We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Oviedo”
Review of Hotel Fruela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fruela
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I spent two September nights in wonderful Oviedo and stayed at the Fruela. From reading a few of the negative comments in other reviews, it seems we were in a different Hotel Fruela.
We experienced a delightful hotel and room at a more than reasonable price, which was plenty big and very nicely furnished and appointed. The bed was amazingly comfortable and made up with high quality linens. The bath was stocked with extras that a traveler might need and it was immaculate, as was the room. Our room had french doors that looked out on the street which was quiet.
The staff was friendly and more than helpful in helping us contact our car rental agency with a question. Another staff person had such a fabulous recommendation for lunch that we went there both days. Parking was just around the corner in a secure garage.
We were three weeks in northern Spain, have traveled all over western Europe on multiple trips, and would highly recommend the Fruela.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

Modern clean and small rooms, excellent location, no lobby , correct staff, overall a good option without expecting to any of the services that an hotel can offer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Friendly staff, very good facilities, clean room with comfortable bed, modern bathroom good television and complimentary wifi. Great location to explore the City and the old town.

This was a business trip - but I will be back for a holiday and will definitely stay at Hotel Fruela again :-)

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozle215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Fruela is a triumph of gimmick over substance. I found it expensive, for one. The shower was a disaster. and I had to get the receptionist to show me how the thing worked, only to be told that it did not work because it was broken (her colleague had broken it apparently). Yet they had still given me the room, and did not offer another. When we got it to work, it was poor. If good hot showers are important, avoid.

Rooms are small and nicely decorated, if that matters, but there are a dozen light switches and overall I found it just gimmicky but not good.

The computer in the business center is so old it doesn´t have a usb drive, and it is so slow that it is both infuriating, and utterly unsuitable for secure transactions. Indeed, even checking email is a complete dose. Overall, I say avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheUnnamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Clean modern room under the roof. Inadequate AC for the rooms heat exposed location. As most hotels and restaurants in Oviedo this one too was highly overpriced for what is offered. The many bureaucratic requests to sign forms at reception were more than annoying. The comfortable bed ought to have allowed a good nights sleep in this a l m o s t quiet room in which the trafic noise could only be heard if you kept the only window, a dormer window, open for a ventilation more effective than by AC. Unfortunately dormer windows have to be kept shut when raining. A l m o s t quiet even while the window was closed except for the loud and frequent bells toll from the nearby Cathedral of San Salvador. Barely OK for a nights stay when on business.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with a dormer window if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is located very close to the centre of Oviedo which makes it perfect for exploring the town. The room was small but arranged in a way which still made it feel fairly spacious. Breakfast is served downstairs in a private area attached to the public bar where there is a good selection of cereals, fruit, cakes, croissants etc.. The only negative we found was the quality of the pillows in the bed, they are very small and not very comfortable so it might be an idea to request two!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Me ad my girlfriend booked this hotel for a weekend (fri to sun) and had a great experience. The hotel staff was gentile and the rooms were perfectly clean and comfortable.

Also, the location is great, thus allowing short walking trips to anything we wanted to visit in the city center.

Great value for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljimmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0 mi away
Princesa Munia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
0.1 mi away
NH Oviedo Principado
NH Oviedo Principado
#4 of 49 in Oviedo
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#3 of 49 in Oviedo
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exe Hotel El Magistral
Exe Hotel El Magistral
#29 of 49 in Oviedo
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fruela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fruela

Address: Calle Fruela 3, 33007, Oviedo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oviedo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oviedo
Price Range: $60 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fruela 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fruela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fruela Hotel Oviedo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing