We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Gran Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Espana
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Reviewed June 25, 2013

perfect location for exploring the old town on foot. We found the room to be very clean, plenty of hot water whenever we needed it, no problems at all. Although we stayed on a Friday night and went to bed comparatively early for Spain we were not disturbed by the noise from the street as the windows were very effective at keeping the room quiet. However the corridors were quite echoey due to hard surfaces and early departures of other guests. The underground parking at 14 euros a day was useful and convenient. Good value for money. Didn't eat there as we always prefer using local bars of which there are plenty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deadhead52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 356 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is 40 mins from the airport.
My first impressions was it's an ok hotel the reception staff pleasant and it looks very upmarket when walking up to the room.
However it does stop there....taking into consideration that it is a budget 4* but I did not know that on arrival as I did not do the booking I only stayed there ; it was a little disappointing.
The room I was put in was newly decorated, room 120 but the cleanliness was not up to standard. There was hair in the sink and bath, I knew it wasn't mine as I don't have any, there was hair on the floor and sink area.
They changed my room to 118 and yes I found more hair , maybe from the sister of the lady whom stayed in room 120.
Even though the rooms had been retiled the fittings had not been changed the radiator in the bathroom was at least 20 years old and the shower needed to be changed. If you take a shower around 20.00 expect it to be just warm wait until the morning it will be hot, but the shower heads needed cleaning.
Breakfast was something else firstly only one lady on the tables I had to ask for cold milk also the orange juice ran out so if you like a light breakfast on a dirty table sit back and enjoy.
I am not generally negative to a hotel and perhaps the rain didn't help , also reading the previous reviews most seemed to have a reasonable experience but when I looked at the bill well it was not so bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Right at city centre, with an easy walk to all relevant and hystorical places, just in fron of the main restaurant and bars area, this Hotel is very conveniently located. The room size was good, quiet atmosphere, Wi-Fi working fast enough and quality-price resulted in very good value. It was a good option and I would return. The less positive points were the heating / air conditioned was quite noisy and weather was very cold. TV only had national spanish channels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elísio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Situated around the corner from the cathedral.Was on 3rd floor-has elevator.Comfortable room but has foam pillow and no tea/coffee service in room.Great restaurent across the street-Sidreria Tierre Astur.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We attended a wedding a couple of weeks ago, + this was the closest hotel to the church (in the old quarter as there are many) It's 2 mins walk to the Cathedral + historic quarter and 5 - 10 mins to the main shops. What a beautiful city + what a great hotel.
We got a really budget price for a room that was plenty big enough + a really good sized bathroom too! Everywhere was spotless + the staff were really friendly. The breakfast was hit & miss - quite pricey for the full buffet (you could get cheaper outside the hotel) + sometimes no coffee machine around, but was ok. Didn't eat in the restaurant but had a cheeky nightcap in the bar which was a lovely atmosphere.
We were lucky enough to be put on the top floor (after I asked!) so had great views, were away from the traffic + had a lovely big balcony (though a bit too nippy to take too much advantage of!) Although the down side was that the machines up there were very noisy - but that was only for the first night + then it seemed to disappear!
We were a bit wary as the room rate we got was so cheap we didn't know if we had got a real bargain (we had) or if it was going to be a dive (it wasn't!)
A wonderful city to visit, great shopping, fab food, amazing culture - and this is the perfect base to do that........
It is walkable from the bus or train stations, and less than 5 Euro in a taxi.
Whilst there, make sure to take the bus into Gijon (very Spanish city by the beach) and if you have a car don;t miss out on the Lakes & Cangis de Onis - another city in the countryside worth a visit.
Great trip - thanks Gran Espana - we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter - unless you get next to the machines........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I found nothing very special about this hotel. It is of indeterminate age, not old, not new, fairly clean, very stereotypical hotel rooms. The location was good, and the bar downstairs sold awesome cocktails for a good price. Otherwise completely average in every way, which is pretty much a good thing if you want a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We chose the Gran Espana primarily because of its location - on the edge of the old part of the city. It is located as well we hoped, the captivating old quarter and the lively Calle Gascona are both on the doorstep. Our rooms were large, comfortable and well equipped; we thought they were fantastic value at 57 euros per night. Staff on reception were courteous and helpful, and we felt like valued guests. It is a traditional hotel that has been renovated to a good standard, it is reasonably formal but we liked this. We recommend it and this beautiful city.

Room Tip: 5th floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Oviedo Principado
NH Oviedo Principado
#4 of 49 in Oviedo
822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fruela
Hotel Fruela
#16 of 49 in Oviedo
232 reviews
0 mi away
Exe Hotel El Magistral
Exe Hotel El Magistral
#30 of 49 in Oviedo
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Exe Oviedo Centro
Exe Oviedo Centro
#11 of 49 in Oviedo
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#3 of 49 in Oviedo
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarin
Hotel Clarin
#13 of 49 in Oviedo
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Espana

Address: Calle Jovellanos 2, 33003, Oviedo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oviedo
Price Range: $53 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Oviedo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing