We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous experience!!”
Review of Fresco Tours

Fresco Tours
Ranked #8 of 50 Tours in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visiting the Basque Country? Looking to walk the Camino de Santiago? Spend an afternoon or day with us and, we'll show you our neighborhood! We've got lots of things to share with you - from breath taking coastal walks leading into San Sebastian, to the world acclaimed Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, and fabulous vinos of La Rioja wine region!
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Our hiking club from Ohio of 16 people did the Camino de Santiago with Fresco Tours. The experience was much more than expected. Our guides, Raul and Irene were outstanding. The experience with all the local foods, local hamlets and beautiful scenery will always be cherished by our club. Thanks again to Raul and Irene!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank LFE1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear LFE1037,

Great to hear that you made it home safely and that your Camino with Fresco Tours was much more than expected! Raul and Irene are true professionals and great fun to be with as well. Alissa mentioned that she enjoyed stopping in to meet the gang too! Hopefully we can get the hiking club back for a Camino Portugues in the future! If there is anything I can do, please do not hesitate to contact me. Keep walking!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"own pace"
in 7 reviews
"buen camino"
in 5 reviews
"self guided"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 5 reviews
"luggage transfer"
in 3 reviews
"manor houses"
in 3 reviews
"tour companies"
in 3 reviews
"pre trip planning"
in 2 reviews
"fellow pilgrims"
in 2 reviews
"single woman"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 2 reviews
"kinder"
in 17 reviews
"elba"
in 7 reviews
"leon"
in 6 reviews
"sarria"
in 5 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2017

We did the Kinder Camino tour in May of 2017 — and it is my personal greatest travel experience, thanks in no small amount to the excellence of Fresco Tours organization and superb guides. Our was a guided tour beginning in Leon with a couple of hops and skips (Iron Cross, etc.) before starting in earnest at Sarria for the non-stop walking route to Santiago de Compostela.

I cannot say enough positive about Fresco's expert handling of every aspect of the tour — from assistance with every detail before arriving to the guides, the lodgings, the food/restaurants, and even the unexpected gift of a photo gallery taken by the guides, much of it candid and from perspectives and perches we could never get — given to us at the completion of the tour. Our Camino included side trips to locations we would never have seen without guides, and that in itself is valuable beyond measure. Monasteries, an ancient Celtic Fort just off the Camino (where we could see dozens of pilgrims passing it by below), and lots of historic elements that are priceless and easily missed without skilled guides.

Our guides were not only experts on the Camino — David and Jaume knew the Camino — every meter of it — like the back of their hands, but experts at managing a group of of people they never met before the tour and keeping us moving, well cared for, well fed, and happy with "The Magic of the Camino" every step of the way! You could have as much solo walking as desired, if you desired — or stay with segments of the group — everyone at their own pace. Even so, we knew we were being looked after even when the guides were out of sight for a while.

Picnic lunches of fresh, delicious salads, cheeses, meats, Galcian bread (at every meal!) and fruit awaited us weather permitting, or restaurants in case of rain.

Our lodgings were beautiful, welcoming, and comfortable every step of the way. (Only one place with paper thin walls was a place to be careful of your volume at every turn.)
Far above the Albergue experience, which is why we were with Fresco to begin with.

We were bused, with much happiness, each day by Jose Antonio, our smiling driver who was also never too far away should the need arise. There were check in points along the day's path, and things could be left on the bus if they became unnecessary, or if they were there in case of need.

With such a standard of excellence and happiness — I'm now reluctant to travel elsewhere and book any other tour company as it's almost sure to disappoint after this! A hard act to follow for any other company.

Bravo to Alissa who booked us all and kept us organized, and to David & Jaume, our intrepid guides. Fresco has guides who've done everything from the Himalayas to African safaris. Spain is their backyard, and the Camino their passion. Much love all around!

Highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank Marielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Marielle,

Wow!!! Coming from an avid traveler who has written almost 200 reviews (and not all of them get a 5-star rating) this means a lot to me! Thank you, thank you!

I've always told my team that I want our clients to walk away from one of our tours and say that it was their best trip ever. As you say, I set the bar high so it makes me very proud when they deliver. They are an amazing group of people that do what they do because they are who they are! I'll have to get David and Jaume to send me their recipes for our Fresco Tour Cookbook ;)

Come back and visit us - we hope to show you more of this wonderful country!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

p.s. Thanks for the photos - love those raspberries at the Pequeño Oasis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

We opted for the Fresco Tours 115km self-guided option from Sarria to Santiago de Compostela, and it was an amazing experience. We wanted the flexibility of going at our own pace and choosing our own mealtimes/evening activities, and this worked perfectly. We could have walked just the 2 of us, but after the Orientation Dinner, we got along so well with the other people we met that we ended up sticking together for the entire week. The mileage of 12-15 miles per day was just right ..... challenging enough to feel a sense of achievement, but plenty of time to stop and admire the scenery and have a leisurely lunch-break. Elba was amazing during the booking process and helped us with additional hotel bookings before and after the tour. Alissa was wonderful once we arrived in Sarria. Both ladies really went out of their way to make this a very special vacation. It was awesome. Beautiful scenery, great accommodation and an experience I will always remember. Thank You, Fresco Tours!

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank CaymanPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Hola CaymanPen,

Great news! I love to hear that the group bonded and formed a special group of peregrinos. This tends to happen - like minded travelers that are willing to spend a week of their vacation time walking across a country says a lot about each of you! It also confirms my belief that you don't need to sleep in an Albergue to have a Camino experience. Glad to know that Alissa and Elba provided you with all the guidance before and during your trip - they are an outstanding combination of caring and kindness!

Keep us posted on future visits to Spain - maybe we'll see you on the Camino Portugues...

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

P.S. Thank you for the picture - good looking group! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

I really cannot say enough positive about Fresco tours. From the quick response to my initial inquiry, to the organization and support throughout planning, to the knowledgeable and friendly tour guides and the overall travel/logistics coordination experience, they are truly outstanding.
I joined the group as a solo traveler and never worried about one thing because everything was thought of and very well executed.
Buen Camino!

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Love2TravelSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Dear Love2TravelSRQ,

If my guess as to your true identity is correct, I had the pleasure to be with you on the Camino!

Regardless, thank you for the praise - I am fortunate to be surrounded by a fabulous team! We share a common goal and vision of what a Fresco Tours journey should be and it is a true labor of love. Come again - we'd love to have you back!

Abrazos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

We couldn't imagine going on the Camino any other way than with Fresco Tours. We are typically, "go it our own way travelers," however, we had no idea how to navigate our way, so we signed up on Fresco Tours to walk a section of the Camino, which was a long-standing goal for both of us to accomplish. Unfortunately, we needed to cancel the time we had planned last year, and Fresco Tours (Alissa was so helpful!) accommodating changes of our dates to go this May. Every part of our trip was expertly planned and thought through; from meeting the tour guides (Raul and Jaume), and starting in Leon with its amazing history and current vibrancy, to the last steps in Santiago de Compostella, we were taken care of like family. They were there to give us hugs and congratulate us there on the spot of the scallop shell in the plaza. Each evening we got our maps and rest stops and lunch spot for the day, and were guided with enough space to feel that we were on our own to explore and walk at our own pace. Raul and Jaume explained the history and were in constant contact with each person in the group and made sure we had everything we needed; especially food and drink stops. The picnics they prepared were so delicious and fresh, and when the weather didn't allow for it, we dined in family inns that had fresh and delicious food. They let me borrow a set of walking sticks; which I bonded with and made it possible for me to really enjoy the hikes, and they checked in all the way through to see how I was feeling. Alex joined our group for the last 4 days and he was so generous and had such pride in our tour and wanted each one of us to have a once in a lifetime experience. When we arrived at each inn, Alex, Raul and Jaume were greeted like long-lost family, getting hugs and the best treatment possible for our stay. They anticipated every need we may have for food, water, rest stops and pacing ourselves along the trail. It was great to learn the local history in each town and village, as you could walk past them and have no idea what you were seeing. Each country inn we stayed in was filled with jaw dropping charm, comfort, modern accommodations and fresh/local food and wine that was lovingly served by the family. We learned about all the local culture of Galicia, and got to experience the beautiful land with people farming with basic tools and seeing animals of all types: goats, sheep, chickens, cows/bulls, storks, and birds singing all day. The group was so supportive, funny and diverse and we truly helped each other meet our daily goals for our hikes. If you are thinking of walking the Camino; I strongly encourage you to go the Fresco Tour way!

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at Fresco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Hola Steve,

It was a pleasure meeting you and for me to have been able to join the fun for a few days. You are absolutely right - Raul and Jaume are great guides and wonderful hosts!
They are able to anticipate needs and be supportive while respecting your space and time on the trail. They are also pretty darn good at making a gourmet picnic!!! Keep walking and please keep us posted on your future travels to Spain! Thank you again!

Saludos from Spain,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco Tours also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Fresco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing