reservations and train tickets to Leon. They arranged a side tour to the coast and even helped with our train tickets back to Madrid. I highly recommend this trip and Fresco Tours. You will enjoy the journey and the new friends you meet along the way. Ed L.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Hola Ed L,

Thank you, Thank you! Wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed the Camino de Santiago and the company of both your guides, David and Dolores. Having 2 of them AND a bus driver with you on the trial allows Fresco Tours to make sure that those "little" details get noticed. They both always keep their eyes and ears open to make sure you are well cared for and they are very good at what they do!

Alissa from the Office sends her regards and is happy to know that all your pre and post tour arrangements that she made for you went smoothly.

Thank you again and we hope to have you join us in the future!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We joined the Camino in Sarria. Approximately 120 km walked over 6 days to Santiago. Fresco Tours did a great job. Excellent meeting and dinner on the first night, with an information package for the following days. This trip was "self guided" but so easy to follow. The other guys on our tour were fun and so easy to get along with. The hotels were fine, with a great breakfast provided each day. It was great hiking with a day pack, with the heavy bags being transported to the following evening's destination. Fresco also arranged a last evening farewell dinner in Santaigo, and a great Cathedral tour with a well-informed guide.Elba, the local contact with Fresco Tours, was amazing!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Mel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Melnchris,

Thank you for the kind review - always nice to hear back from our pilgrims! Alissa, who gave you your first night's Orientation meeting and took you out to dinner says Hola!
Glad to know that everyone got along well - tends to happen with like minded travelers. Elba sends her regards and was pleased to know that all went well on your Camino.
Well, if you are ever back in Spain or have an urge for the Camino Portugues, please do not hesitate to contact me!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Our hiking club from Ohio of 16 people did the Camino de Santiago with Fresco Tours. The experience was much more than expected. Our guides, Raul and Irene were outstanding. The experience with all the local foods, local hamlets and beautiful scenery will always be cherished by our club. Thanks again to Raul and Irene!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank LFE1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear LFE1037,

Great to hear that you made it home safely and that your Camino with Fresco Tours was much more than expected! Raul and Irene are true professionals and great fun to be with as well. Alissa mentioned that she enjoyed stopping in to meet the gang too! Hopefully we can get the hiking club back for a Camino Portugues in the future! If there is anything I can do, please do not hesitate to contact me. Keep walking!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

We did the Kinder Camino tour in May of 2017 — and it is my personal greatest travel experience, thanks in no small amount to the excellence of Fresco Tours organization and superb guides. Our was a guided tour beginning in Leon with a couple of hops and skips (Iron Cross, etc.) before starting in earnest at Sarria for the non-stop walking route to Santiago de Compostela.

I cannot say enough positive about Fresco's expert handling of every aspect of the tour — from assistance with every detail before arriving to the guides, the lodgings, the food/restaurants, and even the unexpected gift of a photo gallery taken by the guides, much of it candid and from perspectives and perches we could never get — given to us at the completion of the tour. Our Camino included side trips to locations we would never have seen without guides, and that in itself is valuable beyond measure. Monasteries, an ancient Celtic Fort just off the Camino (where we could see dozens of pilgrims passing it by below), and lots of historic elements that are priceless and easily missed without skilled guides.

Our guides were not only experts on the Camino — David and Jaume knew the Camino — every meter of it — like the back of their hands, but experts at managing a group of of people they never met before the tour and keeping us moving, well cared for, well fed, and happy with "The Magic of the Camino" every step of the way! You could have as much solo walking as desired, if you desired — or stay with segments of the group — everyone at their own pace. Even so, we knew we were being looked after even when the guides were out of sight for a while.

Picnic lunches of fresh, delicious salads, cheeses, meats, Galcian bread (at every meal!) and fruit awaited us weather permitting, or restaurants in case of rain.

Our lodgings were beautiful, welcoming, and comfortable every step of the way. (Only one place with paper thin walls was a place to be careful of your volume at every turn.)
Far above the Albergue experience, which is why we were with Fresco to begin with.

We were bused, with much happiness, each day by Jose Antonio, our smiling driver who was also never too far away should the need arise. There were check in points along the day's path, and things could be left on the bus if they became unnecessary, or if they were there in case of need.

With such a standard of excellence and happiness — I'm now reluctant to travel elsewhere and book any other tour company as it's almost sure to disappoint after this! A hard act to follow for any other company.

Bravo to Alissa who booked us all and kept us organized, and to David & Jaume, our intrepid guides. Fresco has guides who've done everything from the Himalayas to African safaris. Spain is their backyard, and the Camino their passion. Much love all around!

Highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank TravelingShoesGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Marielle,

Wow!!! Coming from an avid traveler who has written almost 200 reviews (and not all of them get a 5-star rating) this means a lot to me! Thank you, thank you!

I've always told my team that I want our clients to walk away from one of our tours and say that it was their best trip ever. As you say, I set the bar high so it makes me very proud when they deliver. They are an amazing group of people that do what they do because they are who they are! I'll have to get David and Jaume to send me their recipes for our Fresco Tour Cookbook ;)

Come back and visit us - we hope to show you more of this wonderful country!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

p.s. Thanks for the photos - love those raspberries at the Pequeño Oasis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews