We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY AVERAGE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 29, 2012

there is nothing memorable about this hotel.
they do not have any special treatment of guests. we were on honeymoon, they knew about it and none sent us greeting card or at least receptionist during ch/i says"Congratulations"... nothing...
room is small, bathroom does not have any door and just next to the entry door.
they put on their internet page that wifi is free in the hotel, but in the room we did not have any signal and could not use it, it was only in lobby and breakfast room. We thought there is some problem with internet and it will be fixed, but at reception we were told that it is always like that and just use it in the lobby.
the breakfast is average with poor selection of food. the fruits both days were spoiled.
the hotel is not bad, the room has comfy bed and shower is cool. but it is definitely not the best hotel we stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ridoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 889 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

In the city of Oviedo, nice rooms and good breakfast. Good quality

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aktan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Barcelo is an excellent chain. Its Oviedo location is nearly perfect. Good, modern room , clean and quiet with a central location and enough breakfast possibilities in its surroundings. recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILENLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Excellente breakfast, modern decoration and well located beside being in a neighborhood at narrow street

Heating system is not adequate, heated air that makes the place dry and provokes headache so dont go in winter

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaesarSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my wife for 5 days in August, and although there wasn't much too compain about, we were slightly disappointed.

The over-all feeling of the hotel is quite impersonal. The lobby is business-like, quite dark and spacious and perfect if you don't want to walk into other people.

The room was small. The bathroom was too much part of the room, with shower and toilet respectively being separated from the rest of the space by a glass door and the sink being IN the room. For those couples who are used to a bit of privacy, or who appreciate not waking up their spouse brushing their teeth: not ideal.

The design of the interior is modern, but not all that different from many 4-star business hotels... And the reading light in bed may have been pretty, but not at all practical...

No balcony, and a depressing view of walls and rooftops...

TV didn't offer anything in English / original version. We informed reception, and this issue wasn't solved.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel has been open for just 3 years. It is modern with plenty of Artwork visible and has an attractive facade on a not unnactractive street in an affluent part of the city. My partner is disabled and if this is the case with others with mobility issues therte is no problem. Look towards the car park entrance and there is a ramp that leads to a lift or elevator. We had a standard room that had been altered for mobility and it was spacious. The free wi fi was a welcome bonus.
Even pushing a wheelchair it is really only a pleasant 15 min walk to the old town through the nearby park which is well lit and very safe. The area the hotel is in has a number of bars nearby, walk towards the park after turning right out of the hotel and then turn right at the road junction. There you will find a number of quite select bars that are non too pricey serving this nice part of town. Most do a cheap menu del dias at lunchtimes. Not far from these bars is the Calatrava designed Palais which houses a number of stores. Obviously the recession has hit as they were none too busy. The shops in the centre though were doing a trade.
Restaurants of an evening can close on Sun night and Mon might need checking as well. They also tend to start serving from about 9 onwards. Portion control has not hit here and were large, it meant that I only had breakfast once in the hotel as I was so full still from the previous evening but this was good value in a bright room. Staff were English speaking and very pleasant.
All in all I would agree that in many respects it is not a 5* hotel but for a break in a stylish comfortable hotel in a good location at current prices it was hard to beat. If prices went up I would perhaps knock it down a rating but at present hard to beat.
I took a taxi from the airport this cost 63euro on a Sunday befor tipping, midweek it came to 53. Took about 25-30mins. Ate locally and will review restaurants in that area

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruffwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Nice hotel, i spent hours shopping for a hotel in Oviedo and this was good value since it included breakfast and internet. I got upgraded and had a very pleasant room. It is about 8 blocks to the touristy part of town so it was quite a hike. I was glad though as it got me to do some walking. It is close to the train and bus station. While nice, the neighborhood is not as interesting as the area near the Cathedral and everything you do as a tourist in Oviedo will entail going to this area. There are no worthwhile restaurants or bars near this hotel. The restaurants and bar is very boring. You will be there by yourself. Bfast is very nice but the staff is too absorbed in their tasks to focus on guests. Sure they greet you but try getting a second cup of coffee. Fortunately it is a buffett. As a single traveler you will definitely be alone here. Sundays are very disheartening since the restaurant is closed (also on monday) and there is nothing nearby. You can't even find a grocery store open on Sunday. Older crowd .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfranciscoconejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0.4 mi away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#3 of 49 in Oviedo
1,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Oviedo Principado
NH Oviedo Principado
#4 of 49 in Oviedo
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Castillo del Bosque la Zoreda
0.4 mi away
Exe Oviedo Centro
Exe Oviedo Centro
#11 of 49 in Oviedo
527 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Las Caldas
Gran Hotel Las Caldas
#1 of 1 in Las Caldas
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes

Address: Calle Cervantes 13, 33004, Oviedo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range: $88 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing