We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is one of the best I'v had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Agape

Restaurante Agape
Ranked #8 of 1,096 Restaurants in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is one of the best I'v had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'm glad to say having eaten in all 5 continents this restaurant would feature in my top ten most enjoyable meals. The food was simple but excellent. The surroundings genuine and non pretentious. The value for money a bonus. It's a difficult restaurant to find so get a taxi. The menu is limited but something for all I suggest. The overall experience something i found very enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    154
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kind of too good to be true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were going to be in Bilbao for just one day - one meal actually. There are lots of highly rated, though quite expensive, restaurants and we weren't completely up for that. This one, based on reviews, was highly rated and quite reasonable. The one thing we weren't certain of was how far out of our path we would have to travel. Truth is that it was about a 10-15 minute walk from where we were and where we wanted to be so we gave it a go. You are leaving the main tourist area to get here and you can see the change and increased diversity in the neighborhood as you approach. Then you get there and voila! - a smart little place, nice decor, a wonderful welcome and such good food and such a good price. I think the meal of the day at lunch was 12 euros for a starter, main, wine, bread and dessert. And all both high quality and delicious. The "cup of wine" was really about three glasses in a carafe. My son had rabbit, the others of us chicken. The starters were unusual and delicious. The server, maybe a manager or owner, was funny and helpful.. He was in a hurry, relieved that we spoke a little Spanish and he didn't have to explain each dish, thought I think he would have. Really such a nice addition to our day in Bilbao. Totally worth the slightly longer walk.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tgnorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting food, great service! Great Find on side street.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at restaurant before it opened for evening, so decided to return the next night. Host remembered us from the previous night! He spent much time explaining each dish in English to us! Started meal with small bits before main entree. All were delicious! Menu offers two fixed price menus. Check hours of operations as they are only open for lunch certain days and open @ 9:30 for evening meal. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank D Ford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality, great meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having reserved via the Internet, a few days earlier, we were personally received by the owner. The menu basically shows two menus, each with interesting dishes. We chose the larger one, and we were not disappointed. Five courses, all of them delicious, were served with just the right interval. The attention and explanations of the staff increased the joyful experience. To our surprise the wine was included in the menu price. We strongly recommend Agape whenever you visit Bilbao

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theodeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a beautiful meal here with lovely wine and very helpful and friendly staff. Prices vary throughout the week: there is a mid-week two course menu for around €13, whilst at weekends -including Fridays - there is a two course menu for around €21 or a taster menu which includes a half bottle of wine per person for €36 each. The taster menu started with three starters including a skewer of prawn and courgette, squid in its ink and Iberico ham croquettes. There was a choice of three main courses - duck, steak or hake. We chose the duck and steak which were both perfectly cooked. Puddings included a chocolate and almond brownie or chocolate croquettes with mandarin ice cream. Beautiful! The wine included in the taster menu price was very good quality. The restaurant gets really busy from 9.30pm, so it's advisable to call in earlier and reserve a table. A really happy, buzzy atmosphere with excellent staff -we'd definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Agape also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Restaurante Agape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing