We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Camino Portugués”
Review of Fresco Tours

Fresco Tours
Ranked #8 of 50 Tours in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visiting the Basque Country? Looking to walk the Camino de Santiago? Spend an afternoon or day with us and, we'll show you our neighborhood! We've got lots of things to share with you - from breath taking coastal walks leading into San Sebastian, to the world acclaimed Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, and fabulous vinos of La Rioja wine region!
Reviewed July 20, 2017

My family and I just returned from a glorious hike on the El Camino Portugués. With every detail meticulously planned out and seamlessly executed, Fresco Tours exceeded our expectations in every way. This was, by far, the best vacation we have ever experienced!! If you love to hike but prefer to rough it smoothly by eating gourmet meals and sleeping in a comfy bed, this trip is for you! Ready, set, Go!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank happyhiker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Dear happyhiker28,

Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed being a Fresco Tours "pampered pilgrim" - we do our best to take care of all those little details so that your only worry is to walk. We'll take care of the rest!

We hope to have you and your family back in the future - perhaps the Basque Country or perhaps Andalucia? If there is anything I can do, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"own pace"
in 7 reviews
"buen camino"
in 5 reviews
"self guided"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 5 reviews
"luggage transfer"
in 3 reviews
"manor houses"
in 3 reviews
"tour companies"
in 3 reviews
"pre trip planning"
in 2 reviews
"fellow pilgrims"
in 2 reviews
"single woman"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 2 reviews
"kinder"
in 17 reviews
"elba"
in 7 reviews
"leon"
in 6 reviews
"sarria"
in 5 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 65 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2017

If you are planning on walking the Camino for the first time, make sure you have Fresco as a part of your planning process. Whether it is a guided tour, as we just finished, or you want to do it on your own, they are the experts and will guide you every step if the way. And it doesn't matter which of the many routes you are interested in, they know "the way". We were in a group of 14, and our oldest was 80 with the youngest at 17. So while this hike is open for all ages, it can be strenuous, but a call to Fresco will outline the options that will most likely make the trip do able for you.

Make the call, talk to Alissa or Alex and you will not regret doing so.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank jim128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa J, Guest Relations Manager at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi Jim128,

Thank you so much for putting your faith in Fresco Tours! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your trip with David and Dolores, and in fact, I saw that you actually became a pilgrim, robe and all!

We are so lucky to have a great staff of knowledgeable guides, who are full of experiences and stories. They are a huge contribution and value to our team. Also, we are always happy to accommodate our clients’ needs as best we can, whether it be the type of walk they want to do or an item in our signature gourmet picnic lunches!

Thanks again for choosing Fresco Tours and we wish you a wonderful summer!

Best regards,

Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time and I could not have asked for a better experience. Fresco Tours takes care of even the smallest detail to make your journey the best it could be. Our Guides David and Delores could not have been more knowledgeable, friendly and attentive to our every need. The journey to Santiago was filled with beautiful countryside, architecture and history. Walking into kilometer zero in front of the cathedral was a very moving experience and one we will never forget. Fresco helped us extend our trip 3 days in Madrid and 2 days in Santiago. They helped with the extra reservations and train tickets to Leon. They arranged a side tour to the coast and even helped with our train tickets back to Madrid. I highly recommend this trip and Fresco Tours. You will enjoy the journey and the new friends you meet along the way. Ed L.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Hola Ed L,

Thank you, Thank you! Wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed the Camino de Santiago and the company of both your guides, David and Dolores. Having 2 of them AND a bus driver with you on the trial allows Fresco Tours to make sure that those "little" details get noticed. They both always keep their eyes and ears open to make sure you are well cared for and they are very good at what they do!

Alissa from the Office sends her regards and is happy to know that all your pre and post tour arrangements that she made for you went smoothly.

Thank you again and we hope to have you join us in the future!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We joined the Camino in Sarria. Approximately 120 km walked over 6 days to Santiago. Fresco Tours did a great job. Excellent meeting and dinner on the first night, with an information package for the following days. This trip was "self guided" but so easy to follow. The other guys on our tour were fun and so easy to get along with. The hotels were fine, with a great breakfast provided each day. It was great hiking with a day pack, with the heavy bags being transported to the following evening's destination. Fresco also arranged a last evening farewell dinner in Santaigo, and a great Cathedral tour with a well-informed guide.Elba, the local contact with Fresco Tours, was amazing!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank melnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Melnchris,

Thank you for the kind review - always nice to hear back from our pilgrims! Alissa, who gave you your first night's Orientation meeting and took you out to dinner says Hola!
Glad to know that everyone got along well - tends to happen with like minded travelers. Elba sends her regards and was pleased to know that all went well on your Camino.
Well, if you are ever back in Spain or have an urge for the Camino Portugues, please do not hesitate to contact me!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Our hiking club from Ohio of 16 people did the Camino de Santiago with Fresco Tours. The experience was much more than expected. Our guides, Raul and Irene were outstanding. The experience with all the local foods, local hamlets and beautiful scenery will always be cherished by our club. Thanks again to Raul and Irene!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank LFE1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear LFE1037,

Great to hear that you made it home safely and that your Camino with Fresco Tours was much more than expected! Raul and Irene are true professionals and great fun to be with as well. Alissa mentioned that she enjoyed stopping in to meet the gang too! Hopefully we can get the hiking club back for a Camino Portugues in the future! If there is anything I can do, please do not hesitate to contact me. Keep walking!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco Tours also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Fresco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing